P

Database name  
PAIS : Public Affairs Information Service via Proquest (1972 - present)
Good place to look for local and international resources on contemporary social, economic and political issues. APA-FT also covers Australian government papers and journals. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Palgrave Connect ebooks
Access to all books on Palgrave Connect published from 2000
Terms & conditions
Parramatta Rail Link
Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop. Australian content
 
Passport GMID now replaced by Marketline and WARC: World Advertising Research Centre  
Past Masters
Originally created by the InteLex Corporation, PAST MASTERS is a collection of full-text electronic editions in philosophy. The series also includes significant collections in political thought, religious studies, sociology, literature, the history of science, economics, and classics.
Patrologia Latina
The "Works of the Latin Fathers" from about AD 200 to AD 1216. It is the complete electronic version of Migne's 1st edition.
Terms & conditions
PCI: Periodical Contents Index
Bibliographic references to journal articles on the humanities and social sciences. Language coverage is international
Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.
 
PDIP: Indonesian Learned Periodicals Database via Informit Online (1980 - April 1998)
Covers pure and applied sciences, physical sciences, humanities and social sciences and is produced Center for Scientific Documentation and Information - Indonesian Institute of Sciences (PDII-LIPI).

Terms & conditions
PDIR: Indonesian Research Report Database via Informit Online (1980 - April 2000)
Covers Indonesian science research reports and survey reports and is produced by the Center for Scientific Documentation and Information - Indonesian Institute of Sciences (PDII-LIPI).

Terms & conditions
PEDro: The Physiotherapy Evidence DataBase
Gives physiotherapists and others rapid access to abstracts and bibliographic details of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality.
 
PEPWeb
Contains many of the major works of psychoanalysis published 1871 - 2006.
 
People's Daily Index 1946-1995 (Ren min ri bao suo yin 1946-1995)
A comprehensive index of the main Chinese official newspaper "Ren min ri bao", first printed on 15 May 1946. Media coverage of national affairs in China and international affairs related to China
Available at East Asian Collection, Level 7, Fisher Library
 
Percussion Orchestrations
A database of Timpani and Percussion requirements for orchestral repertoire.
Terms & conditions
Perseus
An integrated collection of materials, textual and visual, on Greece and Rome.
The CD-Rom is available in SETIS by appointment only.
 
Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700 via Adam Matthews
The goal of the Perdita Project was to identify and describe all manner of writing by early modern women from diaries to works of drama. Perdita Manuscsripts links the detailed catalogue descriptions with complete digital facsimiles of the original manuscripts. The result is a resource which is indispensable for anyone interested in women and women's writing in Early Modern Britain.
Terms & conditions
Pharmaceutical News Index via Proquest (1974 - present)
The database covers pharmacological news, research, and regulatory information. Includes the most important specialized publications in the pharmaceutical, health care, biotechnology, and medical device industries.

Terms & conditions

Quickstart Guide
PHI : Packard Humanities Institute
PHI #5.3 contains Latin literature to AD 200, excluding later writers such as Servius, Porphyry, Zeno and Justinian. It also contains versions of the Bible - King James, RSV, Latin, Vulgate, Septuagint, Hebrew and Coptic New Testament. PHI #7 contains Greek inscriptions from the Greek Epigraphy Project, Greek Papyri from the Duke Data Bank, and Coptic & Nag Hammadi writings. Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop. Instructions:
  • Click on the "Musaios - TLG" icon.
  • When prompted for a password, click on "OK".
  • Click on the "File" command to select CDROM: PHI7
  • Click on the "Search" command then highlight "Create Search Specification" to begin a search.
 
Philosopher's Index via OvidSP (1940's - present)
References to scholarly books, journals and proceedings on all areas of Philosophy.
 
Pidgeon Digital (1979-present)
Recordings of illustrated talks by architects and designers.
 
PILOTS Database via Proquest (1871 - present)
The goal of PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) is to to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
Terms & conditions
Plant Science via Proquest (1994 - present)
International database focussing on the plant sciences and includes turf management, horticulture and plant breeding.
Terms & conditions
Plantwise Knowledge Bank
With diagnostic tools, treatment advice and pest distribution information, the Knowledge Bank was designed to support those involved in plant health in developing countries, especially plant doctors. However, as this information is of value to a wide range of users we also invite all working in plant health across the world to access the resource. This is a free resource from CABI.
 
Portland Press
Access to 5 Biochemical Society titles.

Terms & conditions

Pre-Medline via OvidSP

This is the in-process database for Medline. It provides basic information and abstracts before a record is indexed with MESH headings and added to Medline.
 
Premium Pharmacy Collection, LWW Health Library
The Premium Pharmacy Collection provides access to eBooks published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins on medicinal chemistry, compounding, and pharmacokinetics. It also includes cases, procedures, images and other curricular materials used in the medical school curriculum. Some popular titles included are: Rowland & Tozer: Clinical pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics; Lemke: Foye's principles of medicinal chemistry; Sinko: Martin's physical pharmacy and pharmaceutical sciences; Allen: Ansel's pharmaceutical dosage forms and drug delivery systems and Lieberman: Marks' basic medical biochemistry.
Terms & conditions
Prime Notes
Prime Notes Comprehensive fact sheets on Australian agriculture from the Australian federal and state government departments.
Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop. Australian content
 
Project Muse
Full text journal database useful for multidisciplinary research in arts, social sciences and humanities.
Terms & conditions
Proquest ANZ Newsstand
ANZ Newsstand includes newspapers published by Fairfax Australia, News Ltd, Fairfax New Zealand, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts. Key titles: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Quick Start Guide
Proquest Arts Research
Search a number of Arts & Humanities databases together (including ArtBibliographies Modern, DAAI, Music, Performing Arts, Newspapers and Theses) and retrieve many full-text articles.
Terms & conditions

Quick Start Guide
ProQuest Asian Business via ProQuest 5000 (1971 - present)
Find the latest business and financial news from the Eastern Hemisphere. Covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications including Far Eastern Economic Review, Asiaweek, and many more.
Terms & conditions

Quickstart Guide
Proquest Central
All Proquest, including ebrary ebooks
A very large multidisciplinary service including multiple databases. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively including business and economics, social sciences , news and world affairs, technology, health and medical, and more.
Access for Alumni
Terms & conditions

Quick Start Guide
ProQuest Computing via Proquest 5000 (1998 - present)
Top computing journals in full-text for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, the Internet, Technology management. Coverage includes not just product reviews but other types of articles. Updated daily.
Terms & conditions

Quickstart Guide
Proquest Dissertation & Theses Full Text
Full text available from 1997 - present
An authoritative source for doctoral dissertations and master's theses, particularly North American. Useful for finding theses in your area of research.
Note: Very large files; may be slow to download off-campus.
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
Proquest Education journals
Proquest Education journals collection includes leading journals in education.
Terms & conditions
ProQuest European Business via Proquest 5000 (1971 - present)
Find the latest European business and financial information. Includes quality resources such as The Economist, Fortune, European Business Journal, and many more.

Terms & conditions

Quickstart Guide
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete via Proquest 5000
ProQuest Health & Medical Complete is designed to serve a wide range of people who need health information--from hospital administrators to medical professionals to consumers. The database covers more than 380 leading health journals and includes thousands of complete articles.
Terms & conditions
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (search all)
Contains the full text and full image articles from major American newspapers:

Chicago Tribune (April 23 1849 - Dec 31 1986)
The New York Times (Sept 18 1851 - Dec 31 2006)
The Wall Street Journal (July 8 1889 - Dec 30 1992)

ProQuest's historical collections cannot be searched in combination with their current collections.
Terms & conditions
Proquest Military
Search a comprehensive collection of material on military subjects such as defense, aeronautics and space flight, civil engineering, political science, and more.
Terms & conditions
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health
Includes eJournals, Evidence-Based Resources from the Joanna Briggs Institute, and the Medcom Video Training Programs Collection
Terms & conditions

Quick Start Guide
Proquest Psychology Journals
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Can also be searched as part of Proquest Central.
Terms & conditions
Proquest Religious Periodicals via Proquest 5000 (1986 - present)
Coverage of religious affairs and religious thinking from the top periodicals

Terms & conditions
Proquest Research Library
Search on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
Terms & conditions
ProQuest Science Journals via Proquest 5000
Search a collection of full text journals covering the applied and general sciences.
Terms & conditions

Quickstart Guide
ProQuest Social Science Journals
Search a collection of full text journals covering the social sciences.
Terms & conditions

Quickstart Guide
ProQuest Telecommunications via Proquest 5000 (1995 - present)
Search the full text of top telecommunications industry publications. Includes magazines, journals, and newsletters for the latest in this fast changing industry.
Terms & conditions

Quickstart Guide
PsychiatryOnline
PsychiatryOnline features DSM-IV-TR and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including ejournals and self-asssessment tools.
Terms & conditions
PsycARTICLES via OvidSP
PsycARTICLES is a full-text database of journal articles produced by the American Psychological Association. From the search screen tick the PsycARTICLES limit box.
Terms & conditions
PsycBITE
Contains published evidence-based empirical reports on the effectiveness of non-pharmacological interventions for the psychological consequences of acquired brain impairment.
 
PsycBOOKS via OvidSP
PsycBOOKS is a full-text database of books and chapters produced by the American Psychological Association.
Terms & conditions
PsycCRITIQUES via OvidSP
PsycCRITIQUES is a full-text database of book reviews produced by the American Psychological Association. Films, software and other media are also reviewed.
Terms & conditions
PsycINFO via OvidSP (1806-present)
The major database for Psychology produced by the American Psychological Association. It contains bibliographic references and abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and technical reports. Source material comes from a wide range of languages. Contains links to selected full text. Covers psychology: social, clinical, cognitive and neuropsychology; psychiatry, sociology, anthropology and education.
9/7/2013: If you are unable to export 999 records from PsycINFO, it is most likely due to the large size of cited references in some of the records. Use the "Select fields to display > Custom fields" option, & exclude the "Cited References" field. It will then export all 999 records.
Terms & conditions
Psychology @ OvidSP Cross-search
Search PsycINFO, PsycBOOKS, PsycARTICLES, and PsycCRITIQUES @ Ovid simultaneously.
Terms & conditions
PsycTESTS
PsycTESTS provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test, its development and administration.
Terms & conditions
PubMed
PubMed for handhelds
National Library of Medicine's free online public access to Medline. See also Medline (OvidSP)
The University of Sydney Library's filter doesn't display?
Click here to clear old Pubmed cookie first, then click your browser's Back button.
Tutorial

Back to top