Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Behavioural and Social Sciences in Health Databases



Return to Behavioural and Social Sciences in Health Guide

Key databases for Behavioural and Social Sciences in Health  
Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
A major and premier source for the medical sciences.
Provides citations and abstracts to biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. The majority are fulltext.
Terms & conditions

CINAHLvia EBSCOhost (1981 - present)
A major resource for allied health professionals and nurses. Includes some full text articles with coverage of allied health, management, behavioural sciences, biomedicine and education.
Terms & conditions

Cinahl Support Center

Searching CINAHL (iResearch)
AGELINE via Ebsco (1978 - present)
The place to start for ageing and gerontology. Provides coverage of ageing in relation to delivery of health care, psychology, public policy and social and economic contexts.

Terms & conditions

APAIS-Health via Informit Online (1978- present)
Covers health and medicine in Australia, in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health
Terms & conditions

AMED : Allied and Complementary Medicinevia OvidSP (1985 - present)
A useful specialised database of citations and abstracts for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians covering allied health and alternative treatments to conventional medicine.
Terms & conditions

Web of Sciencevia ISI Web of Knowledge
One of the largest Science databases. Provides access to current and retrospective information from high impact research journals. Also provides citation analysis of authors, journals and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Jan 2012: Mac OS 10.7 (Lion) not currently supported in Document Download Manager
Terms & conditions

Interactive Tutorials
More databases useful for Behavioural and Social Sciences in Health (A - Z)  
Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
A major source of statistical data compiled by Australia's official statistical organisation. Includes Australian census data, National and State based statistics. Statistics are updated weekdays at 11:30am.
Australian content
 
ABS Census Datapacks
Provides access to Census 2006 Community Profile data & digital boundaries "in bulk" See also CData Online . Australian content
 
CAM : Complementary and alternative medicinevia Pubmed
A useful source which contains citations to journal articles related to complementary and alternative medicine (Cam). A subset of PubMed.
 
Catalyst
Important: Logout out of Catalyst and if you link through to Martindale, close its window when finished.
Catalyst provides quick, easy access to the popular AusDI Independent Drug Monographs, pharmaceutical company product information (PI), consumer medicine information (CMI) leaflets, drug product images, a product identifier module with convenient links to your choice of drug interaction system(s). The Australian independent drug monographs, originally published in the popular AusDI product, include full-text, evidence-based drug and drug-class monographs. Australian content
 
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
Contains links to articles, policy documents, reports and other material on Indigenous health and wellbeing. Topics include chronic and infectious conditions, health determinants, risk factors and specific population groups. Browse by topic or search the Bibliography. Australian content
 
Caresearch
A palliative care resource funded by the Department of Health and Ageing that aims to provide evidence based, quality information to the palliative care community. Australian content
Terms & conditions
CData Online 2006
Allows you to create your own tables of Census data on a range of topics such as, age, education, housing, income, transport, religion, ethinicity, occupation and more. Australian content
 
Current Contents Connectvia ISI Web of Knowledge
A quick and easy way of keeping up to date with material published in your subject area.
Terms & conditions
Dissertation & Theses Full Textvia Proquest
Full text available from 1997 - present
Contains more than 1.6 million Phd and Masters thesis accepted by accredited educational institutions and universities. Check to see what other thesis candidates have done in your field!
(Note: Very large files; may be slow to download off-campus.)
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
Embase.com
A major pharmacological, biomedical and drug information database. Contains a large number of full text articles from journals published worldwide.
Terms & conditions

Video Tutorials

Quick Reference Guide
Expanded Academic Index ASAP (1980 - present)
Contains an index, abstracts and full-text. Topics covered include communication studies, social science, science and technology, women studies, sociology, environment, and public affairs.
Terms & conditions
GrantSearch
Australia's most comprehensive index of grant opportunities. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Health & Society Database (H&S)via Informit Online Terms & conditions
Local database of health policy, services and the social, psychological, legal and ethical issues associated with health which is of direct importance to Australian people and families. Aboriginal health, health administration and economic issues are a core subject area of the database. Australian content
 
Indigenous Collection via Informit Online
Offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies.
Australian content
Terms & conditions

Tutorials:
Basic
Advanced
Informit Online
A collection of databases of online Australasian scholarly research. Includes coverage of Medicine & Health, Social Sciences, Information Management and Technology, Business and Management. Australian content
 
Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge
Discover analytical information on journals such as impact factor and citation frequency.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials

Bookmarking the database
MIMS Online
Important: please close your browser down to end your MIMS session & enable other users to access MIMS.
Australia's most comprehensive and authoritative pharmaceutical database. Provides full information on prescription and non-prescription drugs. Full colour product identification pictures are available.

Also try Catalyst, a generic-based drug information resource. It covers a very comprehensive range of drugs including many over the counter (OTC) and hospital use only products.
Terms & conditions
NetLibrary
A selection of eBooks covering a wide subject range including Health Sciences related topics. The eBooks are fully searchable and can be "checked out" or booked in advance.
Terms & conditions
ProQuest Central
ProQuest puts together a number of databases across a range of subject areas including business, general reference, education, science, technology and medicine. It provides both abstracts, indexing and full text.
Terms & conditions

Quickstart guide
Proquest Central
Puts together a number of databases across a range of subject areas including business, general reference, education, science, technology and medicine. It provides both abstracts, indexing and full text.
Terms & conditions

Quick Start Guide
PsycBITE
Contains published evidence-based empirical reports on the effectiveness of non-pharmacological interventions for the psychological consequences of acquired brain impairment.
 
PsycInfovia OvidSP (1806-present)
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes literature from disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Some full text.
Terms & conditions
PubMed
PubMed for handhelds
A free database offering access to the Medline database of citations and abstracts of biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, and PubMed covers fields related to medicine.
 
ScienceDirect
One of the largest online collections of published scientific research. Good coverage of medical related subjects.
Terms & conditions
Sociological Abstracts via Proquest (1952 - present)
International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Terms & conditions

University of Sydney Theses
All University theses are listed in the library catalogue. Search by Author, Title, Subject or Keyword.
 

Back to top