Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Digital Cultures Databases



Key databases for Digital Cultures  
ACM Digital Library : Association for Computer Machinery (1985 - present)
Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in Association for Computer Machinery periodicals and proceedings.
Terms and conditions
Sociological Abstracts(1952 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on sociology, social policy and other related social science disciplines. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in Sociology.
Terms & conditions

ABM : ART Bibliographies Modern via Proquest (1970's - present)
References journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catlogues, PhD dissertations, and exhibitions reviews on all forms of contemporary art.
Terms & conditions
Informaworld now Taylor and Francis
Informaworld hosts ebooks and 950 academic peer-reviewed journals across a variety of disciplines, published by Taylor and Francis.
Terms & conditions

JSTOR
Full-text for major journals in the Social and Political Sciences. Latest five years are not available in this database.
Terms & conditions
Taylor and Francis ejournals
Formerly Informaworld. Hosts ebooks and 950 academic peer-reviewed journals across a variety of disciplines, published by Taylor and Francis
Terms & conditions

Worldwide Political Science: WPSA via Proquest
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources in current affairs, political science, media and other disciplines within the social sciences. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in media and social sciences.
Terms & Conditions
Inspec via Ovid (1969 - present)
Subject coverage: physics, electronics, communications, electrical engineering, control engineering, information technology, computers, control engineering, computing, environmental science, manufacturing, health and safety.
 
IEEE Xplore
Provides full text access to high quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
User Guide
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
Terms & conditions
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine. Also useful for links to references which cite other academic articles. Using this link via the library website means you can get the full-text of articles in journals to which the library subscribes.
 
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
An extensive science database with good coverage of computer and other sciences. Use for citation searches and analysis, and complex author, journal and subject searches.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
Factiva
Full text newspaper articles and pictures of over 8,000 international newspaper and newswire publications, from mid-1980s onwards. Excellent for reviews and opinion pieces.


15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage.
User Guide

Quick Search Tips
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Back to top