Arabic & Islamic Studies Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Arabic & Islamic Studies Guide

Key databases for Arabic & Islamic Studies  
Index Islamicus via CSA (1906 - present)
References to journal articles, book chapters and reviews on all aspects of Islam.
Terms & conditions
Encyclopedia of Islam
The major academic encyclopedia on all aspects of the Islamic World.

If using a computer in your office or home, you may need to download special fonts.
Terms & conditions
Encyclopedia of the Qur’¯an
Major encyclopedia containing dictionary terms and extended essays.

If using a computer in your office or home, you may need to download special fonts.
Terms & conditions
ATLA Religion Database via OvidSP (1949 - present)
References to journal articles, books, reviews and conference papers on religion, religious scholarship, biblical studies and related fields.

Auto-alerts & Saved-Search News

Terms & conditions

Help
MENALIB
The freely available Middle East Virtual Library indexes the table of contents of major academic journals. Use the link in the left frame for "Periodical Contents Databases".
 
More databases useful for Arabic & Islamic Studies (A - Z)  
BAS : Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 - present)
References to journal articles published worldwide for all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to Asia.
Terms & conditions
Brill Journals via ingentaconnect
Full text academic journals with a strong international focus, including the Middle East & Islamic Studies.
Terms & conditions
Expanded Academic Index ASAP via Gale Infotrac (1980 - present)
Full text and abstracts from a large number of multidisciplinary journals.
Terms & conditions
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of electronic reference works which includes the Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World.
Terms & conditions
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine.
 
JSTOR
Full text of major Classics and Ancient History journals. Does not include the current five years of issues.
Terms & conditions
LDC : Linguistic Data Consortium
Supports language-related education, research and technology development by creating and sharing linguistic resources: data, tools and standards.
Registration: Use the link below and complete the login using your Unikey login and password. Please allow up to 2 working days for your registration. You will be contacted by email once your registration to have access to the LDC has been accepted.
Register for LDC
 
LLBA : Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts via CSA
References to journal articles, chapters and reviews on language including Arabic.
Terms & conditions

Help
MLA : Modern Languages Association International Bibliography via Ebsco (1926 - present)
Contains bibliographic references to scholarly works, literature, linguistics and folklore in English, French, German, Italian and other languages on the topics of literature, literary theory and criticism, genres, linguistics and folklore.
Terms & conditions
Project Muse
Full text of peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Terms & conditions
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Useful for subject and citation searching for any discipline.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts via CSA (1975 - present)
References to journal articles and chapters on international political science and government.
Terms & conditions

Help

Back to top