Aboriginal Studies Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Aboriginal Studies Guide

Key databases for Aboriginal Studies  
AIATSIS: Indigenous Studies Bibliography via Informit Online (1990 - present)
Indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies and is compiled by the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Library. Some records are in Australian Indigenous languages. Coverage includes cultures, anthropology, archaeology, health, education, arts, history, legal issues, criminal justice, land rights, customary law, women's and youth issues, government policies and programs. Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)
APAIS-ATSIS via Informit Online (1978 - present)
A subset of APAIS. Covers articles published in the social sciences and humanities relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders, including history, economics, politics, current affairs and culture and is produced by the National Library of Australia. Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)
AEI-ATSIS : Australian Education Index, ATSIS subset via Informit Online (1978 - present)
Covers education and training relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders, including learning, psychology, social and cultural influences, language, literacy, teaching strategies, schools, teacher training, and professional development. Produced by the Cunningham Library at the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER). Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)
MAIS-ATSIS : Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies via Informit Online (1988 - present)
Covers multicultural issues that specifically relate to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and is produced by the Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs Library. References articles and other published and unpublished material. Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)
Mura the AIATSIS Catalogue
Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Islander Studies(AIATSIS) catalogue of Library and audiovisual material. The catalogue covers many aspects of Indigenous Australian studies and includes both published and unpublished material. The catalogue provides information on the accessibilty of material held in the Library. Australian content
 
ATSIhealth via Informit Online (1900 - present) (with most records dating from 1970's onwards)
Covers Australian Indigenous health and is compiled by the School of Health Studies, Edith Cowan University. Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)
Infokoori (1991 - present)
An index to the Koori Mail, a national fortnightly newspaper that focuses on the Indigenous people of Australia.
It also indexes biographical information from various magazines, including: Our Aim (1907-1961), Dawn (1952-1969), New Dawn (1970-1975) and Identity (1971-1982). Australian content
 
More databases useful for Aboriginal Studies (A - Z)  
AGIS-ATSIS via Informit Online (1975 - present)
Covers legal issues such as land rights, native title, customary law, Aboriginal deaths in custody, Aborigines in the criminal justice system, racial discrimination, indigenous intellectual property, and Aboriginal youth and juvenile justice. Produced by the AGIS Section of the Lionel Murphy Library, Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department in Canberra. Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)
AHB-ATSIS via Informit Online (1987 - present)
Indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment, specifically realting to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and is produced by the Australian Heritage Commission.
(previously known as HERA) Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australia's official statistical organisation. Freely available data for social, health, economic and demographic research and census data for 1996-2006. The ABS themes page includes a special section on Indigenous statistics. Australian content
 
AusAnthrop Australian Aboriginal tribal database
An on-line database on Australian Aboriginal tribes, nations, languages, and dialectal groups. AusAnthrop is also available in French. Australian content
 
AustLit: Australian Literature Gateway
References Australian literature published in both print and electronic sources. The database includes both creative and critical Australian literature and references the work of many Indigenous writers. Australian content
Help
CINCH-ATSIS via Informit Online (1968 - present)
Covers all aspects of crime and criminal justice including corrections, crime, crime prevention, criminal law, criminology, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime. Produced by the JV Barry Library, Australian Institute of Criminology. Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)
FAMILY-ATSIS via Informit Online (1980 - present)
Covers research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders and is produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)
FNQ : Far North Queensland Collection via Informit Online (1994 - January 1999)
Covers Indigenous issues of the geographical region of Far North Queensland, from Ingham in the south to Doomadgee in the west and encompassing the Torres Strait, Gulf, Cape York Peninsula, Daintree and the Atherton Tableland. Produced by the Library, Tropical North Queensland Institute of TAFE. Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)
Lake Mungo : window to Australia's past Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop. Australian content  
Anthropology Plus (late 19th century - present)
References journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works in the fields of social, cultural and linguistic anthropology, ethnology and related disciplines. Referwences comparative and international research in Aboriginal and Indigenous studies.
 
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities citation indexes, useful for citation and subject searching for articles, books and reviews in the social sciences and related disciplines. Allows the identification of key articles in a discipline. References comparative and international research in Aboriginal and Indigenous studies.
Terms & conditions

Help

Back to top