S

Database name  
SAE TechSelect
Technical papers from The Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) from 1998 -present.
Note: Technical Papers are available on request from library.sae@sydney.edu.au Your request must be sent from your university email account.
You cannot access current standards from the database, you need to request them via email.
Terms & conditions
Safari Tech Books Online
A collection of online computing and technical books for programmers and IT professionals.
Terms & conditions

User Guide
SafetyLit: Injury Prevention Literature
A free site which indexes scholarly research about all aspects of injury prevention.
Terms & conditions
SAGE - Science And Geography Education via Informit Online (1990 - present)
Indexes popular journals on a broad range of subjects, although the scientices are most heavily represented, including: Agriculture, Archaeology, Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Ethics, Geography, Natural History, Physics, Sustainability and Zoology. SAGE began as part of CSIRO's commitment to the effective dissemination of the results of scientific research. Australian content
  Terms & conditions
Sage Journals Online
Access to Sage Full-text Collections and other ejournals.
Terms & conditions
SCANfile via Informit Online (1978 - present)
Subject coverage includes all aspects of human resource management, S&T (science & technology) and R&D (research & development) management, social and economic implications of scientific innovation, science and technology policy, planning and evaluation, and technology transfer. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
ScienceDirect
Searchable full-text journals from Elsevier publishers. A good generic database covering all subjects.
 
Terms & conditions

SciFinder Web Version

Note: New users must register before using the web version. Your UniKey login is required for registration.

International chemistry journal articles, conferences, books, reports, patents within the Chemical Abstracts database; Chemical Abstracts from 1907, and Medline from 1966. Subject coverage includes chemical engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacy, pharmacology, agricultural chemistry, food science and medicine.
This database can only be used by staff and students of the University of Sydney.
Note: Google Chrome not supported. Scifinder System Requirements
More info

How to Guides

Tutorials
Scopus
Internet Explorer 11 not supported, use alternative browser
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Interactive Tutorials
Scripta Sinica (Han ji dian zi wen xian zi liao ku漢籍電子文獻資料庫)
The Scripta Sinica database contains almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history (内容包括經,史,子,集四部,其中以史部为主, 經,子,集部为輔)
 
SIAL: Serials in Australian Libraries & ILRS: Australian Interlibrary Resource Sharing Directory via Informit Online
A bibliographic database that lists locations for 415,700+ serials held in Australian libraries. Australian content

Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
SGI-Line : Swedish Geotechnical Institute (1976 - present)
Contains journal articles, conference proceedings, books, technical reports, patents and building codes. Subjects include foundation and reinforcement, soil and rock mechanics, properties of soil and rock, site investigations, environmental geotechnics, geology, energy, snow & ice mechanics and building materials.
 
Shakespeare
Shakespeare Access to major editions and adaptations of Shakespeare including the First Foli (1623) and Bell's acting editon of plays (1774).
 
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Access to annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced from 1971.

Terms & conditions

 
Science Journals via Proquest
A collection of full text journals covering the applied and general sciences.

Terms & conditions

Quickstart Guide
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
Includes extensive coverage of topics such as the African Coast; the Middle Passage; the varieties of slave experience (urban, domestic, industrial, farm, ranch and plantation); Spiritualism and Religion; Resistance and Revolts; the Underground Railroad; the Abolition Movement; Legislation; Education; the Legacy of Slavery and Slavery Today.
Terms & conditions
SnapShot Series
The Snapshot International Group Series of 4,600 reports is designed to provide an instant overview of a market, and the data is supplied in both graphical and tabular format for ease of interpretation and analysis. All data is compiled in house by Snapdata.
Terms & conditions
SNIPER: Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource via Informit Online (2000 - present)
Covers issues in intellectual property such as patents, trade marks and designs, copyright, plant breeder's rights and domain names Australian content.

Terms & conditions

Sniper Subjects thesaurus
Sniper Names thesaurus
Social Science Journals via Proquest
This collection of journals from a variety of publishers. Disciplines covered include addiction studies, gerontology, econometrics, international relations, minority studies, urban studies, and more.
 
Social Services Abstracts via Proquest (1980- present)
Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Terms & conditions
Social Work Abstracts via OvidSP (1977- present)
Access to articles, conference papers, books and web resources on social work, social policy, child, family and community welfare, and other related policy and legislative issues.

Terms & conditions

Social Theory
Brings together an extensive range of influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day.
Terms & conditions
Socio-Economic Index For Areas (SEIFA)
This consists of four indexes developed to summarise different aspects of socio-economic conditions of the Australian population. Indexes are available for advantage/disadvantage, disadvantage, economic resources and education & occupation. Please use CDATA -only available on Library workstations in the Additional resources folder on the desktop.
Australian content
 
Sociological Abstracts via Proquest (1952 - present)
International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Terms & conditions

SourceOECD
Now OECD iLibrary
Full-text for all OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) publications, including documents, periodicals and statistical databases.
 
Spatial information exchange (SIX)
The official site of NSW geospatial information with the most comprehensive, accurate and reliable spatial data for New South Wales.
To download the SIX viewer for PC: http://imagery.maps.nsw.gov.au/
To download the SIX viewer for Mac: http://lite.maps.nsw.gov.au/
 `
speechBITE
Provides open access to a catalogue of Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy across the scope of Speech Pathology practice.
 
SPIE Digital Library journals (1962 - present)
The SPIE Digital Library collection covers optics & photonics applied research spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defence and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging. Includes proceedings and journals - ebooks are not included in our subscription.
Terms & conditions
Sport Discus via Ebsco
References to articles in all major sports, sports physiology, sports medicine and psychology journals as well as fitness and exercise related sources. At present the database contains nearly 425,000 items and adds over 22,000 records annually. Includes information about turf management topics.

Terms & conditions

SpringerLink Access to the Springer ejournal collection.

Springer Protocols
Contains peer reviewed laboratory research protocols, dealing principally with topics in molecular biology and biomedicine. Also available in the Library catalogue .
Terms & conditions

Quick guide
Standards Australia: Australian Standards Online
Full text access to the complete collection of current Australian Standards, Draft Standards, and handbooks (excluding Standards and handbooks with joint copyright).
(Access to all Australian Standards, 43 ISO Standards, 2 EN Standards Only)
To access/unlock any non-subscribed Standards, please contact your Faculty Liaison Librarian. To "unlock a Standard" means to submit a print purchase request to the Library; it will not provide online access.
Please remember to Logout! Australian content
Terms & conditions
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy  
STREAMLINE: Australia's Natural Resources Database via Informit Online (1982 - present)
Subjects cover the sustainable management of land, vegetation and water resources, including urban water and wastewater and irrigation systems. Australian content
Australian content

Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
Summon
Summon searches the University of Sydney Library collections, including our print, audiovisual and electronic collections - journal articles, books, citations from bibliographic databases, and audio & video items, plus material in the Sydney eScholarship repository.
Search Tips
Swetswise
Swetswise hosts electronic journals for a range of publishers, including the journals published by members of The Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers (ALPSP). Access to full text is only for titles to which the Library has a subscription.
 
Terms & conditions

Sydney Morning Herald Archive (1955-1990)
Freely available index to the newspaper. click on the "Browse and search the 1955-1990 archive for FREE" link. This site requires payment to view the full text, so use the microfilm copy of the SMH (1842-present) in Fisher Audiovisual MIC 079.9941 11, Factiva (1986-present), or Proquest Newsstand databases to obtain the full text.
Australian content
 
Sydney College of the Arts Archive
The SCA Archive is a unique collection of contemporary visual art that showcases the scholarly research of SCA staff, students and alumni.
One of the digital collections developed by the Library in partnership. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Sydney eScholarship Journals online
Journals online was setup to facilitate the authoring, editing, publishing and archiving of a selection of the University of Sydney Journals, conferences and associations. This is done by utilising the Open Journal System, which is an open source journal management and publishing software developed, supported, and freely distributed by the Public Knowledge Project under the GNU General Public License.
One of the digital collections developed by the Library in partnership. Australian content
 
Sydney eScholarship Repository
A University of Sydney Library initiative. The service provides a platform for research communities to safely store, and provide online access to documents and data. It archives a wide range of significant university publications, forming a core global resource for today's researchers and those of future generations.
One of the digital collections developed by the Library in partnership. Australian content
 
Sydney University Press
Sydney University Press was re-established in 2003 as a scholarly digital and print publisher as an initiative of the University Library. Books can be ordered through Amazon, Google books or direct from the SUP website where books are printed and dispatched as required.
One of the digital collections developed by the Library in partnership. Australian content
 
Synthesis Digital library of Engineering and Computer Science
The Synthesis Digital library of Engineering and Computer Science is composed of electronic lectures authored by an expert in the fields of Engineering and Computing science.
Terms & conditions


Back to top