Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Archaeology Databases



Return to Archaeology Guide

General Archaeology
Classical Archaeology | Heritage Studies | Historic Archaeology | Near Eastern Archaeology | Prehistoric Archaeology

Databases useful for General Archaeology  
Anthropology Plus via OCLC Firstsearch (1969 - present)
References to articles, books and reviews on anthropology archaeology and related disciplines.
 
Cambridge Ancient History series via Cambridge Histories Online
Provides access to the complete series of Cambridge Histories from Cambridge University Press, browsable by 15 key subject areas including American, British, Economic History, Histories of science, the book, literature, theatre, religion, music, language, and warfare.
Terms & conditions
JSTOR
Full text of major Classics and Ancient History journals. Does not include the current five years of issues.
Terms & conditions
ARTstor
Useful international collection of digital art images drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections and art reference libraries.
ARTstor has specific technical requirements.
Terms & conditions
Expanded Academic Index ASAP via Gale Infotrac
Full text and abstracts from a large number of multidisciplinary journals.
Terms & conditions
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine.
 
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Useful for subject and citation searching for any discipline.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
Databases for Classical Archaeology  
Dyabola : Subject Catalogues of the German Archaeological Institute
A group of databases predominantly on classical archaeology, including:

Archäologische Bibliographie (aktualisierte Version des Realkatalogs)
References for classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern art and archaeology from 1956 onwards. For coverage before 1956, use the print Jahrbuch des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts, located in Fisher Research and Reference 913.05 21 vol. 1, 1886 - 2005.

Instructions:

  • Only the databases in bold type are accessible on campus or, for USYD staff on students who are using the University as their Internet Service Provider, off campus.
  • Click on one of the language flags next to the database name to enter.

Dyabola can be a challenging database. Please contact the Archaeology Librarian if you need assistance.

 
L'Annee Philologique (1949 - )
References to articles, books and reviews on Greek and Roman antiquities, culture, history, law, language, literature, philosophy, science and society.
Terms & conditions
New Pauly Online
The major academic encyclopedia for the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE).
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Heritage Studies & Historic Archaeology  
AHB : Australia's Heritage Bibliography via Informit Online (1987 - present)
References to published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Australian content
Terms & conditions
BAS : Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 - present)
references to a variety of topics on Asia, including art and archaeology.
Terms & conditions
BIAB : British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography (1695 - present)
References to articles, books and reports.
 
40 years of the National Trust Journals, 1961-2001
The full text of: National Trust Bulletin, May 1961 - July 1979; National Trust Magazine, September 1979 - February 1991; National Trust Quarterly, April 1991 - October 1997; Reflections, February 1998 - October 2001, and out of print material from: conference proceedings, technical bulletins , education kits, Trust alerts and selected images.

Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.

Australian content
 
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit Online (1978-present)
Contains APAIS: Australian Public Affairs Information Service 1978 to present, which indexes articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. It also includes full text articles 1994/1995 to present, from the top 200 journals indexed.
Journals available in Full Text
Journals indexed
Australian content

Help
NSW Archaeology Online
A grey-literature archive which documents archaeological field survey, excavation and heritage assessment projects conducted under the NSW Heritage Act. Australian content
Terms of use
Databases useful for Near Eastern Archaeology  
ABZU
Freely available guide to Internet sites and publications. Produced by the Oriental Institute in Chicago.
 
Dyabola : Subject Catalogues of the German Archaeological Institute
A group of databases including:

Archäologische Bibliographie (aktualisierte Version des Realkatalogs)
References for predominantly classical, but also ancient Middle Eastern art and archaeology from 1956 onwards. For coverage before 1956, use the print Jahrbuch des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts, located in Fisher Research and Reference 913.05 21 vol. 1, 1886 - 2005.

Eurasienbibliographie des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts
Citations for the archaeology of Russia and central Asia, as well as Russian language publications from 1998 onwards.

Instructions:
  • Only the databases in bold type are accessible on campus or, for USYD staff on students who are using the University as their Internet Service Provider, off campus.
  • Click on one of the language flags next to the database name to enter.

Dyabola can be a challenging database. Please contact the Archaeology Librarian if you need assistance.

 
Databases useful for Prehistoric Archaeology  
Anthropology Plus via OCLC Firstsearch (1969 - present)
References to articles, books and reviews on anthropology, archaeology and related disciplines.
 
GeoRef via Engineering Village
References to articles, books, maps and reports on Paleontology, GIS and related disciplines.
Terms & conditions
Lake Mungo : window to Australia's past
Discusses the survey and archaeological excavations dating from the Ice Age and the earliest Australians and continues through to their modern community descendants, the Aboriginal people of the region today.

Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.
Australian content
 

Back to top