Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Biological Sciences Databases



Return to Biological Sciences Subject Guide

Key databases for Biological Sciences  
BIOSIS Previews via ISI Web of Knowledge (1926 - present)
Contains citations to journal articles, international meetings, conference reports, books and patents in the biological sciences field. Updated weekly.
(previously known as Biological Abstracts)
Terms & conditions
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
An extensive science database with good coverage of biological sciences. Use for citation searches and analysis, and complex author, journal and subject searches.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
Aquatic Science and Fisheries via Proquest (1971 - present)
Covers all aspects of aquaculture including oceanography, biology, ecology, marine technology, and natural resources.
Terms & Conditions
Zoological Record via ISI Web of Knowledge (1864 - present)
The oldest continuing database of animal biology. If you are looking for information on Australian native animals this is a good place to start.
Terms & Conditions
CAB Abstracts via ISI Web of Knowledge (1973 - present)
Covers the life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine, and the environment.
Terms & Conditions
More databases useful for Biological Sciences (A - Z)  
AHB : Australian Heritage Bibliography via Informit Online (1987 - present)
Includes articles from published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Australian content
Terms & Conditions
Biological Sciences via Proquest (1982 - present)
Offers abstracts and citations for research in biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, genetics, microbiology, molecular biology, and zoology.
Terms & Conditions
BioOne.1
BioOne provides fulltext access to over 68 biological, ecological and environmental research journals. Search for BioOne articles via Proquest or browse current and past journals.
  Terms & conditions
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge (1998 - present)
Find out the latest developments in the life sciences, agriculture, biological and environmental sciences. CCC mines leading scholarly journals to include preprints, funding information and research activities.
Terms & Conditions

Tutorial
Current Protocols via Wiley Interscience
Keep pace with the latest discoveries and developments in the following Protocols titles: Protocols in Cell Biology, Cytometry, Human Genetics, Molecular Biology, and Protein Science only.
Terms & conditions
Declared Plants of Australia
Contains information on over 300 species of declared plants and 600 weed species.
Available at Badham and Camden Libraries only. Australian content
 
Flora of Australia online
Flora of Australia describes the plants of Australia, with identification keys, illustrations of genera and many species and distribution maps of all taxa. Australian content
 
Google Scholar
The academic version of the famous search engine. Also useful for links to references which cite other academic articles. Using this link via the Library website means you can get the full-text of articles in journals to which the Library subscribes.
 
GreenFILE via Ebsco
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Terms & conditions
JSTOR Plant Science
This provides access to foundational content vital to plant science – plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, full-text scientific literature, and related materials - botanical drawings, photographs, paintings, correspondence, books, and manuscripts. it aims to be a comprehensive online research tool for aggregating and exploring the world’s botanical resources. It is useful for those researching, teaching or studying botany, biology, ecology, environmental and conservation studies.
Terms & conditions
Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
Contains citations to articles on topics such as clinical medicine, biomedicine, allied health, biological and physical sciences.
Terms & conditions
Oceanic Abstracts via Proquest (1981 - present)
Major areas of coverage include: Oceanography, Ecology, Marine geology, Geophysics, Geochemistry, Marine pollution, Nonliving marine resources and Marine biology
Terms & Conditions
SciFinder Web Version
Chemical Abstracts from 1907, and Medline from 1966. Subject coverage includes chemical engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacy, pharmacology, agricultural chemistry, food science and medicine.

Note: New users must register before using the web version. Your UniKey login is required for registration.
This database can only be used by staff and students of the University of Sydney.
Note: Google Chrome not supported. Scifinder System Requirements
More info

How to Guides

Tutorials
Scopus
A large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Jan 2012: Mac OS 10.7 (Lion) not currently supported in Document Download Manager
Terms & conditions

Interactive Tutorials
SPORTDiscus via EBSCO
A major resource covering all major sports, sports physiology, sports medicine, physical fitness, exercise, sports science, psychology, physical education and biomechanics.
Terms & conditions

Back to top