Celtic Studies Databases
| Key databases for Celtic Studies | |
|---|---|
| Archive of Celtic Latin Literature: ACLL1
Contains over four hundred selected texts, representative of the authors, nationalities, periods and genres in the Celtic-Latin domain. Including: St. Patrick, Augustinus Hibernicus, Columbanus, Sedulius Scottus, John Scottus Eriugena, Peter Abelard. Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" Languages folder on the PC Desktop. |
|
| BIAB : British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography (1695 - present)
References to articles, books and reports. |
|
| Celtic Studies Bibliography Freely available on the Internet, the CSANA Bibliography indexes a broad range of publications, including books, periodicals, Festschriften, proceedings and other works relevant to the study of Celtic languages and literatures. |
|
| ISOS: Irish Script On Screen
The project has created digital images of Irish manuscripts and made them freely accessible on the Internet for research. |
|
| Dictionary of Celtic Mythology via Oxford University Press
A survey of Celtic mythology, legend, saga, and folklore. It covers the people, themes, concepts, places, and creatures of Celtic mythology, from both ancient and modern traditions, in 4,000 entries ranging from brief definitions to short essays. |
Terms & conditions |
| More databases useful for Celtic Studies (A - Z) | |
| Dissertation & Theses Full Text Major source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text is available from 1997 to the present. Note: It contains very large files; may be slow to download off-campus. |
Terms & conditions Help |
| Expanded Academic Index ASAP via Gale Infotrac (1980 - present) Full text and abstracts from a large number of multidisciplinary journals. |
Terms & conditions |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full text of academic encyclopedias. It includes the Ancient Europe, 8000 BC to 1000 AD and the Encyclopedia of Religion. |
Terms & conditions |
| Google Scholar An academic version of the famous search engine. |
|
| JSTOR
Full text of major Classics and Ancient History journals. Does not include the current five years of issues. |
Terms & conditions |
| LLBA : Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts via CSA (1960's - present)
A key resource for Linguistics. LLBA references abstracts to peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, books and book review citations. An increasing number of articles are available in full text. |
Terms & Conditions |
| MLA : Modern Languages Association International Biography via EBSCO (1890's - present)
References scholarly works on linguistics, literature, literary theory and film. MLA contains some full text material. |
Terms & conditions |
| Oxford Reference Online Contains over 130 dictionaries, including bilingual dictionaries and the Oxford Classical Dictionary. |
Terms & conditions |
| Project Muse Full text of peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers. |
Terms & conditions |
| Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Useful for subject and citation searching for any discipline. |
Terms & conditions Tutorial |
Back to top

