Australian Literature Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Australian Literature Guide

Key databases for Australian Literature  
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit
Contains the journal indexing of the APAIS bibliographic database 1978 - present, with the addition of full text images of the top 200 Australian journals indexed, 1994/95 - present. Australian content
Terms & conditions
AUSLIT : Australian Literature Gateway
Provides bibliographic and biographic references to Australian authors and their works, references to criticism, correspondence, interviews and theses dealing with Australian literature. Australian content
Help
Australian Studies Resource Literary and Historical Texts
Access to more than 220 literary and historical texts. Australian content
 
Australianscreen
View clips from Australian film and television produced over the last 100 years, with curators notes and other information about each title. Australian content
 
Factiva (Good coverage from the mid 1980's - present).
Access to articles, recent book, film and theatre reviews from national and international newspapers.
 
More databases useful for Australian Literature (A - Z)  
Expanded Academic ASAP
A multi-disciplinary database which provides full text articles from Southerly, Meanjin, Australian Literary Studies and abstracts from Overland and other Australian literature journals.
Terms & Conditions.
FIAF : FIAF International Film Archive Database via OvidSP (1972 - present)
References over 300 academic and popular Film and Television journals.
Terms & Conditions
Film Index International
References international films and provides bibliographies of particular films.
 
Google Scholar
Searches academic information on the internet and may allow access to publications subscribed to by the University of Sydney Library.
 
JSTOR
JSTOR provides full text access to the entire archive of key journals in the Humanities.
Terms & Conditions.
Libraries Australia
Searches the combined catalogues of Australian libraries and can also provide access to the British Library Catalogue, Library of Congress Catalogue and OCLC WorldCat. Australian content
Help
MLA : Modern Languages Association International Biography via Ebsco
References scholarly works on Australian literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics and film studies. MLA contains some full text material.
Terms & conditions
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
One of the largest Humanities and Social Sciences databases, it also provides citation analysis of authors and journals.
Terms & conditions

Help

Back to top