Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Biochemistry and Microbiology Databases



Return to Biochemistry and Mircrobiology Guide

Key databases for Biochemistry and Microbiology  
Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
Journal database covering a range of disciplines including medicine and life and physical sciences.
Terms & conditions
Pubmed(1982 - present)
PubMed for handhelds
Provides access to MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE and additional selected journals.
Pubmed Helpsheet
Biosis Previews via ISI Web of Knowledge (1926 - present)
An important biological database for plant, animal and microbial biology.
Terms & conditions
SciFinder Web Version
International chemistry journal articles, conferences, books, reports, patents within the Chemical Abstracts database; Chemical Abstracts from 1907, and Medline from 1966. Subject coverage includes chemical engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacy, pharmacology, agricultural chemistry, food science and medicine.

Note: New users must register before using the web version. Your UniKey login is required for registration.
This database can only be used by staff and students of the University of Sydney.
Note: Google Chrome not supported. Scifinder System Requirements
More info

How to Guides

Tutorials
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Covers major journals in all areas of science. Allows citations searching and analysis.
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Biochemistry and Microbiology (A - Z)  
Biological Sciences via Proquest (1982 - present)
An interdisciplinary database covering research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology.
Terms & conditions
Biology Digest via Proquest (1989 - present)
Provides overviews of new developments in biological research. Pitched at undergraduates.
Terms & conditions
CAB Abstracts via ISI Web of Knowledge
Covers agriculture, agronomy, crop protection, dairy science, and environmental degradation.
Terms & conditions
Current Contents Connect
CCC is a cross-disciplinary alerting service. It provides table of contents and article information from journals of your choice.
Terms & conditions
Embase.com
A major pharmacological and biomedical database.
Terms & conditions

Video Tutorials

Quick Reference Guide
Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge
Provides analytical information on journals such as impact factor and citation frequency.
Terms & conditions
Proquest Science Journals
Search a collection of full text journals covering the applied and general sciences.
Terms & conditions

Quickstart Guide
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
Terms & conditions
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Jan 2012: Mac OS 10.7 (Lion) not currently supported in Document Download Manager
Terms & conditions

Interactive Tutorials
Toxline 1999 - current
TOXLINE offers access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in toxicology.

Back to top