Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Development Studies Databases



Return to Development Studies Guide

Key databases for Development Studies  
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Textvia Informit Online (1978 - present)
References journal articles and other published material in the social & political sciences. Indexes literature on many aspects of development in Asia and the Pacific. Selected full-text from 1994/1995. Australian content
Terms &amp Conditions (pdf)
World Wide Political Science Abstractsvia Proquest (1975 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources in Political science and other related social science disciplines. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in Sociology.
Terms & Conditions

Sociological Abstracts(1952 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on sociology, anthropology, development studies and other related social science disciplines. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in Anthropology.
Terms & conditions

(pdf)
PAIS : Public Affairs Information Servicevia Proquest (1972-present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources in development studies, political science and other related social science disciplines. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in development studies.
Terms & Conditions
Anthropology Plus(Late 19th century-present)
References journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works in development and anthropology.
 
JSTOR
Full-text for major journals in the Social Sciences, Education and African and Asian Studies. Latest five years are not available.
Terms & conditions
Web of Sciencevia ISI Web of Knowledge
Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities citation indexes, useful for citation and subject searching for articles, books and reviews in the social sciences and related disciplines. Allows the identification of key articles in a discipline.
Terms & conditions

Help
Proquest Central (formerly Proquest 5000)
Multiple databases covering disciplines within the Social Sciences. Also includes a digitised collection of dissertations & theses.
Terms & conditions

Help (pdf)
CAB Abstracts Databasevia ISI Web of Knowledge (1973 - present)
References articles, books, conference proceedings and reports in environmental, rural & development studies.
Terms & Conditions

Help
Google Scholar
Searches academic information on the internet. May also allow access to publications to which the University of Sydney Library subscribes.
 
News databases for Development Studies  
Factiva
Full-text news, commentary, pictures and media transcripts from over 8,000 overseas and Australian news media sources.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage.
Help (pdf)
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
World News Connectionvia Dialog
Compiled by the United States Foreign Broadcasting Information Service (FBIS) from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Material is translated and either an extract, or the full publications is available from the database.
Terms & Conditions

Help
Statistical Sources for Development Studies  
World Bank Open Data (1960 -)
Includes World Bank Development Indicators: 900 indicators organised in six sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links. Click Data Catalog > Databank.
Terms & conditions
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australia's official statistical organisation. Freely available data for social, health, economic and demographic research and census data for 1996-2006. Links to other statistical agencies via the ABS subject themes page. Australian content
 
OECD iLibrary
Full-text for all OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) publications, including documents, periodicals and statistical databases.
Terms & conditions

Getting started [pdf]
More databases useful for Development Studies (A - Z)  
Asia-Studies Full-text currently unavailable
Full-text reports and articles on social, economic, environmental, political and development issues in Asia, Australia/New Zealand, the Americas Pacific Rim countries, and the Pacific islands. Many reports include graphs, tables and statistics.
Help (pdf)
BAS : Bibliography of Asian Studies(1971 - present)
References primarily western-language articles and book chapters on social sciences and humanities research pertaining to all parts of Asia.
 
CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online(1991 - present)
Published research on international affairs and development economics from university research institutes, NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, articles and policy briefs.
Help (pdf)
Business Source Premiervia Ebsco (1922 - present)
References research literature on development, financial aid and development projects and programs.
Terms & Conditions

Help
Libraries Australia
Searches the combined catalogues of Australian libraries and also includes Australian Research Repositories Online to the World (ARROW), PictureAustralia, the British Library Catalogue, Consortium of [British] University Research Libraries,Library of Congress Catalogue, and OCLC WorldCat. Australian content
Help

Back to top