Agriculture - Plant Sciences

Ask A Librarian

Return to Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources Guide

Key databases for Agriculture - Plant Sciences  
CAB Abstracts via ISI Web of Knowledge (1910 - present)
The place to start for agriculture, food and natural resources, covering local and international material.
Terms & conditions
BIOSIS Previews via ISI Web of Knowledge (1926 - present)
A major resource for all biological sciences and particularly useful for searching experimental research.
Terms & conditions

BIOSIS on Web of Knowledge

BIOSIS controlled vocabulary
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
One of the largest Science databases with good coverage of agriculture, food and natural resources. It also provides citation analysis of authors, journals and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials
Plant Science via CSA (1994 - present)
International database focussing on the plant sciences and includes turf management, horticulture and plant breeding.
Terms & conditions
ANR-Index : Agriculture and Natural Resources Index and Archive
via Informit Online (1975 - present)
Essential for finding Australian agriculture and natural resources industry information and is particularly useful for locating government documents. Australian content
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Agriculture - Plant Science (A - Z)  
AANRO : Australian Agriculture and Natural Resources Online
A free database useful for finding Australian agriculture and natural resources industry information; has similar content to the ANR-Index. Australian content
 
AGRIS/CARIS (1975 - present)
Covers all aspects of international agriculture, in particular the developing world, and includes some material not published in journals or books.
 
AUSPORT : Australian Sport Database via Informit
A sports database that has some material on turf management topics. Australian content
Helpsheet
Australian Bureau of Statistics : ABS
Provides state and national statistics covering agriculture, balance of payments, international investment, building and construction, and much more. Australian content
 
Biological Sciences via CSA (1982 - present)
Covers journals, conference proceedings and monographs within the biological sciences with a good coverage of the plant sciences.
Terms & conditions
Conference Papers Index via CSA
A useful resource for finding conference papers as these are not generally included in other databases.
Terms & conditions

Help
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge
A quick and easy way of keeping up to date with material published in your subject area. Australian content
 
Declared Plants of Australia
Contains information on over 300 species of declared plants and 600 weed species.
Available at Badham and Camden Libraries only. Australian content
 
ELIXIR : DPI's Electronic Library Exchange for Information Resources via Informit Online (1990 - present)
Covers agriculture, mineral resources, conservation and land management/planning and is produced by the Victorian Department of Primary Industries. Australian content
Terms & conditions
ENDANGER : Threatened Species in Australia via Informit Online (1960 - present)
Covers all threatened Australian plants and animals and includes published and unpublished material. Australian content
Terms & conditions
EVA : Environmental Abstracts via Informit Online (1987 - present)
Covers both local and international information on most aspects of environmental protection.
Helpsheet
Flora of Australia Online
A free online resource of Australian flora. Contains uniform descriptions with identification keys, illustrations and distribution maps.
 
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine.
 
GrantSearch
Australia's most comprehensive index of grant opportunities. Australian content
 
Index Kewensis (1882 - 1992)
A database containing botanical classification and plant indexes.
Available at Badham Library.
 
International Plant Names Index : IPNI
A database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants.
 
Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge
Discover analytical information on journals such as impact factor and citation frequency.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials Bookmarking the database

Cookie settings for JCR
Livestock Library
Searches Australian industry and government sites for information on our beef and sheep industry but can be used for finding government publications on all aspects of Australian agriculture. Australian content
 
National Agricultural Library (Agricola)
A North American agriculture, food and natural resources database.
 
Prime Notes
Comprehensive fact sheets on Australian agriculture from the Australian federal and state government departments.
Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop. Australian content
 
Proquest 5000
A general database with a good coverage of international agricultural including horticulture and some turf management.
Terms & conditions

Quickstart Guide
Rainman - Rainfall information
Analysis of Australian rainfall and climate.
Available at Badham and Camden Libraries only. Australian content
 
SciFinder Scholar
A good source of material for agricultural chemistry and biomedical science.
Download Software

SFS Helpsheet
Scirus
A web search engine focussing primarily on the sciences, which filters out non-scholarly material.
 
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & conditions
SPORTDiscus via Ebsco
A large international sports database with a good selection of turf management material.
Terms & conditions
Viticulture and Enology Abstracts : VITIS-VEA
A free, international database covering viticulture and enology.
 

Back to top