A
| Database name | |
|---|---|
| A+ Education via Informit Online (1978 - present) A+ Education is an indexing and full text database that provides access to information on all aspects of Australian education. Australian content.
|
Terms & conditions |
| AANRO : Australian Agriculture and Natural Resources Online A free database useful for finding Australian agriculture and natural resources industry.
|
|
| AATD : Australian Accounting and Taxation Database via Informit Online
A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on accounting and related business topics.
|
Terms & conditions |
| ABELL via Chadwyck-Healey (1920 - present)
References International scholarship, including doctoral dissertations, on English Literature. |
Terms & conditions |
| ABI Inform via Proquest (1971 - present)
One of the larger databases covering business, marketing, industry, management, organisational behaviour. |
Terms & conditions |
| ABM : ARTBibliographies Modern via CSA (1974-present)
Essential for comprehensive research in modern and contemporary art, art history, design and crafts. Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, exhibition reviews, PhD dissertations and links to web resources. |
Terms & conditions
ABM Guide |
| ABOA: Australian Bibliography of Agriculture via Informit Online
A national database of published information on all aspects of animal, crop and pasture production. Searchable with Streamline under the name Agriculture and Natural Resources Index and Archive, via the Library's Informit Online subscription, or via AANRO.
|
Terms & conditions |
| ABS Historical publications Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.
|
|
ABS Statistics
The Australian Bureau of Statistics is Australia's official statistical organisation. The site provides access to the full range of ABS statistical and reference information, including national and state-based statistics, and census data.
Supertable for ABS statistics users
|
|
| Academic Research Library via Proquest
Search on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. It is part of the ProQuest 5000 cluster and hence can be searched simultaneously with other related interdisciplinary databases on ProQuest. |
Terms & conditions |
| AccessPharmacy via McGraw Hill (2007 - present) A comprehensive pharmacological and pharmacy resource which includes: Clinical Sciences; Social, Behavioral, and Administrative Pharmacy Sciences; Pharmaceutical Sciences and Basic Biomedical Sciences. |
|
| Accounting and Taxation via Proquest (1990 - present)
The Accounting & Tax Database features cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts to 300 key publications in accounting, auditing, and financial management from the U.S. and overseas. It is part of the ProQuest 5000 cluster and hence can be searched simultaneously with other related interdisciplinary databases on ProQuest. |
Terms & conditions |
|
ACM Digital Library
(1985 - present)
Contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in Association for Computer Machinery (ACM) periodicals and proceedings on computer science and engineering as well as more general computing topics |
Terms & conditions |
|
ACP Journal Club via OvidSP (1991 - present)
New Ovid search interface Covers clinical medical information and article reviews. Part of Ovid's EBM (Evidence Based Medicine) Reviews collection, and consists of two journals, ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication of the American College of Physicians and the British Medical Journal Group |
Terms & conditions |
| Acta Sanctorum
A collection of documents examining the lives of the saints, organised according to each saint's feast day. The text is in Latin. |
Terms & conditions Acta Sanctorum Helpsheet |
| Advanced Learner's English Dictionary Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop. |
|
|
AEI-ATSIS: Australian Education Index, ATSIS subset.
via Informit Online(1978 - present)
Covers education and training relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders, including learning, psychology, social and cultural influences, language, literacy, teaching strategies, schools, teacher training, and professional development. Produced by the Cunningham Library at the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER)
|
Terms & conditions |
| AEM : Arts and Entertainment Management via Informit Online (1982-2000)
References to journal articles, chapters and reports on arts and entertainment management.
|
Terms & conditions Helpsheet |
| AES On-line Electronic Library (Audio Engineering Society) (1953-present) Useful for audio and acoustics researchers. A full text collection of all journal articles, convention preprints and conference papers published by the Audio Engineering Society. |
|
| AFPD: Australasian Federal Police Digest
A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on policing, criminology, law enforcement and related field
|
Terms & conditions |
| African-American Poetry database 1760-1900
Corpus of Afro-American Poetry and Drama. |
|
|
AGELINE via OvidSP (1978 - present)
The place to start for ageing and gerontology. Provides coverage of ageing in relation to delivery of health care, psychology, public policy and social and economic contexts. |
Terms & conditions |
|
AGIS Plus Text: Attorney General's Information Service via Informit Online (1975 - present)
Bibliographic database with selected full text (from 1999) covering all aspects of law including administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, environmental law, international law and trade practices.
|
Terms & conditions Helpsheet |
| AGIS-ATSIS
Covers legal issues such as land rights, native title, customary law, Aboriginal deaths in custody, Aborigines in the criminal justice system, racial discrimination, indigenous intellectual property, and Aboriginal youth and juvenile justice. Produced by the AGIS Section of the Lionel Murphy Library, Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department in Canberra. Australian content
|
Terms & conditions |
| Agricola See: National Library of Agriculture (US) Agricola |
|
| AGRIS/CARIS (1975 - present) AGRIS covers all aspects of international agriculture, in particular the developing world and includes some material not published in journals or books. |
|
| AHB : Australian Heritage Bibliography via Informit Online (1987 - present)
Produced by the Australian Heritage Commission, AHB references published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment.
|
Terms & conditions Helpsheet |
| AHB-ATSIS via Informit Online (1987 - present)
Indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment, specifically realting to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and is produced by the Australian Heritage Commission. (previously known as HERA)
|
Terms & conditions (pdf) |
|
AHRR: Australian Historic Records Registry
via Informit Online (Settlement - 1988)
A list of paper-based records held in private hands in Australia, dating from settlement to 1988
|
Terms & conditions |
|
AIATSIS: Indigenous Studies Bibliography
via Informit Online (1990 - present)
Indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies and is compiled by the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Library. Some records are in Australian Indigenous languages. Coverage includes cultures, anthropology, archaeology, health, education, arts, history, legal issues, criminal justice, land rights, customary law, women's and youth issues, government policies and programs.
|
Terms & conditions |
|
AIM Management and training
via Informit Online(1991-present)
Indexes articles on management, training, human resources, communication and marketing. Australian content
|
Terms & conditions |
| ALISA: Australian Library and Information Science Abstracts via Informit Online
A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on library and information science
|
Terms & conditions |
|
All EBM Reviews: Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CLEED, CLCMR, & CLHTA via OvidSP This mutifile database allows you to search simultaneously the seven Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews;  ACP Journal Club;  Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE);  Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (CLEED), Health Technology Assessment (CLHTA), Cochrane Methodology Register (CLMCR) Note that Mapping is not available in Multifile databases. |
Terms & Conditions |
|
AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine via OvidSP (1985 - present) Covers journal articles on allied and alternative health including acupuncture, homeopathy, hypnosis, chiropractic, osteopathy, rehabilitation, herbalism, holistic treatments, Chinese medicine, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, podiatry. |
Terms & Conditions |
| America: History and life via Ebsco (1964 - present)
Indexes articles, books and media reviews on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. |
|
| African-American Poetry 1760 - 1900
Corpus of Afro-American poetry. |
Terms & conditions. |
| L'Annee Philologique (1949 - 2004)
References to articles, books and reviews on Greek and Roman antiquities, culture, history, law, language, literature, philosophy, science and society. |
Terms & conditions |
| anatomy.tv
Human anatomy in 3D. Complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips. |
Terms & conditions |
| Annual Report Collection Online via Connect4 (2992 - present)
Provides the annual reports of all publicly listed Australian companies, 2003 - present, and the reports from 1992 to 2002 for the top 500 companies listed.. It includes both the text and the financial statements. |
Terms & conditions |
| ANR-Index : Agriculture and Natural Resources Index and Archive via Informit Online (1975 - present)
Essential for finding Australian agriculture and natural resources industry information and is particularly useful for locating government documents. ![]() |
|
|
ANSTI - Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Information Contains Australian scientific and technical literature covering the broad spectrum of nuclear science research and development, with special emphasis on its peaceful applications.
|
Terms & conditions |
| Anthropology Plus via OCLC Firstsearch (1969 - present)
References to articles, books and reviews on anthropology, archaeology and related disciplines. |
|
| ANZBIP: Australia and New Zealand Books in Print via Informit Online
Provides information about Australian and New Zealand books, series of books, imprints and publishers. See also ANZBIP Publishers. |
Terms & conditions |
| ANZBIP: Publishers via Informit Online
Provides information about Australian and New Zealand publishers. See also ANZBIP.
|
Terms & conditions Helpsheet |
|
APA-FT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit Online (1978 - present)
Covers Australian current affairs, humanities, law, literature, politics, history, social sciences and culture. The main database for Australian politics, public affairs, and economics. It includes full text articles 1994/1995 -, from the top 200 journals indexed.
|
Terms & conditions Helpsheet |
APAIS-ATSIS via Informit (1978 - present)
A subset of APAIS. Covers articles published in the social sciences and humanities relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders, including history, economics, politics, current affairs and culture and is produced by the National Library of Australia. Australian content
|
Terms & conditions |
| APAIS-Health via Informit Online (1978- present)
Covers health and medicine in Australia, in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health |
Terms & conditions |
| APECLIT via Informit Online (ends Oct 2003)
Covers all material, including some unpublished items, relating to the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC).
|
Terms & conditions Helpsheet |
| Apabi eBook Collection Full-text electronic books in Chinese language, published in China, in different subject areas. You can search using Chinese characters. It allows searching any keywords within a book as well. Apabi allows unlimited copying and pasting of the ebook contents, but printing is not permitted. Apabi Reader is required to view full-text ebooks, downloadable from the web site. Choose to view full-text online for 10 minutes, or borrow for 1 day. A maximum 5 books can be borrowed at a time. For further information, please contact East Asian Collection staff on level 7, Fisher Library. |
|
| API : Architectural Publications Index (1977-present)
Architecture, design and planning references indexed by the British Architectural Library. Available from Additional Databases icon on all Library computers. Click on the Architecture folder to access. |
|
| Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts via CSA (1971 - present)
ASFA should be the first stop for all aspects of aquaculture including oceanography, marine technology and natural resources. |
Terms & conditions Help |
| ARCH : Australian Architecture Database via Informit Online (1980-present)
Australian material in the areas of architecture, design and planning. Useful for searching for material on specific Australian regions.
|
Terms & conditions |
| Archäologische Bibliographie (aktualisierte Version des Realkatalogs) see Dyabola References for classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern art and archaeology from 1956 onwards. For coverage before 1956, use the print Jahrbuch des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts, located in Fisher Research and Reference 913.05 21 vol. 1, 1886 - 2005. |
|
| Archive of Celtic Latin Literature In the early Middle Ages, literate individuals in and from the Celtic periphery of Europe (Ireland, Wales, Brittany, Cornwall and Scotland) wrote many and varied Latin works constituting what can now be seen as a distinctive literature, whose unusual vocabulary, grammar and phrasing (let alone subject-matter) made it into what has been called `one of the most curious and interesting phenomena of medieval philology'. More... Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop. |
|
| ARLIT: Archives and Records Management Literature in Australia and New Zealand
via Informit Online (1940 - Dec 2000)
Covers archives administration and records management in Australia and New Zealand.
|
Terms & conditions |
| Art Index via Silverplatter (1929-present)
A good starting point for research in art, design and architecture. Indexes articles, reviews, exhibitions and images in art journals. |
Terms & conditions |
|
ARTstor
Useful international collection of digital art images drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections and art reference libraries. ARTstor has specific technical requirements. |
Terms & conditions |
| Asahi Shinbun Index, 1945-1995
(CD-ASAX 50 Years, 1945-1995) Comprehensive index of the Japanese newspaper, "Asahi Shinbun" Available at the East Asian Collection, Level 7, Fisher Library |
|
| ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts via CSA (1971 - present)
ASFA should be the first stop for all aspects of aquaculture including oceanography, marine technology and natural resources. |
Terms & conditions Help |
| Asia Studies Full-Text Online
Full-text reports and articles on social, economic, environmental, political and development issues in Asia, Australia/New Zealand, the Americas Pacific Rim countries, and the Pacific islands. Many reports include graphs, tables and statistics. |
Help (pdf) |
| Asian Business via ProQuest
More than 50 key titles are included. Titles include Far Eastern Economic Review, Asiaweek, and Fortune, plus many more |
Terms & conditions |
| ASSDA : Australian Social Sciences Data Archive (1977 - present)
Over 2,000 data sets from Australian and non-Australian studies. Data available for research includes census data, opinion polls, electoral studies, education, youth studies, social welfare and social attitudes. Access information is available from the ASSDA website.
|
|
| ASTM Digital Library A repository of technical content covering a wide range of materials and industries, including Special Technical Publications, manuals, technical papers and journals from the standards development organization American Society for Testing and Materials. Note: Subscription does not include MyStandards |
Terms & conditions |
| ATI: Australian Tourism Index via Informit Online (1982 - 30 June 2000)
Indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on tourism and related fields
|
Terms & conditions |
| ATLA Religion Database via OvidSP (1949 - present)
References to journal articles, books, reviews and conference papers on religion, religious scholarship, biblical studies and related fields. Auto-alerts & Saved-Search News |
Terms & conditions Help |
|
ATLA Religion Database - DIRECT Delivery Option
for Postgraduates and Academic Staff only
Use ATLA - DIRECT to request articles from Document Delivery. |
|
| ATP Taxpoint
Full text database of Australian taxation materials, including Australian Tax Reports, legislation and commentaries. |
& Terms & conditions |
| ATRI : Australian Transport Index (1976 - present)
Covers road safety, transport economics, transport administration, intelligent transport systems, transport and the environment, public transport, road and airfield pavements, road design and engineering, traffic engineering and control, vehicle design and safety, and soil and rock mechanics. ![]() |
Terms & conditions Quick Reference Guide Step-by-Step Guide to Searching |
| ATSIHealth Informit Online (1900 - present)
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature.
|
Terms & conditions |
| AUSCHRON : Chronology of Australian Historic and Current Events via Informit Online (1992-present) Provides a listing of significant events in Australian history with emphasis on current happenings, and covering all topics from politics and law to the arts and sport.
|
Terms & conditions Help |
| AUSPORT : Australian Sport Database via Informit Online
A useful source for sport related information in Australia. AUSPORT is produced by the National Sport Information Centre and includes both published and unpublished information on all aspects of sport.
|
Terms & conditions |
| AusportMed via Informit Online
AusportMed covers all aspects of medical and health issues in Australian sport. A subset of the AUSPORT database.
|
Terms & conditions |
| Austguide via Informit Online (1986 - 2006)
contains Guidelines and Education Guidelines which are produced by Bibliographic Services Pty Ltd. AUSTGUIDE indexes and abstracts a wide range of general interest periodicals. Subject coverage includes education, science and natural history, geography, business and economics, history and current affairs, literature, information technology and computing. Contains records from 1986 onwards.
|
Terms & conditions |
| AustLII The Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) provides free internet access to Australasian legal materials, including primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals). Australian content
|
|
| AUSTLIT : Australian Literature Gateway
References to Australian authors and their works, references to criticism, correspondence and interviews as well as providing details and locations of theses dealing with Australian literature.
|
Help |
| Australian Dictionary of Biography: ADB
Australia's pre-eminent dictionary of national biography. There are over 10,000 scholarly biographies of significant Australians who died before 1980.
|
|
| Australian Bureau of Statistics : ABS
Provides state and national statistics covering agriculture, balance of payments, international investment, building and construction, and much more. ![]() |
|
Australian Census Data and Information ![]() |
|
| Australian Corporation Law Library
Includes Corporation Law and Legislation cases - commentary. Coverage of Australia Available at the Law Library
|
|
Australian Digest
see FirstPoint
|
|
Australian Legal Monthly Digest (ALMD)
see FirstPoint
|
|
| Australian Engineering Online
Australian Engineering Online (formerly ACEL Engineering Index) A comprehensive collection of information from product catalogues: construction equipment, materials handling, instrumentation, building products, mechanical engineering, electrical equipment, safety products, process equipment. Search by supplier, brand or product.
|
|
| Australian Key Journals
Indexes over 80 titles Australian journals in the social sciences and humanities. Titles include Architecture Australia 1904-, Art and Australia 1963-, Australian Journal of Dairy Technology 1946-, Australian Woman's Weekly 1933-, Cinema Papers 1974-, Metascience 1984-, Refractory Girl 1972-, Sounds Australian 1983-
|
|
| Australian Legal Literature Index
Bibliographic references to journal articles on Law Available at the Law Library
|
|
| Australian Legal Monthly Digest
Bibliographic references to journal articles on Law Available at the Law Library
|
|
| Australian Standards
Provides full-text access to the complete collection of current Australian Standards, Draft Standards, and handbooks (excluding Standards and handbooks with joint copyright). International and other standards: ISO, IEC, DIN, ETSI, JIS, are available, but not in full-text. Power Search is recommended. Logout when finished.
|
Terms & conditions |
| Autour du Romantisme: le roman, 1792-1886 This offers over 200 novels from Chateaubriand to Barbey d'Aurévilly, bringing together the complete romantic works of the most studied romantic authors in schools today as well as many authors who were highly celebrated in their own time. From the roman noir to the feuilleton and on to melodramatic novels, this database offers an extremely vast and varied corpus. Ask at any Library's Information Desk |
|
| Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals via EBSCO (1934-present)
International coverage of architecture, design and planning research. |
Back to top

