Business Law Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Business Law Guide

Key Journal Indexing Databases | More Journal Indexing databases | Full text legislation & caselaw databases
Cases and Case Citators | Legal Encyclopedias | News Resources

Key journal indexing databases for Business Law  
AGIS Plus Text : Attorney General's Information Service (1975 - present)
Bibliographic database with selected full text (from 1999) covering all aspects of law including administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, environmental law, international law and trade practices. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Legaltrac via Infotrac (1980 - present)
indexing legal journals including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.
Terms & conditions
Index to Foriegn Legal Periodicals via OvidSP (1985 - present)
indexing legal literature worldwide, includes comparative law and legal systems.
Terms & conditions
Proquest 5000
Multiple partial full text databases covering the social sciences, particularly in all areas of business and management. Includes full text of many North American dissertations & theses.
Terms & conditions
Index to Legal Periodicals via Lexis.com (1978 - present)
indexing legal lterature, mainly from the United States, includes material from Australia, Great Britain, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand and Puerto Rico.

Westlaw's journals and law reviews
Click on World Journals tab to search full text journal collections primarily from the USA, some from Great Britain and Canada. Provides access to Legal Journals Index (1986 - present) covering more than 430 UK and english language journals on the European Community and its member states; UK Corporate Business - Legal Journals Index and UK Intellectual Property - Legal Journals Index.

More journal indexing databases useful for Business Law (A - Z)  
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text (1978 - present)
The main database for Australian politics, public affairs and economics. Bibliographic index to journal articles, major newspaper articles, conference papers and some books. Includes selected full text articles from 1994. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Australasian Law Journals Library via AustLII
Provides a search facility for over 43 academic law journals in Australia and New Zealand. More journals are being added with the aim of comprehensive coverage. Australian content

Google Scholar
Freely available database which searches scholarly information on the internet. By using the link to Google Scholar via Library databases, you can access much full text material.

HeinOnline
Full-text legal journals and other legal documents predominantly US, also includes major international publications and some Australia Law reviews. Also includes English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1865)

JSTOR
Full-text of major academic journals and scholarly literature from around the world in the Social and Political Sciences. Latest five years not available in this database.
Terms & conditions
Lawbook Online
Provides access to Lawbook Co. products including a range of law reports, journals and loose-leaf services. Australian content

TAXABS : Australian Taxation Abstracts (1992 - present)
Focuses on tax technical information including accounting, auditing, business, capital gains tax, finance, fringe benefits tax, goods and services tax, international tax (with Australian content), taxation law, superannuation, taxation rulings, and tax administration. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Full text legislation & caselaw databases  
See the Law Library Free Web Law - Legislation page for links to freely available full text legislation on the web.
AustLII
The Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) provides free internet access to Australasian legal materials, including primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals). Australian content

Comlaw
Freely available official source for the full-text of Commonwealth legislation and the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments (FRLI). Australian content

Lexis.com (1975 - present)
Full text legislation, caselaw, journal articles primarily from the U.S., also including Europe, U.K and Australasia

Westlaw
Full-text collection of legal material including reported and unreported judgements, statutes, regulations, news and journal articles.

Timebase
Australian Commonwealth and State legislation with Caselinks. Click subscribers tab to access Legislation with Caselinks. Australian content
Terms & conditions
CCH
Full text of commentary, case law and legislation for Australia and Asia Pacific Region. Australian content
 
RIA Worldwide Tax Law (1975 - present)
Covers major laws including income and corporate tax law, VAT, corporation law, trust law, commercial codes, environmental law, money laundering and other regulations affecting financial transactions, labor law, and bankruptcy. Requires a password.

Capital Monitor
Parliamentary and legal information from federal and selected state sources. Monitors Bills, Acts, High Court and Tax rulings, elections and budgets. Tracks information by selected popular topics. Australian content
 
Cases and Case citators  
Casebase via Lexis.au
Australian citator for cases, statutes and journal articles. Cites over 500,000 cases, and refers to relevant journal articles from 80 law journals. Australian content

AGIS Plus Text : Attorney General's Information Service (1975 - present)
Bibliographic database with selected full text (from 1999) covering journal articles on case law. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Firstpoint ( - present)
Combining Australian Case Citator and Australian Digest, this database cites Australian reported cases and summarises Australian case law developments. Australian content

Legal Encyclopedias  
Halsbury's Laws of Australia via LexisNexisAu
Statements of legal principle covering all jurisdictions in Australia. Browse categories or sub-categories or search by legal principle, keyword, phrase, case or legislation. Updated by Australian Current Law: Reporter.
Browser settings Australian content
Help
Laws of Australia via LawBook Online
Statements of legal principle covering all jurisdictions in Australia. Browse categories or sub-categories or search by legal principle, keyword, phrase, case or legislation. Updated by Australian Legal Monthly Digest. Australian content
Help
News Resources  
Factiva
Full text of more than 8,000 of the world's newspapers, newswires and magazines. For Australian news sources, the Fairfax archive is 13-22 years (SMH 1986+, no full text for AFR or BRW) and the News Limited archive is 8 years (Australian 1996+)
 
World News Connection
Information compiled from non-U.S. media sources obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.
Terms & conditions

Back to top