Chemistry Databases



For a subject overview: Chemistry Guide

Key databases for Chemistry  
SciFinder Web Version
International chemistry journal articles, conferences, books, reports, patents within the Chemical Abstracts database; Chemical Abstracts from 1907, and Medline from 1966. Subject coverage includes chemical engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacy, pharmacology, agricultural chemistry, food science and medicine.

Note: New users must register before using the web version. Your UniKey login is required for registration.
This database can only be used by staff and students of the University of Sydney.
Note: Google Chrome not supported. Scifinder System Requirements
More info

How to Guides

Tutorials
ICSD: Inorganic Crystal Structure Database
A comprehensive database on fully determined inorganic crystal structures, recorded in the literature of the field from 1913-present.
Terms & conditions
Web of Science Core Collections
If using Internet Explorer, ensure that Compatibility View is disabled.

Covers major journals in all areas of science. Allows citation searching and analysis.
Terms & conditions

Training (YouTube)
CHEMnetBASE
A collection of electronic reference works including the Dictionary of Organic Compounds and the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Plug in required

e-Eros (Encyclopedia of reagents for organic synthesis)
Offers a systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic chemistry. Also includes information concerning physical data, solubility, form supplied in and purification.
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Chemistry (A - Z)  
Biosis Previews via Web of Science (1926 - present)
A major resource for all biological sciences.
Terms & conditions

Training (YouTube)
Current Contents Connect
CCC is a cross-disciplinary alerting service. It provides table of contents and article information from journals of your choice.
Terms & conditions

Training (YouTube)
Journal Citation Reports - old version via Web of Science
Journal Citation Reports - new version via Web of Science
For access, click Sign in > Continue without signing in
Provides analytical information on journals such as impact factor and citation frequency.
Terms & conditions

Training (YouTube)

Tutorials

JCR training

Citation Impact Centre
Medline via OvidSP (1946 - present)
Journal database covering a range of disciplines including medicine and life and physical sciences.
Terms & conditions
Proquest Science Journals
Search a collection of full text journals covering the applied and general sciences.
Terms & conditions

Quickstart Guide
Royal Society of Chemistry ebook collection (1940-current)
Ebooks published by the Royal Society of Chemistry, covering all aspects of chemical science.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals and Archive
Provides access to most current RSC journals and the full-text of articles published by RSC from 1841 - 1996.
 
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
Terms & conditions
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Interactive Tutorials

Back to top