Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Dentistry Databases



Return to Dentistry Guide

Key databases for Dentistry  
Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
The U.S. National Library of Medicine´s premier bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the preclinical sciences, health administration, and the health care system. Medline is the primary database for dentistry.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
Embase.com (1966 - present)
A major bibliographic database produced by Elsevier in The Netherlands. It has extensive coverage of pharmacy and pharmacology, toxicology, clinical and experimental medicine, biological sciences, biotechnology and biomedical engineering, health policy and management, as well as dentistry. It focuses on drug research and pharmacology, but has a selective coverage of dental journals. Whilst there is some overlap in the coverage of Medline and Embase.com, it is worth searching Embase separately to ensure that all possible references are retrieved.
Terms & conditions

Video Tutorials

Quick Reference Guide
EBM Reviews: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews via OvidSP
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews on the effects of health care prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration.
Terms & Conditions
Health Collection - search via Informit Online
Health Collection - browse titles
A full-text allied health database. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. Australian content
Terms & conditions
MDConsult
A collection of e-books in the medical sciences that is fully searchable. The dental collection consists of 8 textbooks covering oral pathology, treatment planning, implant dentistry, esthetic dentistry, dental pharmacology, and endodontics.
Terms & Conditions
STAT!Ref
Includes more than 34 full-text resources in the areas of medicine, pharmacy, health sciences and dentistry. The Stat!Ref collection is fully cross-searchable, the dental collection consisting of 17 titles covering oral medicine, periodontology, preventive dentistry, operative dentistry, endodontics, oral and maxillofacial pathology, oral and maxillofacial surgery, clinical dentistry, orthodontics, dental materials, orofacial pain, and oral medicine.
Find Stat!ref titles
Scopus
A large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas, and provides access to scientific websites via Scirus.
Terms & Conditions

Interactive Tutorials
Web of Science via Web of Knowledge
One of the largest Scientific databases, providing access to current and retrospective information from high impact research journals. It also provides citation analysis of authors, journals and subject areas. Web of Science is especially useful in tracking a particularly relevant citation, allowing you to see who has cited it. It offers a good way of expanding your research.
Terms & Conditions

Tutorial
images.MD
February 2010: Now part of the Medical & Life Science Collection in SpringerImages. If you have image sets saved in Images.MD, click through for information on how to have them emailed to you. This database features more than 48,000 medical images, each accompanied by explanatory text .Fullyy searchable if also includes a section on infectious diseases of the oral cavity. Register to create your own image library with personal notes.
Terms & Conditions

User guide (pdf)
SpringerImages SpringerImages is a collection of scientific images that spans the social sciences and humanities, scientific, technical and medical fields. It includes high-quality clinical images, photos, graphs, histograms, figures, and tables. Jump from the image to the source article if the Library has access to the journal. Users can create personalized image "sets," and can easily export images for use in their own presentations or lectures. Terms & conditions

User guide
More databases useful for Dentistry (A - Z)  
AMH - Australian Medicines Handbook
A reliable, up-to-date, comparative, practical formulary covering most of the drugs marketed in Australia published on behalf of ASCEPT, the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia and the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners. Australian content
 
anatomy.tv
Human anatomy in 3D. Complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips.
"Bad Request (Invalid Verb)" error message workaround:
Edit the URL in the address bar of your browser. Change http://www.anatomy.tv.ezproxy2.library.usyd.edu.au to http://www.anatomy.tv.ezproxy1.library.usyd.edu.au, or vice versa, then press Enter on your keyboard.

Terms & Conditions
APAIS-Health : Australian Public Affairs Information Service - Health via Informit Online (1978 - present)
Covers health and medicine in Australia, in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)
BIOSIS Previews via Web of Knowledge (1926 - present)
Covers life sciences and biomedical research worldwide including: journals, meetings, patents, and books.
Terms & Conditions
Catalyst
Important: Logout out of Catalyst and if you link through to Martindale, close its window when finished.
Catalyst provides quick, easy access to the popular AusDI Independent Drug Monographs, pharmaceutical company product information (PI), consumer medicine information (CMI) leaflets, drug product images, a product identifier module with convenient links to your choice of drug interaction system(s). The Australian independent drug monographs, originally published in the popular AusDI product, include full-text, evidence-based drug and drug-class monographs. Australian content
 
Cinahl via Ebsco (1982 - present)
A major resource for allied health professionals and nurses with coverage of allied health, management, behavioural sciences, biomedicine, dentistry, and education.
Searching Cinahl

Searching CINAHL (iResearch)
Cochrane Library via Wiley Interscience
A collection of evidence-based databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence used to make informed decision-making in the provision of healthcare. In addition to the Cochrane reviews, it provides other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials. All material is full-text.
 
Compendex via Engineering Village (1884 - present)
Comprehensive database of engineering research literature, containing engineering journals and conferences. Subject coverage: all engineering disciplines, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communication. It would be useful for finding information on biomaterials and their uses in dental implants.
Terms & conditions

Search Tips
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge (1998 - present)
A quick and easy way of keeping up to date. Coverage includes clinical medicine, science, social science, arts and humanities.
Terms & Conditions
eTG Complete (Therapeutic Guidelines)
The recommendations in the Australian Therapeutic Guidelines are based on the latest international literature, interpreted by Australian experts, and aim to represent the essence of current available evidence for the management of patients with specific conditions. eTG includes an Oral and Dental subsection, that provides up to date information on treating periodontal disease and providing pain management. Australian content
 
Factiva.com
Full-text news, commentary, pictures and media transcripts from Australian and overseas media sources. Factiva.com is a useful resource for locating information about dentistry appearing in the news media.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage.
 
Health & Society : Health & Society Database via Informit online (1980 to present)
Covers health policy and services and the social, psychological, legal and ethical issues associated with health that are of direct importance to Australian people and families. Australian content
Terms & Conditions (pdf)
INSPEC via OvidSP (1969 - present)
Subject coverage: physics, electronics, communications, electrical engineering, control engineering, information technology, computers, control engineering, computing, environmental science, manufacturing, health and safety. It would be useful for finding information on biomaterials and their uses in dental implants.
Terms & Conditions
Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge (2000 - present)
Discover analytical information on selected journals such as impact factor and citation frequency. JCR is a useful tool to use when deciding on which journals you should submit your papers to.
Terms & Conditions
MIMS Online
Important: please close your browser down to end your MIMS session & enable other users to access MIMS.
An Australian pharmaceutical database, offering access to information on prescription and non-prescription drugs.

Also try Catalyst, a generic-based drug information resource. It covers a very comprehensive range of drugs including many over the counter (OTC) and hospital use only products. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
PubMed
PubMed for handhelds
Provides access to around 9 million records drawn primarily from the MEDLINE database and some citations to articles that are not indexed by Medline primarily some general science, general chemistry journals, and some life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral® and may not yet have been recommended for inclusion in MEDLINE and some physics journals that were part of a prototype PubMed in the early to mid-1990's. See also Medline via OvidSP.
 
Web of Knowledge via ISI Web of Knowledge
This portal hosts Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, and via the Additional Resources tab, Journal Citation Reports. Its CrossSearch feature enables a "quick overview" search of these databases and also searches Agricola and Pubmed.
Terms & Conditions

Recorded training

Back to top