M

Ask A Librarian
Database name  
Macquarie Dictionary
Alumni access
Search the Macquarie Dictionary Fourth Edition - Australia's national dictionary and thesaurus. The Macquarie Dictionary is constantly updated with new words as they enter our language.
  Terms & conditions
MacquarieNet: Australia's Online Reference Library
Includes interactive maps of Indigenous Australia and census data. Although primarily aimed at school students, it contains numerous Australian Studies resources. Australian content
 
MAIS: Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies via Informit Online (1988-present)
Covers immigration and multicultural issues, including ethnicity, racism, refugees, and resettlement issues. Compiled by the Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs Library. References articles and other published and unpublished material. Australian content
Terms & conditions
MAIS-ATSIS Informit Online (1988 - present)
MAIS-ATSIS : Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies via Covers multicultural issues that specifically relate to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and is produced by the Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs Library. References articles and other published and unpublished material. Australian content

Terms & conditions
Maternity and Infant Care via OvidSP (1971 - present)
Indexes journals, books, and grey literature relating to the midwifery profession, pregnancy, labor, birth, postnatal care, and neonatal care and the first year of an infant’s life.
 
MathSciNet (1940-present)
MathSciNet ss the equivalent of the print publications Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications Produced by the American Mathematical Society. The main subject areas covered are pure and applied mathematics, statistics and computer science.

Terms & conditions Helpsheet
MDConsult
MDConsult consists of cross searchable full text medical reference books and full text medical journals and clinics. Daily drug updates 6,500 customizable patient handouts and peer-reviewed clinical practice guidelines are also available.
Terms & conditions
MedicinesComplete (2006 - present)
Access to several major resources in pharmacy and pharmacology.
Terms & conditions
MEDGE: Management and Environment Information via Informit Online (1985 - 2006)
Indexes articles on management issues for business and government; including international economies, the Australian economy, strategic and financial management, TQM, human resources, marketing, materials handling, innovation; and environmental management, such as recycling and litter control material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Australian content

Terms & conditions Helpsheet
Mediascan via Informit Online (1991 - present)
Mediascan covers the major stories across a range of Australian newspapers. Good for locating cartoons on specific topics. Australian content

Terms & conditions
Medieval Travel Writing
The full-text and images of European travel writing manuscripts from the later medieval period, with a focus on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia.
Terms & conditions
Meditext via Informit Online (1968 - present)
Australian literature on all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Full text available from 1995.
Terms & conditions
Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
New Ovid search interface
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine´s premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the preclinical sciences, health administration, and the health care system.
For the most up-to-date references also check PREMEDLINE. This is the National Library of Medicine's in-process database for Medline, new references are added daily. It provides basic information and abstracts before a record is indexed (ie. given subject headings) and added to MEDLINE. Medline Reload News
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
Medline via Web of Knowledge 1950-

Contains citations to articles on topics such as clinical medicine, biomedicine, allied health, biological and physical sciences. Content is identical to Medline via OvidSP.
Helpsheet
Medline - DIRECT Delivery Option for Postgraduates and Academic Staff only
Use Medline - DIRECT to request articles from Document Delivery.
Terms & conditions
Medline Daily Update via OvidSP (last 7 days)
New Ovid search interface
Medline Daily Update is a rolling 7-day file of the records most recently loaded into Medline.
Terms & conditions
Mental Measurements Yearbook via OvidSP
New Ovid search interface
Mental Measurements Yearbook Contains full text information about and reviews of all english language standardized test. Covers educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology and related areas. Only one user permitted at a time so if you get a busy message please logoff and try again later. Be sure to click Logoff at the end of your session.
Terms & conditions
Mergers & Acquisitions via Connect4
Mergers & Acquisitions offers the Parts A and B (or) Parts C and D statements - the Bidder, Bidder-On Market, Target, Target-On Marker statements associated with mergers and takeovers in Australia. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Middle English Compendium
Access to three major Middle English electronic resources, - Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.

Terms & conditions
MIHILIST:Australasian Military History via Informit Online (1987 - Aug 1999)

References to articles and books on pre-1980 Australian, New Zealand and Papua-New Guinean military history and related topics.
Australian content

Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
MIMS Online
Australia's most comprehensive and authoritative pharmaceutical database. Provides full information on prescription and non-prescription drugs. Full colour product identification pictures are available. Australian content
Terms & conditions
MLA: Modern Languages Association International Bibliography via Ebsco (1890s - present)
References to scholarly works on literature, literary theory and criticism, genres, linguistics and folklore, in English, French, German, Italian and other languages.
Terms & conditions
MLA Directory of Periodicals via Ebsco
Contains information on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
Terms & conditions
Motif Index of Folk Literature
Stith Thompson’s classification of narrative elements in folktales, ballads, myths, fables, mediaeval romances, example, fabliaux, jest-books and local legends.

Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.
 
Mura the AIATSIS Catalogue
Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Islander Studies(AIATSIS) catalogue of Library and audiovisual material. The catalogue covers many aspects of Indigenous Australian studies and includes both published and unpublished material. The catalogue provides information on the accessibilty of material held in the Library. Australian content
 
MusicAustralia
Find music scores, sound recordings, websites and a range of other music-related material held by a large number of Australia's cultural institutions or described by specialist music services. Both heritage and contemporary music are covered. Australian content
 
Music Index (1973 - present)
Indexes book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
 

Back to top