Art History and Theory Databases
![]()
Return to
Art Guide
| Key databases for Art History and Theory | |
|---|---|
| Art Index via Silverplatter (1929-present)
A good starting point for research in art, design and architecture. Indexes articles, reviews, exhibitions and images in art journals. |
Terms & conditions |
| ABM : ARTBibliographies Modern via CSA (1974-present)
Essential for comprehensive research in modern and contemporary art, art history, design and crafts. Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, exhibition reviews, PhD dissertations and links to web resources. |
Terms & conditions
ABM Guide |
| APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit Online (1978-present)
Useful for research on Australian art and artists. This important Australian social sciences and humanities database includes full text articles (from 1994/1995-present) from the top 200 journals indexed.
|
Terms & Conditions Informit Training & Support |
| DAAI : Design and Applied Arts Index via CSA (1973-present)
International index for design and studio art related journals. Useful for object, sculpture, jewellery, photography, architecture, interior design and design theory research. |
Terms & conditions
DAAI Guide |
| BHA : Bibliography of the History of Art via OCLC FirstSearch (1973-present)
Wide ranging art history index, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. |
|
| More databases useful for Art History and Theory (A - Z) | |
|
ARTstor
Useful international collection of digital art images drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections and art reference libraries. ARTstor has specific technical requirements. |
Terms & conditions |
| Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals via EBSCO
Useful for research in architecture, archaeology, urban planning, furniture and decoration, historic preservation, and interior design. |
EBSCO Online Tutorial |
| DAAO : Dictionary of Australian Artists Online
An open and freely accessible internet resource in art history for biographical information on Australian artists and their lives.
|
Terms & conditions |
| Expanded Academic ASAP via Gale
Useful multidisciplinary database for visual arts, media, humanities and social sciences research, with some full text. |
Terms & conditions |
| Film Index International via Chadwyck-Healey/ProQuest
Major source of information for all areas of film studies, including international films, persons associated with films and the film industry. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. |
|
| Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches scholarly information on the internet. It provides direct links to academic papers on the web, as well as some journals articles which may be subscribed to by the University of Sydney. Also useful for links to references which cite other academic articles. |
|
| Grove Art Online Oxford Art Online
Useful for quick information on artists, art movements and the visual arts in general. Also includes links to images in external web sites. |
Terms & conditions |
| IIPA : International Index to Performing Arts Full Text via Chadwyck-Healey/ProQuest (1998-present)
Useful for full text articles in performing, conceptual and media arts research. |
|
| JSTOR
Useful for the full-text of back issues of academic journals across the arts and sciences. |
Terms & conditions |
| Philosopher's Index via OvidSP (1940-present)
Major source for philosophical information from books and journals, including a wide range of cultural theories and aesthetics. Also useful for concept development. |
|
| Project MUSE
Full text journal database useful for multidisciplinary research in arts, social sciences and humanities. |
Terms & conditions | PsycInfo via OvidSP (1806-present)
Major source for articles, conference papers, books and web resources in psychology. Also useful for concept development. Alerts & saved searches |
Terms & conditions Help |
| Scirus
An internet search engine for scientific information, also useful when searching for visual arts and media studies websites. |
Back to top

