Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Accounting Databases



Return to Accounting Resources Guide

Key databases for Accounting  
Business Source Premier via Ebsco (1922 - present)
Aggregation of business and management journals, indexes and abstracts. Includes many full text scholarly journals. Provides company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies.

Terms & conditions
Proquest Central formerly Proquest 5000 (1923 - present)
Multidisciplinary database, indexes and abstracts to over 10,090 publications, with full-text coverage beginning from 1986. This is a combination of Proquest's selected databases including ABI/INFORM & Accounting and Tax

Terms & conditions
Proquest Central
Multidisciplinary database, indexes and abstracts to over 10,090 publications, with full-text coverage beginning from 1986. This is a combination of Proquest's selected databases including ABI/INFORM & Accounting and Tax .
Terms & conditions

Quick Start Guide
ECONLIT via Proquest (1922 - present)
Bibliographic references and abstracts to articles in journals, books, higher degree theses, articles from collective volumes (eg conference proceedings, research papers), book reviews and economic working papers.
Terms & conditions
Emerald Full Text (1994 - present)
Full text peer-reviewed journal articles including the major economics & business disciplines .
Terms & conditions
ScienceDirect via Elsevier
A database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences including economics & business.

Terms & conditions
Expanded Academic ASAP via Infotrac (1980 - present)
Contains an index and abstracts to over 1500 journals including the full-text of 520 journals indexed. Topics include economics & business related issues.

Terms & conditions
Web of Science
Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1945 - present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1956 - present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975. Also allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence.
Terms & conditions
Helpsheet
JSTOR(Dates vary - many from the 1800s)
Access to the full text of journals from a wide range of disciplines including economics & business.
Terms & conditions
Factiva
Provides both Australian and international news, commentary, pictures in addition to company information and share price data. The database contains more than 8,000 overseas and Australian newspaper and newswire publications and more than 9,000 web sites. For Australian news sources, the Fairfax publications archive is 13-22 years [SMH 1986+] and the News Limited archive is 8 years [Australian 1996+].
Important: Click Logout when finished.
Helpsheet - (Company Search Tips)
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is free to all, but much of the full-text material it finds is not available without a subscription. By using this link via our website, you can access the full text of journals to which the Library subscribes.
 
Non-bibliographic databases useful for Accounting A-Z  
ABS Statistics
The Statistics section of the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides access to the full range of ABS statistical and reference information. Australian content

Helpsheet
Annual Reports Online via Aspect Huntley (1995 - present)
Annual reports dating back to 1995 for all ASX listed/de-listed companies. All ASX-lodged announcements from October 1998, including prospectuses. Australian content
 
Connect 4
Australian publicly listed company information (Our subscriptions are indicated with a red star).
Includes Annual Reports 2003 - present, Boardroom (senior salary packages), Company Prospectuses 1994- present, Mergers & Acquisitions, New Issues, & Takeovers 1997 - present. Australian content
 
DatAnalysis
DatAnalysis provides comprehensive data for all ASX listed companies. These reports are updated daily from relevant ASX announcements. Included are corporate details, company history, extracts from company reports, financial tables, shareholder information, company announcements, and company reviews.
 
FinAnalysis
FinAnalysis provides a 12-year history of detailed financial information for all companies listed on the ASX.Includes Annual Reports More than 400 data items are provided. Detailed financial information is also available for delisted companies. Australian content
Helpsheet
Hoovers Company Records
Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.
Terms & conditions
Kompass
Global access to information on: 1.8 million companies, 750,000 trade & brand names, 3.6 million executive names. In Australia contains: 32,685 companies, 56,041 executive names.
Terms & conditions
Legal databases useful for Accounting  
AustLII
The Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) provides free internet access to Australasian legal materials, including primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals). Australian content Australian content

AGIS Plus Text: Attorney General's Information Service via Informit Online (1975 - present)
Bibliographic database with selected full text (from 1999) covering all aspects of law including administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, environmental law, international law and trade practices. Australian content

CCH
Full text of commentary, case law and legislation from CCH Australia Ltd. Covers many legal practice areas. Australian content
 
Bibliographic and publisher information on magazines, newspapers, and academic journals  
Ulrich'sTM International Periodicals Directory
The major source of bibliographic and publisher information on magazines, newspapers, and academic journals. Will indicate if a journal is refereed.
Terms & conditions
Databases useful for Taxation  
AATD : Australian Accounting and Taxation
A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on accounting and related business topics Australian content

BNA International Tax Centre - off-campus or on-campus
Provides tax and business regulatory systems of some 40 countries, as well as an overview of the European Union, USA international taxation, and transfer pricing portfolios. Also includes Tax Guides, Tax treaties, News & commentary.
Terms & conditions
TAXABS : Australian Taxation Abstracts
A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts journals primarily in the area of taxation law but also includes other areas of interest such as child support, accounting, business, finance and superannuation. Australian content
 
Accounting and Tax (1990 - present)
Part of the ProQuest 5000 cluster and hence can be searched simultaneously with other related interdisciplinary databases on ProQuest.
Terms & conditions
Tax & Accounting Online

A number of loose-leaf services relating to taxation are available on this database.
Taxpoint Quickguide

Terms & conditions
Tax Analysts Webservices
Provides international and US tax information, updated daily. Includes Worldwide Tax Treaties database.
Terms & conditions
Tax Notes
Tax Notes is a weekly online journal that covers major international taxation subjects. The journal provides in-depth news, analysis and commentary on international taxation issues - including legislative, judicial, administrative and policy issues from over 180 countries.
Terms & Conditions

Back to top