Anthropology Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Anthropology Guide

Key databases for Anthropology  
Anthropology Plus (late 19th century - present)
References journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works in the fields of social, cultural and linguistic anthropology, ethnology and related disciplines.
 
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit Online (1978 - present)
Covers journal articles and other published material in the social sciences and humanities. Selected full-text from 1994/1995. Australian content
Terms & Conditions (pdf)
JSTOR
Full-text of major journals in Anthropology, Ethnography and related disciplines. Latest five years are not available.
Terms & conditions
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities citation indexes, useful for citation and subject searching for articles, books and reviews in the social sciences and related disciplines. Allows the identification of key articles in a discipline.
Terms & conditions

Help
Proquest 5000
Multiple databases covering disciplines within the Social Sciences. Also includes a digitized collection of dissertations & theses.
Terms & conditions

Help (pdf)
CAB Abstracts Database via ISI Web of Knowledge (1973 - present)
References articles, books, conference proceedings and reports in environmental, rural & development anthropology.
Terms & Conditions

Help
BAS : Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 - present)
References primarily westernization articles and book chapters on social sciences and humanities research pertaining to all parts of Asia.
 
ATLA Religion Database via OvidSP (1860 - present)
American Theological Library Association database referencing journal articles, books and reviews on religious studies including the anthropology of religions.
Required Browsers for Ovid

Alerts & saved searches
Terms & Conditions

Help
Google Scholar
Searches academic information on the internet. May also allow access to publications to which the University of Sydney Library subscribes.
 
More databases useful for Anthropology (A - Z)  
Asia Studies Full-Text Online
Full-text reports and articles on social, economic, environmental, political and development issues in Asia, Australia/New Zealand, the Americas Pacific Rim countries, and the Pacific islands. Many reports include graphs, tables and statistics.
Help (pdf)
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts via CSA (1952 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on linguistics. Covers anthropological aspects of research in linguistics. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in Linguistics.
Terms & conditions

Help (pdf)
Libraries Australia
Searches the combined catalogues of Australian libraries and also includes Australian Research Repositories Online to the World (ARROW), Picturesqueness, the British Library Catalogue, Consortium of [British] University Research Libraries,Library of Congress Catalogue, and OCELLI Worlds. Australian content
Help
MAIS : Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies via Informit Online (1988 - present)
Covers immigration and multicriteria issues, including ethnicity, racism, education, migrant health and welfare, refugees, population studies. Compiled by the Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs Library. References articles and other published and unpublished material. Australian content
Help

Terms & Conditions (pdf)
Sociological Abstracts via CSA (1952 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on sociology, anthropology, development studies and other related social science disciplines. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in Anthropology.
Terms & conditions

Help (pdf)

Back to top