Agricultural Science Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources Guide

Key databases for the Agricultural Sciences  
CAB Abstracts via ISI Web of Knowledge (1910 - present)
The place to start for agriculture, food and natural resources, covering local and international material.
Terms & conditions
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
One of the largest Science databases with good coverage of agriculture, food and natural resources. It also provides citation analysis of authors, journals and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials
ANR-Index : Agriculture and Natural Resources Index and Archive
via Informit Online (1975 - present)
Essential for finding Australian agriculture and natural resources industry information and is particularly useful for locating government documents. Australian content
Terms & conditions  
BIOSIS Previews via ISI Web of Knowledge (1926 - present)
A major resource for all biological sciences and particularly useful for searching experimental research.
Terms & conditions

BIOSIS on Web of Knowledge

BIOSIS controlled vocabulary
GeoRef via GeoScienceWorld (1785 - present)
Georef is the most comprehensive database for Geosciences and is particularly relevant for soil science and natural resources. Georef is also available through CSA
Terms & conditions

Helpsheets
More databases useful for the Agricultural Sciences (A - Z)  
AANRO : Australian Agriculture and Natural Resources Online
A free database useful for finding Australian agriculture and natural resources industry information; has similar content to the ANR-Index. Australian content
 
AGRIS/CARIS (1975 - present)
AGRIS covers all aspects of international agriculture, in particular the developing world and includes some material not published in journals or books.
 
AgSpace
AgSpace provides full text access to research and policy documents written by the US Government on agriculture, food and the natural environment.


Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts via CSA (1971 - present)
ASFA should be the first stop for all aspects of aquaculture including oceanography, marine technology and natural resources.
Terms & conditions

Help
Australian Bureau of Statistics : ABS
ABS provides state and national statistics covering agriculture, balance of payments, international investment, building and construction, and much more.
Australian content
 
Conference Papers Index via CSA
A useful resource for finding conference papers as these are not generally included in other databases.
Terms & conditions

Help
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge
A quick and easy way of keeping up to date with material published in your subject area.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials CCC Tutorial

Bookmarking the database
Current Index to Statistics extended database : CIS
This is the major database for statistics and probability.
 
Declared Plants of Australia
Contains information on over 300 species of declared plants and 600 weed species.
Available at Badham and Camden Libraries only. Australian content
 
ELIXIR : DPI's Electronic Library Exchange for Information Resources via Informit Online (1990 - present)
Covers agriculture, mineral resources, conservation and land management/planning and is produced by the Victorian Department of Primary Industries. Australian content
Terms & conditions
ENDANGER : Threatened Species in Australia via Informit Online (1960 - present)
Covers all threatened Australian plants and animals and includes published and unpublished material. Australian content
Terms & conditions  
Environmental Abstracts : EVA via Informit Online (1987 - present)
Covers both local and international information on most aspects of environmental protection including water and pollution management.
Helpsheet
Geobase (1884 - present)
Geobase is an important database for soil science and geography.
 
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine.
 
GrantSearch
Australia's most comprehensive index of grant opportunities. Australian content
 
Grazfeed
Grazfeed allows the calculation of the energy and protein requirements of sheep and cattle grazing a particular pasture or lot feed.
Available at Badham and Camden Libraries only. Australian content
 
Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge
Discover analytical information on journals such as impact factor and citation frequency.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials Bookmarking the database

Cookie settings for JCR
Livestock Library
Searches Australian industry and government sites for information on our beef and sheep industry. This is particularly useful for locating government publications on all aspects of Australian agriculture. Australian content
 
National Agricultural Library (Agricola)
A North American agriculture, food and natural resources database.
 
NetLibrary
eBooks covering a large range of topics including agriculture, food and natural resources.
NetLibrary for Macs

Terms & conditions

Prime Notes
Comprehensive fact sheets on Australian agriculture from the Australian federal and state government departments.
Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.Australian content
 
Rainman - Rainfall information
Analysis of Australian rainfall and climate.
Available at Badham and Camden Libraries only. Australian content
 
SciFinder Scholar
A good source of material for agricultural chemistry.
Download Software

SFS Helpsheet
Scirus
Scirus is a web search engine focussing primarily on the sciences that filters out non-scholarly material.
 
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & conditions
Water Information System for the Environment : WISE
A collection of material on water resources relating to NSW and Central Australian catchment areas. Australian content
 
Woolwise
Covers all aspects of wool and the Australian wool industry.
Available at Badham and Camden Libraries only Australian content
 

Back to top