C

Ask A Librarian
Database name  
CAB Abstracts via ISI Web of Knowledge (1910 - present)
The place to start for agriculture, food and natural resources, covering local and international material.
Terms & conditions
CAM : Complementary and alternative medicine via Pubmed
A useful source which contains citations to journal articles related to complementary and alternative medicine (Cam). A subset of PubMed.
 
Capital Monitor's University Intranet (1990 - present)
Parliamentary and Legal information from federal and selected State Parliaments. Includes extracts from debates, press releases, case information, policy and legislative documents. Full-text available for many publications. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Content & Coverage
Caresearch
A palliative care resource funded by the Australian Department of Health and Ageing that aims to provide evidence based, quality information to the palliative care community.
Australian content
Terms & conditions
CaseBase via LexisNexis
Australian case citator providing details of where a case has been reported and cases where the main case has been considered. Also provides subject access to cases and journal articles which discuss a specific case.
Helpsheet
Casetrack
The House of Lords / Privy Council, Court of Appeal, Administrative Court/Crown Office, High Court (excluding Administrative Court/Crown Office), Scottish Courts - summaries and transcripts. A Password is required.
Terms & conditions
CBCA Business via ProQuest (1980s - present)
Canadian business and finance ournals, magazines, newspapers and newsletters.
Terms & conditions
CBCA Education via ProQuest (1970s - present)
Canadian publications in education: academic, administrative, professional, and topical journals are all included, as are newsletters.
Terms & conditions
CCH
Full text of commentary, case law and legislation from CCH Australia Ltd. Covers many legal practice areas. Australian content
 
CD-ASAX 50 Years, 1945-1995
(Asahi Shinbun Index, 1945-1995)

Comprehensive index of the Japanese newspaper, "Asahi Shinbun"
Available at the East Asian Collection
Fisher Library
 
CDATA86 and CDATA91 and CDATA96
Contains the following data about Australia: demographic, population, social statistics, income, birthplace, language spoken at home, religion, education, qualification, labour force, industry, occupation, method of travel to work, income, family type, dwelling, occupancy, rent, loan repayments
Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop. Australian content
 
CDATA2001
Contains the following data about Australia: demographic, population, social statistics, income, birthplace, language spoken at home, religion, education, qualification, labour force, industry, occupation, method of travel to work, income, family type, dwelling, occupancy, rent, loan repayments
Available in Fisher, Madsen and Architecture Libraries Australian content
 
Celex
European Community's database of legislation, caselaw and publications
Staff and Postgrad Law Students only. A Password is required.
 
Census data - Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
Access to statistical data from the 1996 and 2001 censes. For access to Socio-Economic Indexes for areas (SEIFA) please use CDATA -only available on Library workstations.
 
Chemical Abstracts see SciFinder Scholar
Contains abstracts on Chemistry, Biochemistry, Pharmacy, Pharmacology, Chemical Engineering, Agricultural Chemistry, Food Science and Medicine
 
CHEMnetBASE
A collection of electronic reference works including the Dictionary of Organic Compunds and the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Plug in required

CHERUB : CHemical Engineering Reference User Bibliography via Informit Online (1956 - present)
Covers chemical engineering; design and operation of chemical plant and equipment, chemical process information, process control, environmental considerations and mineral processing. Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)

Quick Reference Guide

Step-by-Step Guide to Searching
Chicago Tribune via ProQuest Historical Newspapers Chicago Tribune (1849-1985) Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Coverage: April 23, 1849 - Dec. 31, 1985
 
Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption via BiblioLine (1965-present)
References research on the maltreatment, safety, permanency and well-being of children.

Help
China Academic Journal Full-text Database (CAJ) F sub-series (Literature/History/Philosophy)
English interface

Chinese interface This is part of the CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure). The F sub-series has over 520 Chinese language journals published in China in the areas of Art and Art theory, Literature, History, Philosophy, Archaeology, Film/Music studies and Religion. Many are core journals and from 1994 onwards.
Note: Search terms must be in simplified Chinese. Full-text can be viewed using CAJ Viewer which is free to download from the site or Adobe Acrobat Reader with simplified Chinese font.
Select PDF format to view full-text articles on PCs in the library.
The Library has only 1 concurrent user licence. Please remember to click log out after each use to enable other users to login.
 
Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top US destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; discussion forums; and career-building tools such as an online CV's, salary databases, and more.
The Arts & Letters Daily is a guide to some of the best writing on the web, drawn from international newspapers.
Terms & conditions
Chronicles via Informit Online
This is an index to sources of Australian biography in a wide variety of sources, including Who's Whos, biographical dictionaries, topical and local histories, and published family histories. Australian content

Terms & conditions Helpsheet
CIA: Computing Index Australia (1994 - 31 July 2001)
Indexes articles from a range of journals such as Australian & New Zealand LAN Magazine, Australia PC User, PC Week, Australian Macworld and other general interest computing journals
Helpsheet
CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online (1991-present)
Published research on international affairs from university research institutes, NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, articles and policy briefs.


Help
Cinahl via OvidSP (1982 - present)
The place to start for nursing and allied health research.
Terms & conditions

Ovid Basic Helpsheet
CINAHL - DIRECT Delivery Option for Postgraduates and Academic Staff only
Use CINAHL - DIRECT to request items from Document Delivery.
 
CINCH: Australian Criminology Database via Informit Online (1968 - present)
References articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime and criminal justice. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
CINCH-ATSIS via Informit (1968 - present)
Covers all aspects of crime and criminal justice relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders, including corrections, crime, crime prevention, criminal law, criminology, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
CINCH - Health: Health Issues in Criminal Justice via Informit Online
Covers mental health, medical and medicolegal issues, drugs and alcohol, suicide, HIV/AIDS, corrections health, euthanasia, and occupational health and safety. Australian content

Terms & conditions Helpsheet
Classical Scores Library
Includes the major composers and many lesser known composers and works, from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Some major contemporary Australian composers are soon to be included. Content includes in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series.
Terms & conditions
CLIB91 and CLIB96
Contains the following data about Australia: demographic, population, social statistics, income, birthplace, language spoken at home, religion, education, qualification, labour force, industry, occupation, method of travel to work, income, family type, dwelling, occupancy, rent, loan repayments
Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop. Australian content
 
CLIB2001
Contains the following data about Australia: demographic, population, social statistics, income, birthplace, language spoken at home, religion, education, qualification, labour force, industry, occupation, method of travel to work, income, family type, dwelling, occupancy, rent, loan repayments
Available in all Libraries Australian content
 
Clinical Evidence via BMJ (2001 - present)
BMJ Clinical Evidence reviews the current state of knowledge and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of clinical conditions, based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature and describes the best available evidence from systematic reviews, RCTs, and observational studies where appropriate.
Terms & conditions

User Guide
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials via OvidSP
New Ovid search interface
References to controlled trials in health care. Contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration follow quality control standards to ensure that only reports of definite randomized controlled trials or controlled clinical trials are included. These records are identified through a combination of handsearching and database searching.
Terms & conditions
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews via OvidSP
Full-text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration. Topics covered include clinical medical information and subject reviews.
Terms & Conditions
Cochrane Library
A reliable source of up-to-date information and evidence based studies designed to support decisions taken in health care.
Guide
Collins COBUILD Advanced Learner's English Dictionary
Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.
 
Comdisdome : Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome via CSA
A useful source for speech-language pathologists, audiologists, and students in the field of Communication Sciences and Disorders.
Terms & conditions
Commonwealth Law Reports, Federal Law Reports, Federal Court Reports via Lawbook Online Australian content  
Commonwealth Numbered Statutes
Contains the full text of legislation - acts and regulations within Australia
Available at the Law Library Australian content
 
Communication and Mass Media Complete via Ebsco (1915-present)
References articles, conference papers, magazines and books in media studies, journalism, publishing, public relations and related disciplines. Useful for locating academic journals in media and communications.
Terms & conditions
Company and Business Law
Contains the full text of legislation - acts and regulations within Australia
Available at the Law Library Australian content
 
Company Prospetuses via Connect4, (1994 - present)
Initial Public Offerings which have been lodged with the Australian Stock Exchange within a calendar year are provided from 1994 onwards. Also provided are all rights issues with a capital raising amount of $5M or greater. Successfully listed companies as well as Withdrawn offers are included. Australian content
 
Compendex via Engineering Village (1884 - present)
Comprehensive database of engineering research literature, containing engineering journals and conferences. Subject coverage: all engineering disciplines, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communication.

User Guide
Conference Papers Index via CSA
A useful resource for finding conference papers as these are not generally included in other databases. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
Terms & conditions

Help
Connect4
Australian Company Information. (USYD subscriptions indicated with a red star). Includes Annual Reports(publicly listed companies) 2003 - present, Boardroom (senior salary packages), Company Prospectuses 1994- present, Mergers & Acquisitions, New Issues, & Takeovers 1997 - present. Australian content
  Terms & conditions
CSA Illumina databases
Contains a large number of databases related to the environment, marine life, oceanography, social sciences, economics and politics. Individual databases need to be opened in order to search them.

Terms & conditions Help
CSI: Consumer Science Index via Informit Online (1988 - 31 June 2001)
Indexes articles from published material on consumer economics and related fields. Subject coverage includes children, clothing, consumer economics, consumer education, craft, family, fashion, food, health, home economics teaching, housing, marriage, nutrition and textiles. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
CumInCAD : Cumulative Index of Computer Aided Architectural Design (1962-present)
Covers computer aided architectural design, and is useful for design computing students. Requires a Password for full text
Helpsheet
CurrentContents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge (1998 - present)

CCC is a cross-disciplinary alerting service. It provides table of contents and article information from journals of your choice. It is a quick and easy way of keeping up to date with material published in your subject area.
Terms & conditions

CCC Tutorial

Recorded Training Session
Current Index to Statistics: CIS
CIS is the major indexing and abstracting database in statistics and probability. The material covered includes references to journal articles, books and edited books, conference proceedings and book and software reviews.
 
Current Law Cases
A digest of summaries of UK cases, focussing on changes to UK law
Register for password.
 
Current Legal Information
including Legal Journals Index and Current Law Cases. Covers English and European law journals.
Register for password.
 
Current Protocols via Wiley Interscience
Access to Current Protocols in Cell Biology, Current Protocols in Cytometry, Current Protocols in Human Genetics, Current Protocols in Molecular Biology and Current Protocols in Protein Science only.
Terms & conditions

Back to top