Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Architecture, Design and Planning Databases



Return to Architecture, Design and Planning Subject Guide

Key databases for Architecture, Design and Planning  
Acumen
Acumen is The Australian Institute of Architects’ new practice advisory service for architects. Acumen aims to provide architects with the most relevant and up-to-date advisory material and news about managing an architectural practice and managing architectural projects. Australian content
 
AHB : Australian Heritage Bibliography via Informit Online (1987 - present)
Produced by the Australian Heritage Commission, AHB references published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Emphasis is placed on reports written or commissioned by government and non-government heritage agencies throughout the country. Includes publications on national parks; endangered species; coasts; forests; wetlands; rivers; geological features; wilderness areas; world heritage sites; aboriginal rock art sites, ceremonial grounds and sacred sites; important historical and archaeological sites, and historic buildings and structures; and historic towns and precincts. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals via EBSCO (1934-present)
International coverage of architecture, design and planning research.
Terms & conditions
ARCH : Australian Architecture Database via Informit Online (1980-present)
Australian material in the areas of architecture, design and planning. Useful for searching for material on specific Australian regions. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Pidgeon Digital (1979-present)
Recordings of illustrated talks by architects and designers.
 
ScienceDirect
Searchable full-text journals from Elsevier publishers. A good generic database covering all subjects.
 
Terms & conditions

Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Jan 2012: Mac OS 10.7 (Lion) not currently supported in Document Download Manager
Terms & conditions

Interactive Tutorials
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge (1900-present)
A large multi-disciplinary database with a good coverage of architecture, design and planning. It provides citation analysis of authors, journals and subject areas.

Terms & conditions

More databases useful for Architecture, Design and Planning (A - Z)  
ABS : Australian Bureau of Statistics
Statistical, Census and reference information. Useful for urban design researchers and urban and regional planners. Australian content
 
ACM Digital Library (1985 - present)
Contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in Association for Computer Machinery (ACM) periodicals and proceedings on computer science and engineering as well as more general computing topics

Terms & conditions  
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit Online (1978-present)
Australian material in the areas of architecture, design and urban planning, as well as the related disciplines of sociology and social policy. Australian content

API : Architectural Publications Index (1977-present)
Architecture, design and planning references indexed by the British Architectural Library.
Available from Additional Databases icon on all Library computers. Click on the Architecture folder to access.
 
Art Index via Ebsco (1929-present)
International coverage of architecture, design and art.
Terms & conditions
ARTstor
International collection of digital art images.
ARTstor has specific technical requirements.
Terms & conditions
ATRI : Australian Transport Index (1976 - present)
Covers road safety, transport economics, transport administration, intelligent transport systems, transport and the environment, public transport, road and airfield pavements, road design and engineering, traffic engineering and control, vehicle design and safety, and soil and rock mechanics. Useful for Planning students Australian content
Terms & conditions

Quick Reference Guide

Step-by-Step Guide to Searching
Audio Engineering Society On-line Electronic Library (1953-present)
Useful for audio and acoustics researchers. A full text collection of all journal articles, convention preprints and conference papers published by the Audio Engineering Society.
 
Australian Standards
Full text access to current Australian Standards, Draft Standards, and handbooks. Useful for architectural and design science researchers.
(Access to all Australian Standards, 43 ISO Standards, 2 EN Standards Only)
To access/unlock any non-subscribed Standards, please contact your Faculty Liaison Librarian. To "unlock a Standard" means to submit a print purchase request to the Library; it will not provide online access.
Please remember to Logout! Australian content
Terms & conditions
BCA : Building Code of Australia
Use BCA Illustrated. (
 
BCA Illustrated
BCA Illustrated is an electronic version of the Building Code of Australia / National Construction Code, enhanced with over 3000 explanations and illustrations designed to assist with interpreting the BCA as it applies to your building.
Useful for architectural and design science researchers. The BCA is produced and maintained by the Australian Building Board on behalf of the Commonwealth Government and each State and Territory Government.
To access full text, click BCA Illustrated Online Edition Subscriber Login - Click Here at top.
Click Log Out when finished. Australian content
Terms & conditions
BEDP Environment Design Guide Online
Aims to provide building design professionals with accurate, accessible, professional literature on how to reduce the environmental impact of the built environment. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Business Source Premier via EBSCO (1922-present)
Covers business and management material, and is particularly useful for facilities management and urban and regional planning researchers.
Terms & conditions
CData Online 2006
Allows you to create your own tables of Census data on a range of topics such as, age, education, housing, income, transport, religion, ethinicity, occupation and more. Australian content
 
DAAI : Design and Applied Arts Index via Proquest (1973-present)
Useful for design and studio art related journals. Includes architecture, computer aided design, industrial design and object design.
Terms & conditions
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text via ProQuest (1861-present)
Useful for locating doctoral dissertations and master's theses in the areas of architecture, design and planning. Full text access is available from 1997 onwards.

Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
Expanded Academic ASAP via InfoTrac (1980-present)
Useful multidisciplinary database for architecture and design, urban planning, media, humanities and social sciences research.
Terms & conditions
Factiva ) (1986-present
Full-text news, commentary, pictures and media transcripts from Australian and overseas media sources.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage.
Helpsheet
Geobase via Engineering Village (1980-present)
Geobase covers physical and human geography, ecology, and development studies. Useful for urban designers and urban and regional planners.
Terms & conditions
Geoscience Australia GEODATA Datapacks
Australian content
 
Google Scholar
Searches the Internet for academic internet sites. Useful when searching for architecture, design and planning websites.
 
GreenFILE via EBSCO (1955-present)
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Useful for urban and regional planners, urban designers, environment and behaviour researchers, and sustainable design researchers.
Terms & conditions
IEEE Xplore (1950 - present)
Provides full text access to high quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes IEEE and IEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus selected content back to 1950 and all current IEEE standards.
User Guide
Inspec via OvidSP (1969-present)
Useful for researching the following areas: computing and information technology, electronics, engineering, and communications.

Terms & conditions

JSTOR
Full-text of major academic journals and scholarly literature from around the world.
The last five years are not available in this database. Includes 22 Architecture and Architectural History titles and 77 titles covering Art and Art History.

Terms & conditions

 
Proquest Arts Research
Search a number of Arts & Humanities databases together (including ArtBibliographies Modern, DAAI, Music, Performing Arts, Newspapers and Theses) and retrieve many full-text articles.
Terms & conditions

Quick Start Guide
Proquest Central (formerly Proquest 5000) (1900-present)
Useful multidisciplinary database for architecture and design, urban planning, media, humanities and social sciences research.
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Scirus
Searches the Internet for academic internet sites. Useful when searching for architecture, design and planning websites.
 
Sociological Abstracts via Proquest (1952-present)
Covers sociology and other related social science disciplines. Useful for researching areas where architecture, design and planning overlap with social issues.
Terms & conditions
Spatial Information eXchange (SIX)
Enables users to integrate and view a wide selection of NSW spatial datasets, including property, cadastral and topographic information, satellite data and aerial photography. Requires a plugin to be installed.
Mac users go to SIX Lite
 
Synthesis Digital library of Engineering and Computer Science
The Synthesis Digital library of Engineering and Computer Science is composed of electronic lectures authored by an expert in the fields of Engineering and Computing science.
Terms & conditions

Back to top