` Databases beginning G, University of Sydney Library

G

Ask A Librarian
Database name  
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full text of academic encyclopedias on wide range of subjects such as ethics, history, religion, health sciences, & social sciences. Search across the collection from this page, or access the titles individually in the online catalogue.
Terms & conditions
Gale's quotations : who said what.
Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.
 
Geobase via Engineering Village (1980-present)
Covers physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology, and development studies.
 
GeoRef via CSA (1693 - present)
Georef is the most comprehensive database for Geosciences. It overs the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Georef is also available through GeoscienceWorld.
Note: Also search GeoRef's In Process for records not yet completely indexed, and GeoRef Preview for the new, unedited references.

Terms & conditions
GeoScienceWorld
Delivers aggregated journal content of 6 leading earth science societies. You can also search GeoRef simultaneously.

Search Help

GIBLIN: Giblin Working Papers via Informit Online (1990 - Oct 2006)
A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts working papers on economics and business topics. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Global Books in Print
Global Books in Print contains bibliographic information on publications from Australia, New Zealand, Europe and North America.
Terms & conditions
Global Development Finance
World Bank statistical database relating to international finance in developing countries, especially debt.
Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.
 
GMID : Global Market Information Database via Euromonitor
Key business intelligence on countries, markets and companies as well as historical statistics and forecasts, analysis of consumers' lifestyles, company profiles and full-text market analysis
 
Goethes Werke auf CD-ROM
" ... supplemented by material not found in the Weimar edition, namely Goethes Gespräche, edited by Woldemar Freiherr von Biedermann (Leipzig, 1889-1896) and all the letters discovered since the completion of the Weimar edition: Goethes Werke, Nachträge zur Weimarer Ausgage, edited by Paul Raabe (München, 1990)"
Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.
 
Goldsmith's Kress library of economic literature catalog.
Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.
 
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine. Also useful for links to references which cite other academic articles. Using this link via the Library website means you can get the full-text of articles in journals to which the Library subscribes.
 
GrantSearch
GrantSearch is Australia's original and most comprehensive index of grant opportunities. Australian content
 
Grazfeed
Grazfeed allows the calculation of the energy and protein requirements of sheep and cattle grazing a particular pasture or lot feed.
Available at Badham and Camden Libraries. Australian content
 
GreenFILE via Ebsco
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Terms & conditions
Grove Art Online via Oxford Art Online
Useful for quick information on artists, art movements and the visual arts in general. Also includes links to images in external web sites.

Terms & conditions
Grove Music Online
Comprises the full-text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition.
Full-text search is possible. Includes illustrations and sound samples.
Terms & conditions

Back to top