eBook collections

Search the full-text of our eBooks using these links, or find eBooks by subject heading, book title, or collection name in the catalogue search box below.

Search for eBooks:

Use our online Reference works to find an overview of a topic, look up a notable person, a timeline, a word or a specialist term.


eBook collections by subject grouping: Humanities & Social Sciences   |   Health & Medicine    | Sciences & Technology

eBook collections for the Humanities & Social Sciences  
ACLS Humanities eBook
This is a large collection of full-text Humanities titles offered by the ACLS (American Council of Learned Societies) in collaboration with other societies and publishers.
Terms & conditions
Apabi eBook Collection
This is a collection of eBooks published in China, on different subject areas, in Chinese language. Users can search using Chinese characters.

Apabi allows unlimited copying and pasting of the ebook contents, but printing is not permitted. Apabi Reader is required to view fulltext ebooks. Apabi Reader is free of charge from the Website. Users can choose to view fulltext online for 10 minutes, or borrow for 1 day. A maximum 5 books can be borrowed at a time.
 
Asian Studies Collection from Chandos Publishing
The 49 books in this collection examine the Asian markets and economies from social, economic, managerial, political and cultural perspectives. Individual titles investigate these issues with focus on specific geographic areas, including China, India, Japan, South Korea, Thailand and Vietnam.
Terms & conditions
Blackwell Reference Online
Includes the authoritative Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management, Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, and The International Encyclopedia of Communication plus access to Handbooks and Companions on aspects of management, economics, and econometrics.
Terms & conditions
CAB eBooks
Books on agriculture, tourism, and the environment published by CABI.
 
Cambridge Books Online
Access to a growing number of ebooks. To search only subscribed titles, do an advanced search and tick the Limited to Your Access box.
Terms & conditions
Cambridge Companions Online
Cambridge Companions are lively introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. They contain essays written to appeal to student readers. Together the chapters add up to a systematic critical account of, for example Plato, Luther, Tom Stoppard or Stravinsky, the French Novel or Jewish American Literature.
Access to Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics, and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture, and Companions in Music.
Terms & conditions
Cambridge Histories Online
Provides access to the complete series of Cambridge Histories from Cambridge University Press, browsable by 15 key subject areas including American, British, Economic History, Histories of science, the book, literature, theatre, religion, music, language, and warfare.
Terms & conditions
Dictionary of Australian Artists Online
Constantly being updated, the foundation data focuses predominantly on Colonial artists; women artists to 1950; black and white artists; Aboriginal artists of the Western Desert and the Sydney region.
 
DOE: Dictionary of Old English
Searchable vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language, from the letters A to G.
Terms & conditions
Early Western Korans 1537-1857
Contains all Arabic Koran editions printed in Europe before 1850, as well as all complete translations directly from the Arabic (until about 1860).
See Brill help for advice on fonts
 
EBL
Access to a growing number of ebooks, which may be downloaded to your home computer or tablet via Adobe Digital Editions.
Help with EBL ebooks
ebrary
Access to a growing number of eBooks.
Help using ebrary ebooks

Terms & conditions
EbscoHost eBook Collection
A large number of books covering all subjects, with an emphasis on titles in high demand in the Library
Help

Terms & conditions
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Search the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century
Terms & conditions

EEBO: Early English Books Online 1473 - 1700
EEBO contains facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton.
Terms & conditions

Elgar Online Law ebooks
Written and edited by significant figures in their respective fields, Elgar titles provide comprehensive anaylses of the topics in question. Includes access to Elgar encyclopedias and handbooks.
Terms & conditions
Encyclopedia of Islam, second edition and Encyclopedia of Islam, THREE
The major academic encyclopedia on all aspects of the Islamic World.
Terms & conditions
Encyclopedia of the Qur’¯an
Major encyclopedia containing dictionary terms and extended essays.
Terms & conditions
Informit Online Collections - search
This is an e-press for Australian and Asia-Pacific information. It provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. Australian content
 
Gale Virtual Reference Library
More than 20 encyclopedias covering religious studies, modern history and politics, health and public health, nutrition, popular culture - film, music, fashion, sociology and psychology, life sciences.
Terms & conditions

ISEAS ebooks
To search the ISEAS collection, click the top ISEAS tab, or browse via the left-hand Collections & Category tabs
215 ebooks published by the Institute Of Southeast Asian Studies between 2001 and 2009.
Macquarie Dictionary
Search the Macquarie Dictionary Fourth Edition - Australia's national dictionary and thesaurus. The Macquarie Dictionary is constantly updated with new words as they enter our language.
  Terms & conditions
Margaret Gee's Australian Media Guide
Click the blue Search ConnectWeb Now button to access the guide
Contains detailed information on every major Australian media outlet - from television stations and newspapers, to press agencies. Australian content
Terms & conditions
National Academies Press
Free access to the ebooks published by the U.S. National Academies of Sciences and Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council.
 
New Pauly Online
A standard reference work about the ancient world. Comprehensive coverage from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE). Also covers the reception of the ancient world until the present day, and the history of classical scholarship.
Click Logon to New Pauly Online. Requires download of New Pauly font.
 
OECD iLibrary
Provides access to the full text of all OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) publications and includes statistics and global indicators.
Terms & conditions

OECD iLibrary Getting Started [pdf]
Oxford Art Online
Useful for quick information on artists, art movements and the visual arts in general. Also includes Grove Art Online and provides links to images in external web sites.
Terms & conditions
Oxford English Dictionary
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium.
Add the Oxford English Dictionary search widget to your browser toolbar for quick access
Terms & conditions
Oxford Handbooks Online - Philosophy
The Handbooks discuss the latest thinking in a range of major topics in philosophy. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Terms & conditions
Oxford History of Western Music Online
Online version of the celebrated 6 volume Oxford History of Western Music: a comprehensive reference tool which includes illustrations and 1,800 musical examples.
Terms & conditions
Palgrave Connect ebooks
Access to all books on Palgrave Connect published from 2000, covering Economics & Finance, Business & management, Political & international studies, History, Literature & Performing Arts, Social & Cultural Studies, Language & linguisitics, Religion & Philosophy.
Terms & conditions
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford University Press reference works, on many subjects, including English and bi-lingual dictionaries, a Visual English Dictionary, Maps, the World Encyclopedia, and subject-based dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Add the Oxford Reference Online search widget to your browser toolbar for quick access.
Terms & conditions

Oxford Scholarship Online
More than 1,000 titles published by Oxford University Press, covering Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, Music, Law, and Religion.
Please click Logout when finished
Terms & conditions
RIBA ebook collection
To search the RIBA collection, click the top RIBA tab, or browse via the left-hand Collections & Category tabs
The Royal Institute of British Architecture (RIBA) publishes highly informative and illustrated books focusing on architecture, design and construction, from all over the world. They offer insight into the full cycle of architecture from theory and conception, to guidance on the practical aspects of operating in the industry. RIBA provides full coverage of related subjects such as architectural practice, architects and their work, architectural theory, building regulations, building types, design and interiors, conservation and legal issues.
 
Social Theory
Brings together an extensive range of influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day.
Terms & conditions
Taylor and Francis Online eBook Library
Hundreds of titles covering psychology and psychotherapy, education practice and theory, health and society, medicine and pharmacy
 
eBook collections for Health & Medicine  
ASHP: American Society of Health System Pharmacists ebooks
To search the ASHP collection, click the top ASHP tab, or browse via the left-hand Collections & Category tabs
AccessPharmacy via McGraw Hill (2007 - present)
When finished, please click LOG OUT to enable other users to have access to full text
Access to several major resources in pharmacy and pharmacology.
 
Books@Ovid
Books covering Health and Medicine. Includes the Oxford University Press Brain Science Collection.
(Please Logoff when finished)
Terms & conditions

ClinicalKey
Contains cross-searchable, key resources for the medical sciences. Includes journals, textbooks, reference books, practice guidelines, medical & surgical videos and images.
Terms & conditions

User guide
EBL
Access to a growing number of ebooks, which may be downloaded to your home computer or tablet via Adobe Digital Editions.
Help with EBL ebooks
ebrary
Access to a growing number of eBooks.
Help using ebrary ebooks

Terms & conditions
EbscoHost eBook Collection
A large number of books covering all subjects, with an emphasis on titles in high demand in the Library
Help

Terms & conditions
Health Sciences encyclopedias via Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search Encyclopedia of Aging, Encyclopedia of Bioethics, Encyclopedia of Disability, Encyclopedia of of Public Health, Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior, Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders, Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology, Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying, Nutrition and Well-Being A to Z.
Terms & conditions

MDConsult
Now replaced by ClinicalKey
MDConsult consists of cross searchable full text medical reference books and full text medical journals and clinics. Daily drug updates 6,500 customizable patient handouts and peer-reviewed clinical practice guidelines are also available.
Terms & conditions
Medical Directory of Australia
Search and locate doctors and health facilities nationwide.
Please click Logout when finished.
Terms & conditions
Medical eBooks by topic
Electronic textbooks and dictionaries arranged by topic, by the Medical Library.
 
MedicinesComplete (2006 - present)
Access to several major resources in pharmacy and pharmacology.
Terms & conditions
National Academies Press
Free access to the ebooks published by the U.S. National Academies of Sciences and Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council.
 
Nursing Consult
An integrated online interface to online books, journals, practice guidelines and drug information. Includes excellent resources for differential diagnosis and physical examination.
Terms & conditions
Premium Pharmacy Collection, LWW Health Library
4/4/14:Temporarily unavailable
The Premium Pharmacy Collection provides access to eBooks published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins on medicinal chemistry, compounding, and pharmacokinetics. It also includes cases, procedures, images and other curricular materials used in the medical school curriculum. Some popular titles included are: Rowland & Tozer: Clinical pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics; Lemke: Foye's principles of medicinal chemistry; Sinko: Martin's physical pharmacy and pharmaceutical sciences; Allen: Ansel's pharmaceutical dosage forms and drug delivery systems and Lieberman: Marks' basic medical biochemistry.
Terms & conditions
PsychiatryOnline
Textbooks including Gabbard’s Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders, the American Psychiatric Publishing DSM-IV-TR, Textbook of Psychiatry, Textbook of Psychotherapeutic Treatments, Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry, Textbook of Substance Abuse Treatment, Textbook of Psychopharmacology, and Manual of Clinical Psychopharmacology
Terms & conditions
ScienceDirect Major Reference Works
ScienceDirect Bokos & Book Series
More than 500 books and 20 major encylopedias covering the sciences and medicine. The Library subscribes to the following Book Series: Chemistry, Life Sciences,& Methods in Enzymology, Neuroscience, Veterinary Science, and Veterinary Medicine.
Terms & conditions

Springer Protocols
Contains peer reviewed laboratory research protocols, dealing principally with topics in molecular biology and biomedicine. Also available in the Library catalogue .
Terms & conditions

Quick guide
Taylor and Francis Online eBook Library
Hundreds of titles covering psychology and psychotherapy, education practice and theory, health and society, medicine and pharmacy
 
eBook collections for Sciences & Technology  
ACS Symposium Series
This contains high-quality, peer-reviewed books developed from the ACS technical divisions symposia. The series covers a broad range of topics including agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials, and many others.
 
Analytical Chemistry, Physical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Book Collections @Wiley Interscience Terms & conditions
CAB eBooks
Books on agriculture, tourism, and the environment published by CABI.
 
CHEMnetBASE
A collection of electronic reference works including the Dictionary of Organic Compunds and the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Plug in required

CSIRO eBook Collections
CSIRO eBooks cover a wide range of scientific disciplines including agriculture, the plant and animal sciences and environmental management. Australian content
Terms & conditions
EBL
Access to a growing number of ebooks, which may be downloaded to your home computer or tablet via Adobe Digital Editions.
Help with EBL ebooks
ebrary
Access to a growing number of eBooks.
Help using ebrary ebooks

Terms & conditions
EbscoHost eBook Collection
A large number of books covering all subjects, with an emphasis on titles in high demand in the Library
Help

Terms & conditions
Knovel Library
Knovel integrates technical information with analytical and search tools. Content covers aerospace, chemical, civil, electrical, mechanical and general engineering and including information about adhesives, biochemistry, biotechnology, ceramics, electronics, environment, food science, metals, oil & gas, plastics, pharmaceuticals, power, safety, textiles and more.
Terms & conditions
National Academies Press
Free access to the ebooks published by the U.S. National Academies of Sciences and Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council.
 
Lecture Notes in Computer Science 1983 -
Medium for the publication of new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching - quickly, informally, and at a high level. Full text access to issues from v. 1 (1973)- Not all the issues published in print are available electronically


Lecture Notes in Mathematics (1964 - present )
New developments in all areas of mathematics and their applications


Lecture Notes in Physics (1969 - 1996, 2000 - present)
New developments in physics research and teaching, with the explicit aim to summarize and communicate current knowledge in an accessible way. Books published in this series are conceived as bridging material between advanced graduate textbooks and the forefront of research.


Major Reference Works @ ScienceDirect
Access to 13 Elsevier Major Reference Works: Comprehensive Clinical Psychology, Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II, Encyclopedias of Applied Plant Sciences, Applied Psychology, Biological Chemistry, Social & Behavioral Sciences, Biological Chemistry, Human Nutrition, Language & Linguistics, Materials: Science and Technology, Ocean Sciences, Social Measurement, Soils in the Environment, and Spectroscopy and Spectrometry, and the International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Terms & conditions

Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry Book Collection @Wiley Interscience Terms & conditions
Polymers, Materials Science and Industrial Chemistry Book Collection @Wiley Interscience Terms & conditions
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford University Press reference works, including English and bi-lingual dictionaries, a Visual English Dictionary, Maps, the World Encyclopedia, and subject-based dictionaries and encyclopedias on subjects including:
Art & Architecture, Biological Sciences, Computing, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Economics & Business, Food & Drink, Medicine, Military History, Physical Sciences & Mathematics, Science.
Add the Oxford Reference Online search widget to your browser toolbar for quick access.
Terms & conditions

PEP-WEB
Search PEP Archive (1871-2006) for classic psychoanalytical works. Features the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud.
 
PsycBOOKS via OvidSP 1806 -
Provides access to many books from the American Psychological Association. The APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology is also included.
Terms & conditions
RIBA ebook collection
To search the RIBA collection, click the top RIBA tab, or browse via the left-hand Collections & Category tabs
The Royal Institute of British Architecture (RIBA) publishes highly informative and illustrated books focusing on architecture, design and construction, from all over the world. They offer insight into the full cycle of architecture from theory and conception, to guidance on the practical aspects of operating in the industry. RIBA provides full coverage of related subjects such as architectural practice, architects and their work, architectural theory, building regulations, building types, design and interiors, conservation and legal issues.
 
Royal Society of Chemistry eBook Collection (1940 - current)
Ebooks published by the Royal Society of Chemistry, covering all aspects of chemical science.
 
Safari Tech Books
(Click Bookshelf to access subscribed titles)
A collection of online computing and technical books for programmers and IT professionals.
Terms & conditions

ScienceDirect Major Reference Works
ScienceDirect Books & Book Series
More than 500 books and 20 major encylopedias covering the sciences and medicine. The Library subscribes to the following Book Series: Chemistry, Life Sciences,& Methods in Enzymology, Neuroscience, Veterinary Science, and Veterinary Medicine.
Terms & conditions

Springer Protocols
Contains peer reviewed laboratory research protocols, dealing principally with topics in molecular biology and biomedicine. Also available in the Library catalogue .
Terms & conditions

Quick guide
Taylor & Francis online eBook library
A broad selection of ebooks for the Sciences. Includes resources for Bioscience, Engineering, IT, Psychology and Technology.
 
Wiley Interscience Reference Works
(access to selected titles only)
Terms & conditions
Reference works  
Blackwell Reference Online
Includes the authoritative Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management, Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, and The International Encyclopedia of Communication plus access to Handbooks and Companions on aspects of management, economics, and econometrics.
Terms & conditions
CHEMnetBASE
A collection of electronic reference works including the Dictionary of Organic Compunds and the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Plug in required

Dictionary of Australian Artists Online
Constantly being updated, the foundation data focuses predominantly on Colonial artists; women artists to 1950; black and white artists; Aboriginal artists of the Western Desert and the Sydney region.
 
Directory of Australian Associations
Click blue Search ConnectWeb Now button to access the directory
Provides information on every specialty interest group in the country, including the non-profit sector. Australian content
Terms & conditions
DOE: Dictionary of Old English
Searchable vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language, from the letters A to G.
Terms & conditions
Early Western Korans 1537-1857
Contains all Arabic Koran editions printed in Europe before 1850, as well as all complete translations directly from the Arabic (until about 1860).
See Brill help for advice on fonts
 
Encyclopedia of Islam, second edition and Encyclopedia of Islam, THREE
The major academic encyclopedia on all aspects of the Islamic World.
Terms & conditions
Encyclopedia of the Qur’¯an
Major encyclopedia containing dictionary terms and extended essays.
Terms & conditions
Encyclopaedic Australian legal dictionary
Butterworths Encyclopaedic Australian legal dictionary is a unique reference work containing over 25,000 definitions (legal words and phrases, including references to legislation and cases). Australian content
 
Margaret Gee's Australian Media Guide
Click the blue Search ConnectWeb Now button to access the guide
Contains detailed information on every major Australian media outlet - from television stations and newspapers, to press agencies. Australian content
Terms & conditions
New Pauly Online
A standard reference work about the ancient world. Comprehensive coverage from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE).
Click Logon to New Pauly Online. Requires download of New Pauly font.
 
Oxford English Dictionary
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium.
Add the Oxford English Dictionary search widget to your browser toolbar for quick access.
Terms & conditions
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford University Press reference works, on mnay subjects, including English and bi-lingual dictionaries, a Visual English Dictionary, Maps, the World Encyclopedia, and subject-based dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Add the Oxford Reference Online search widget to your browser toolbar for quick access
Terms & conditions
Major Reference Works @ ScienceDirect
Elsevier Major Reference Works: more than 20 encyclopedias
Terms & conditions
Oxford History of Western Music Online
Online version of the celebrated 6 volume Oxford History of Western Music: a comprehensive reference tool which includes illustrations and 1,800 musical examples.
Terms & conditions
Springer Protocols
Contains peer reviewed laboratory research protocols, dealing principally with topics in molecular biology and biomedicine. Also available in the Library catalogue .
Terms & conditions

Quick guide
Who's Who in Australia
Click blue Search ConnectWeb Now button to access Who's Who
Contains thousands of biographical entries based on independent research and entrant correspondence. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Wiley Interscience Reference Works
(access to selected titles only)
Encyclopedias of chemsitry and chemical technology, engineering, optics, materials science, cell biology.
Terms & conditions