Education Databases & Curriculum Studies Databases



For a subject overview: Education Guide
Curriculum Studies Guide

Key Databases | News databases | Statistical databases | Educational Psychology and Counselling
| Higher Education | Citation databases | More databases for Education

<
Key databases for Education  
A+ Education via Informit Online (1978 - present)
An indexing and full-text database that provides access to information on all aspects of Australian education. Australian content
Terms & Conditions (pdf)
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit Online (1978 - present)
References journal articles and other published material in the social sciences and humanities. Selected full-text from 1994/1995. Australian content
Terms & Conditions (pdf)
AUSTLIT : Australian Literature Gateway
References to Australian authors and their works, references to criticism, correspondence and interviews as well as providing details and locations of theses dealing with Australian literature. Australian content
Help
Australasian Literature Online 1930 - present
Creative works from throughout Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Islands, and author interviews. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Education Source via Ebsco
Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Terms & conditions
ERIC : Educational Resources Information Center (1966 - present)
via Proquest
via OvidSP
via WEB
via Ebsco
References journal articles and unpublished documents on educational theory and practice. Indexes research on education policy and practice in development contexts.
 
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics Terms & conditions
International Encyclopedia of Education
This encyclopedia provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of research in education and curriculum studies. All articles are authored by experts. Articles includes references and links to related articles in the encyclopedia and within ScienceDirect
Terms & conditions
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
This online encyclopedia comprehensively maps the social and behavioral sciences. It encompasses all fields within the social and behavioural sciences. Individual chapters can be browsed, and the encyclopedia can also be searched as a database. Articles includes references and links to related articles in the encyclopedia and within ScienceDirect
Terms & conditions
LLBA : Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts via Proquest (1960's - present)
A key resource for Linguistics. References to peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, books and book review citations. An increasing number of articles are available in full text.
Terms & Conditions
Libraries Australia
Find Australian libraries which hold the material you need. Searches the combined catalogues of Australian libraries and can also provide access to the British Library Catalogue, Library of Congress Catalogue and OCLC WorldCat. Australian content
Help
Proquest Central
A very large multidisciplinary service including multiple databases. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively including business and economics, social sciences , news and world affairs, technology, health and medical, and more.
Access for Alumni
Terms & conditions

Quick Start Guide
PsycInfo via OvidSP (1806 - present)
Bibliographic references and abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and technical reports in psychology and related fields including educational psychology. Contains links to selected full text on education and anthropology; psychology; social, clinical, cognitive and neuropsychology; psychiatry, and sociology.
9/7/2013: If you are unable to export 999 records from PsycINFO, it is most likely due to the large size of cited references in some of the records. Use the "Select fields to display > Custom fields" option, & exclude the "Cited References" field. It will then export all 999 records.
Terms & conditions

Help for OvidSP
Sage Research Methods
A tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. It focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, so can be used across the social, behavioural, & health sciences, and more. It helps you design and conduct your own research projects, understand and teach research methods, and write up findings. Includes journal, book, & reference content, quantitative & qualitative tools.
Terms & conditions
Social Theory
Brings together an extensive range of influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day.
Terms & conditions
SPORTDiscus with Full Text via EBSCO
The major database for sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education and biomechanics.
Terms & conditions
Citation Databases  
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & Conditions

Interactive Tutorials
Web of Science Core Collections via Web of Science
Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-, Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975. It allows the identification of key articles in a discipline and to search by cited reference, that is to trace references that refer to a particular work or author.
Terms & conditions

Training (YouTube)
Journal Citation Reports - old version via Web of Science
Journal Citation Reports - new version via Web of Science
For access, click Sign in > Continue without signing in
Includes bibliometric analyses of citations found in both the Science and Social Sciences Citation Index by providing quantitative tools for ranking, evaluating, categorizing, and comparing journals
Terms & conditions

Training (YouTube)


JCR training videos
Higher Education  
Higher Education Empirical Research Database(HEER)
The HEER database brings together evidence-based published research on a range of topics in Higher education. The database is free but registration is required.
International Bibliographic Database on Higher Education (HEDBIB)
Compiled and maintained by International Association of Universities (IAU) HEDBID includes references on higher education systems, administration, planning and policy, costs and finances, evaluation of higher education, issues related to staff and students, cooperation, mobility and equivalences of degrees, curricula, teaching methods and learning.
Statistical databases  
ADA: Australian Data Archive
Access is for University of Sydney staff and students only. Australian content
 
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australia's official statistical organisation. Freely available data on all aspects of Australian life and society. Includes statistical data on preschool, primary, secondary, tertiary, vocational, adult education, social, health, economic and demographic research and census data for 1996-2006. Links to other statistical agencies via the ABS subject themes page. Australian content
 
CData Online 2006
Allows you to create your own tables of Census data on a range of topics such as, age, education, housing, income, transport, religion, ethinicity, occupation and more. Australian content
 
OECD iLibrary
Full-text for all OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) publications, including documents, periodicals and statistical databases.
Terms & conditions

Getting started [pdf]
SEIFA: Socio-Economic Indexes for Areas:
This consists of four indexes developed to summarise different aspects of socio-economic conditions of the Australian population based on Australian census data. Indexes are available for advantage/disadvantage, disadvantage, economic resources and education & occupation.
2011 data is available via TableBuilder
1986-2006 SEIFA census data in spreadsheet format is available from the ABS SEIFA website Australian content
 
Unesco Institute for Statistics
This free site particularly focuses on education and media. It contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication.
 
World Bank Open Data (1960 -)
Includes World Bank Development Indicators: 900 indicators organised in six sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links. Click Data Catalog > Databank.
Terms & conditions
Source OECD see OECD iLibrary above
 
Educational Psychology/Counselling Databases  
PsycINFO via OvidSP (1806-present)
The major database for Psychology produced by the American Psychological Association. It contains bibliographic references and abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and technical reports. Source material comes from a wide range of languages. Contains links to selected full text. Covers psychology: social, clinical, cognitive and neuropsychology; psychiatry, sociology, anthropology and education.
Terms & conditions
Counseling and Therapy in Video Vols I and II
A collection of videos for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counselling
Terms & conditions
PsycBOOKS via OvidSP
PsycBOOKS is a full-text database of books and chapters produced by the American Psychological Association.
Terms & conditions
PsycARTICLES via OvidSP
PsycARTICLES is a full-text database of journal articles produced by the American Psychological Association. From the search screen tick the PsycARTICLES limit box.
Terms & conditions
PsycCRITIQUES via OvidSP
PsycCRITIQUES is a full-text database of book reviews produced by the American Psychological Association. Films, software and other media are also reviewed.
Terms & conditions
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Contains full text information about and reviews of all english language standardized tests. Covers educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology and related areas. Only four users permitted at a time so if you get a busy message please logoff and try again later. Be sure to click Logoff at the end of your session.
Terms & conditions

Child Welfare Information Gateway
References research on the maltreatment, safety, permanency and well-being of children.
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : text revision, DSM-IV-TR
Electronic version of 2000 edition published by the American Psychiatric Association.
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Education (A-Z)  
Newspapers & Current Affairs see News Services databases  
British Education Index via Ebsco
Information on research, policy and practice in all aspects and levels of education and training in the UK. Strengths include aspects of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs. Sources include education and training journals, mostly published in the UK. Some international literature is included.
Terms & conditions
BlackWords via Austlit
BlackWords provides a platform for the investigation and articulation of what "Black writing" and "Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander literatures" might be. BlackWords also contains records describing published and unpublished books, stories, plays, poems and criticism associated with eligible writers and storytellers and includes works in English and in Indigenous languages. Australian content
Help
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Science
CCC is a bibliographic and alerting service which indexes more than 3800 science, social science, arts and humanities journals. It provides access to the table of contents of journals together with complete bibliographic information about each article.
Terms & conditions

Training (YouTube)

Tutorial

CCC tutorial
Database of Research on International Education
The database encompasses Australian and international research and, where possible, includes links to the full text of catalogued research.
 
DELTAA : Database on English Language Teaching for Adults in Australasia via Informit
This indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on English second language learning and teaching in Australasia. Australian content
Terms & Conditions (pdf)
Dissertation & Theses Full Text via ProQuest
Includes abstracts of theses from North American colleges and universities from 1861 and elsewhere from 1988, when made available.
Terms & conditions
Education Research Theses
The Education Theses Database contains citations and abstracts for over 10,000 theses accepted at Australian universities and colleges in the field of education from 1919 to present. Australian content
Expanded Academic ASAP via Gale Infotrac
Indexes and abstracts over 1500 journals including the full-text of 520. Covers education, humanities, communication studies, social science, science and technology, women studies, sociology, environment, and public affairs.
Note: A search in Expanded Academic Index ASAP also searches IngentaConnect.
Terms & conditions
Indigenous Collection via Informit Online
Offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Includes material from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific.
Australian content
Terms & conditions

Tutorials:
Basic
Advanced
JSTOR
Full-text for major journals from a wide range of disciplines such as: Education, African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics. Latest five years are not available in this database.
Terms & conditions
LIt.search: Lowitja Institute
A freely available database which provides easy access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature on PubMed, the US National Library of Medicine's free version of Medline, the premier database covering all aspects of health and medicine.
 
MAIS : Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies via Informit
Covers immigration and multicultural issues, including ethnicity, racism, refugees, and history and culture. From August 1996 the focus has narrowed to Australian material only - books & journals, newspaper articles, government documents, theses, multimedia etc. Australian content
Terms & Conditions (pdf)
MLA : Modern Languages Association International Biography via EBSCO (1890's - present)
References scholarly works on linguistics, literature, literary theory and film. MLA contains some full text material.
Terms & conditions
Project Muse (Mid 1990's onwards)
Project Muse provides full text access to over 300 peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Terms & conditions
Taylor and Francis Online eBook Library
A collection of 600 titles covering the areas of psychology, psychotherapy & Jung, education practice, education theory, health & society, and medicine & pharmacology.
 
VOCED : Vocational Education and Training Research Database
Produced by the National Vocational Education and Training Clearinghouse network (Australia), VOCED covers vocational education and training research, policy, practice and published statistics. Holds Australian and key international material. Australian content
Help
Web of Science Core Collections
Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities citation indexes, useful for citation and subject searching for articles, books and reviews in the social sciences and related disciplines. Allows the identification of key articles in a discipline.
Terms & conditions

Training (YouTube)

Help

Back to top