Agricultural and Resource Economics Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources Guide

Key databases for Agricultural and Resource Economics  
ABARE : Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics
Provides yearly and monthly statistics and forecasts on Australian commodities including agriculture, minerals, energy, fisheries and forestry. Australian content
 
CAB Abstracts via ISI Web of Knowledge (1910 - present)
The place to start for agriculture, food and natural resources, covering local and international material.
Terms & conditions
Business Source Premier
One of the largest business and economics databases. It also provides profiles for the world's largest companies.
Terms & conditions

User guide [pdf file, 11 pages]

Tutorials
ABI Inform via Proquest (1971 - present)
One of the larger databases covering business, industry and economics.
Terms & conditions

Using ABI Inform
Factiva
Factiva searches local and international news publications, commentary, pictures, company information and stock quotes.
The Search Interface

Search Tips

Advanced Search Quick Reference

Company Search Tips
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
One of the largest Science databases with good coverage of agriculture, food and natural resources. It also provides citation analysis of authors, journals and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials
ECONLIT via CSA
Provides access to a large range of economics literature including theses, working papers and conference proceedings.
Terms & conditions

Help
ANR-Index : Agriculture and Natural Resources Index and Archive via Informit Online (1975 - present)
Essential for finding Australian agriculture and natural resources industry information and is particularly useful for locating government documents. Australian content
 
More databases useful for Agricultural and Resource Economics (A - Z)  
AANRO : Australian Agriculture and Natural Resources Online
A free database useful for finding Australian agriculture and natural resources industry information; has similar content to the ANR-Index. Australian content
 
AGRIS/CARIS (1975 - present)
Covers all aspects of international agriculture, in particular the developing world, and includes some material not published in journals or books.
 
AgSpace
Provides full text access to research and policy documents written by the US Government on agriculture, food and the natural environment.
 
APECLIT via Informit
Covers all material, including some unpublished items, relating to the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC). Australian content
Helpsheet
Attorney General's Information Service : AGIS Plus Text via Informit
Covers all aspects of law including international law and trade practices with a predominantly Australian focus. Australian content
 
AUSTLII : Australasian Legal Information Institute
Australian Federal and State legislation information including secondary material such as royal commission reports. Australian content
 
Australian Bureau of Statistics : ABS
Provides state and national statistics covering agriculture, balance of payments, international investment, building and construction, and much more. Australian content
 
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit Online (1978 - present)
Australian coverage of the social sciences and humanities with a good selection of economics and trade material. Australian content
Helpsheet
ASSDA : Australian Social Science Data Archive (1975 - present)
Online access to datasets covering economics, demographics, law, and other areas. Australian content
Help with Accessing Data and Registration Forms
Capital Monitor's University Intranet
Provides up to the minute reports on Australian legal, political and regulatory information including Federal and State Bills, Acts and proclamations. Australian content
 
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge
A quick and easy way of keeping up to date with material published in your subject area. Australian content
 
Current Index to Statistics extended database : CIS
This is the major database for statistics and probability.
 
EVA : Environmental Abstracts via Informit Online (1987 - present)
Covers both local and international information on most aspects of environmental protection including economics and legal policy.
Helpsheet
Expanded Academic Index ASAP (1980 - present)
A large social sciences database with some economics and legal coverage.
 
FAOSTAT
An international database of statistics and time-series on agricultural production, consumption, trade, prices and resources.
 
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine.
 
GrantSearch
Australia's most comprehensive index of grant opportunities. Australian content
 
IFS : International Financial Statistics
Provides statistics for a wide range of economics and financial indicators and includes national accounts, balance of payments and government finance.
Help
INIS DB : International Nuclear Information System (1970 - present)
Covers the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology and includes some material on the agricultural and economic applications.
 
Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge
Discover analytical information on journals such as impact factor and citation frequency.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials Bookmarking the database

Cookie settings for JCR
Kompass
A global database of company profiles compiled from submissions made by individual companies.
Terms & conditions
Livestock Library
Searches Australian industry and government sites for information on our beef and sheep industry but can be used for finding government publications on all aspects of Australian agriculture. Australian content
 
Mediascan via Informit Online
Covers the major stories across a range of Australian newspapers. Australian content
Helpsheet
National Agricultural Library (Agricola)
A North American agriculture, food and natural resources database.
 
Natural Resources Data Directory
Atlases and other information relating to natural resources in NSW and ACT. Australian content
 
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full text books online with a large selection of economics, finance and political titles.
Terms & conditions

PAIS : Public Affairs Information Service via CSA (1972 - present)
Good place to look for local and international resources on economic and political issues. APA-FT also covers government papers and journals. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Help
Prime Notes
Comprehensive fact sheets on Australian agriculture from the Australian federal and state government departments.
Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop. Australian content
 
Proquest 5000
A general database with a good coverage of international agricultural and resource economics.
Terms & conditions

Quickstart Guide
Scirus
A web search engine focussing primarily on the sciences, which filters out non-scholarly material.
 
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & conditions
SourceOECD
Provides access to the full text of all OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) publications and includes statistics and global indicators.
Terms & conditions

Woolwise
Covers all aspects of wool and the Australian wool industry.
Available at Badham and Camden Libraries only. Australian content
 
World Development Indicators (1970 - 1995)
World population and economic indicators covering the years 1970-1995.
Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop
 
World News Connect
A large database of news articles, conference proceedings, and television and radio broadcasts from non-U.S. sources.
Terms & conditions

Changes to Regional Searching
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts : WPSA via CSA
International political database with coverage of environmental and economic policy, international relations and trade.
Terms & conditions

Back to top