Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Asian Studies Databases

Go to Chinese Studies Guide
Go to Japanese Studies Guide
Go to Korean Studies Guide

Key databases for Asian Studies  
BAS : Bibliography of Asian Studies
References to articles, books and reviews, published internationally from 1971 to the present. It is especially relevant for the humanities and social sciences.
Terms & conditions
Asia-Studies Full-text currently unavailable
Full-text reports covering business, government, economic, and social issues. The average study is 100 pages long and contains statistics, research, analysis, and forecasts.
Help (pdf)
APECLIT via Informit
References to published and unpublished items dealing with Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) and related topics. Australian content
Terms & conditions
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit
References to articles on the social sciences and humanities. Includes full text articles from 1994/1995 onwards, from the top 200 journals indexed.

Journals available in Full Text
Journals indexed Australian content
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Asian Studies (A - Z)  
ASIANRES via Informit
A gateway to websites relevant for research on the Asia/Pacific region.
Terms & conditions
CAJ : China Academic Journal Full-text Database
Chinese Interface  (please remember to click 退出 after each use)
English Interface  (please remember to click log out after each use)
Search terms must be in simplified Chinese.
Full-text access to Journal articles published in China in all subject areas. The subscription is funded by the China Studies Centre of the University of Sydney.
Note: Some articles have English abstracts. Full-text can be viewed using Adobe Acrobat Reader with simplified Chinese font, or CAJ Viewer which is free to download from the site. Not all fulltext articles are in pdf format.
 
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 via Adam Matthews
(China: Culture and Society not yet released)
With manuscripts encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic, students are given an incredible insight into the changes wrought upon China during this period.
Terms & conditions
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 (Archives Direct)
(Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, Section III, 1947-1980 not yet released)
British government Confidential Print files, issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices, cover the Middle East From Egypt to Afghanistan, from 1839 - 1969.
Terms & conditions
Dissertation & Theses Full Text via ProQuest
Major source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text is available from 1997 to present.

Note: It contains very large files; may be slow to download off-campus.

Terms & conditions

Help
Expanded Academic Index ASAP via Gale
Full text and abstracts to over 1500 multidisciplinary journals.
Terms & conditions
Factiva
Full text newspaper articles and pictures from over 8,000 international newspaper and newswire publications.

Note: Click Logout when finished.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage.
User Guide

Quick Search Tips

Browser Help
Foreign Office Files for China, 1949-1980 (Archives Direct) via Adam Matthews
The complete British Foreign Office Files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan in this period. Eye-witness accounts and detailed reports on life in China, 1949-1976. In depth analysis of the Communist Revolution and all the major figures. Material on the Korean War, the Cold War, US relations and the Cultural Revolution.
Terms & conditions
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 (Sections I and II) (Archives Direct) via Adam Matthews
(Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, Section III, 1947-1980 not yet released)
DO 133, DO 134, FO 371 and FCO 37 files from The National Archives, Kew. Also covers neighbouring South East Asian countries such as Nepal, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, and Burma.
Terms & conditions
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine.
 
ISEAS ebooks
215 ebooks published by the Institute Of Southeast Asian Studies between 2001 and 2009.
 
JSTOR
Full text of major journals in this field. Does not include the current five years of issues.
Terms & conditions
Project Muse
Full text of peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Terms & conditions
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factivafor access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Useful for subject and citation searching for any discipline.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
WNC : World News Connection
Complements Factiva by accessing thousands of non-U.S. media sources obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.
 

Back to top