Classics & Ancient History Databases

For a subject overview: Classics & Ancient History Guide

Ancient Greek Databases | Latin Databases

Key databases for Classics & Ancient History  
L'Annee Philologique (1949 - )
Trial access via EbscoHost L'Annee Philologique (1949 - )
References to articles, books and reviews on Greek and Roman antiquities, culture, history, law, language, literature, philosophy, science and society.
Terms & conditions
Cambridge Ancient History series via Cambridge Histories Online
Provides access to the complete series of Cambridge Histories from Cambridge University Press, browsable by 15 key subject areas including American, British, Economic History, Histories of science, the book, literature, theatre, religion, music, language, and warfare.
Terms & conditions
New Pauly Online
The major academic encyclopedia for the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE).
Terms & conditions
JSTOR
Full text of major Classics and Ancient History journals. Does not include the current five years of issues.
Terms & conditions
Perseus
An integrated collection of materials, textual and visual, on Greece and Rome.
The CD-Rom is available in SETIS by appointment only.
 
Diotima
A freely available catalogue of materials for the study of women and gender in the ancient world.
 
TOCS-IN
A freely available index to a selection of over 160 Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. This site also provides a list of journal abbreviations
 
More databases useful for Classics & Ancient History  
Expanded Academic Index ASAP via Gale Infotrac (1980 - present)
Full text and abstracts from a large number of multidisciplinary journals.
Terms & conditions
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine.
Google Scholar settings
 
Oxford Reference Online
Contains over 130 dictionaries, including bilingual dictionaries and the Oxford Classical Dictionary.
Terms & conditions
Project Muse
Full text of peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Terms & conditions
Web of Science Core Collections
If using Internet Explorer, ensure that Compatibility View is disabled.

Contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Useful for subject and citation searching for any discipline.
Terms & conditions

Training (YouTube)

Tutorial
Dyabola : Subject Catalogues of the German Archaeological Institute
A group of databases predominantly on classical archaeology, including:

Archäologische Bibliographie (aktualisierte Version des Realkatalogs)
References for classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern art and archaeology from 1956 onwards. For coverage before 1956, use the print Jahrbuch des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts, located in Fisher Research and Reference 913.05 21 vol. 1, 1886 - 2005.

Instructions:
  • Click on one of the language flags next to the database name to enter.

Dyabola can be a challenging database. Please contact the Archaeology Librarian if you need assistance.

Manuals

Overview (YouTube)

Combining searches (YouTube)
More databases useful for Ancient Greek  
PHI : Packard Humanities Institute
PHI #7 contains Greek inscriptions from the Greek Epigraphy Project, Greek Papyri from the Duke Data Bank, and Coptic & Nag Hammadi writings.

Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.

Instructions:
  • Click on the "Musaios - TLG" icon.
  • When prompted for a password, click on "OK".
  • Click on the "File" command and select CDROM: PH6/PH7
  • Click on the "Search" command then highlight "Create Search Specification" to begin a search.
 
More databases useful for Latin  
TLL : Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
A work in progress, this is the most comprehensive, scholarly dictionary of the ancient Latin language from the earliest times down to AD 600.

May be searched with BTL : Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina..
 
BTL : Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina
Complete text of ancient Latin works from c. 300 BC to c.500 AD. BTL does not include prefaces or critical notes. The search functions and text are in Latin.

May be searched with TLL : Thesaurus Linguae Latinae..
 
PHI : Packard Humanities Institute
PHI #5.3 contains Latin literature to AD 200, excluding later writers such as Servius, Porphyry, Zeno and Justinian. It also contains versions of the Bible.

Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.

Instructions:
  • Click on the "Musaios - TLG" icon.
  • When prompted for a password, click on "OK".
  • Click on the "File" command to select CDROM: PHI5
  • Click on the "Search" command then highlight "Create Search Specification" to begin a search.
 
Patrologia Latina
The "Works of the Latin Fathers"from about AD 200 to AD 1216. It is the complete electronic version of Migne's 1st edition.
 
Iter Italicum
Contains information on Humanistic Latin Renaissance manuscripts and their location in libraries.

Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.
 

Back to top