Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Speech Pathology Databases



Return to Speech Pathology Guide

Key databases for Speech Pathology  
Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
A major and premier source for the medical sciences.
Provides citations and abstracts to biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. The majority are fulltext.
Terms & conditions

CINAHL via EBSCOhost (1981 - present)
A major resource for allied health professionals and nurses. Includes some full text articles with coverage of allied health, management, behavioural sciences, biomedicine and education.
Terms & conditions

Cinahl Support Center

Searching CINAHL (iResearch)
speechBITE
Provides open access to a catalogue of Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy across the scope of Speech Pathology practice.
 
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
One of the largest Science databases. Provides access to current and retrospective information from high impact research journals. Web of Science also provides citation analysis of authors, journals and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Interactive Tutorials
Comdisdome : Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome via Proquest
A useful source for speech-language pathologists, audiologists, and students in the field of Speech Pathology.
Terms & conditions
Health & Society Database (H&S) via Informit Online
Local database of health policy, services and the social, psychological, legal and ethical issues associated with health which is of direct importance to Australian people and families. Aboriginal health, health administration and economic issues are a core subject area of the database. Australian content
 
More databases useful for Speech Pathology (A - Z)  
ABS Census Datapacks
Provides access to Census 2006 Community Profile data & digital boundaries "in bulk" See also CData Online . Australian content
 
AMED : Allied and Complementary Medicine via OvidSP (1985 - present)
A useful specialised database of citations and abstracts for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians covering allied health and alternative treatments to conventional medicine.
Terms & conditions

anatomy.tv
Human anatomy in 3D. Complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips.
"Bad Request (Invalid Verb)" error message workaround:
Edit the URL in the address bar of your browser. Change://www.anatomy.tv.ezproxy2.library.usyd.edu.au to://www.anatomy.tv.ezproxy1.library.usyd.edu.au, or vice versa, then press Enter on your keyboard.

Terms & conditions
Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
A major source of statistical data compiled by Australia's official statistical organisation. Includes Australian census data, National and State based statistics. Statistics are updated weekdays at 11:30am.
Australian content
 
CAM : Complementary and alternative medicine via Pubmed
A useful source which contains citations to journal articles related to complementary and alternative medicine (Cam). A subset of PubMed.
 
CData Online 2006
Allows you to create your own tables of Census data on a range of topics such as, age, education, housing, income, transport, religion, ethinicity, occupation and more. Australian content
 
Cochrane Library
A reliable source of up-to-date information and evidence based studies designed to support decisions taken in health care.
Terms & conditions

Introduction to Cochrane (3 mins)


Searching & MESH ( 3:40 mins)
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge
A quick and easy way of keeping up to date with material published in your subject area.
Terms & conditions
Dissertation & Theses Full Text via Proquest
Full text available from 1997 - present
Containing more than 1.6 million Phd and Masters thesis accepted by accredited educational institutions and universities. Check to see what other thesis candidates have done in your field!
(Note: Very large files; may be slow to download off-campus.)
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
Embase
A major pharmacological, biomedical and drug information database. Contains a large number of full text articles from journals published worldwide.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
ERIC via OvidSP (1966 - present)
Provides extensive access to educational-related literature.
Includes coverage of meetings, conferences, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, books and monographs.
Alternative interfaces are available: ERIC via Proquest
Terms & conditions

ERIC Web 1966-present
Provides free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text.
 
Expanded Academic Index ASAP (1980 - present)
Contains an index, abstracts and full-text. Topics covered include communication studies, social science, science and technology, women studies, sociology, environment, and public affairs.
Terms & conditions
GrantSearch
NB: No subscriber search available; free search only
Australia's most comprehensive index of grant opportunities. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Informit Online
A collection of databases of online Australasian scholarly research. Includes coverage of Medicine & Health, Social Sciences, Information Management and Technology, Business and Management. Australian content
 
Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge
Discover analytical information on journals such as impact factor and citation frequency.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials

Bookmarking the database
LLBA : Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts via Proquest
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Terms & conditions
MAIS : Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies via Informit Online
A useful bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian immigration and multicultural issues. Australian content
Terms & conditions
NetLibrary
A selection of eBooks covering a wide subject range including Health Sciences related topics. The eBooks are fully searchable and can be "checked out" or booked in advance.
Terms & conditions
OECD ILibrary
Fulltext access to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development books. Covers such areas as main economic indicators, national accounts and social expenditure.
Use the GO TO [Select from list] drop down box at the top of the screen and choose OECD Databases, or books or journals.
Terms & conditions

OECD iLibrary Getting Started [pdf]
Proquest Central (formerly Proquest 5000)
ProQuest 5000 puts together a number of databases across a range of subject areas including business, general reference, education, science, technology and medicine. It provides both abstracts, indexing and full text.
Terms & conditions

Quickstart guide
PsycInfo via OvidSP (1806-present)
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes literature from disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Some full text.
Terms & conditions
PubMed
PubMed for handhelds
A free database offering access to the Medline database of citations and abstracts of biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, and PubMed covers fields related to medicine.
 
ScienceDirect
One of the largest online collections of published scientific research. Good coverage of medical related subjects.
Terms & conditions
University of Sydney Theses
All university theses are listed in the library catalogue. Search by Author, Title, Subject or Keyword.
 
Web of Knowledge
This portal hosts Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Previews, CAB Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Journal Citation Reports. Its CrossSearch feature allows a "quick overview" search of these databases.
Terms & conditions

Recorded training

Bookmarking the database

Back to top