Creating Bibliographies
Formating bibliographies in Word
After inserting citations in your Word document, EndNote can generate a bibliography based on a specified style.
- Open your EndNote library and your Word document.
- Click Format Bibliography in Word's EndNote Toolbar
- The EndNote Format Bibliography window opens.
![]() |
- The file-name of the active Word document will appear in the Format bibliography drop down menu. Click the file-name to select another open Word document
- Select an output style. Click the name of the style to reveal a list of frequently used output styles.
![]() |
- Click Browse to open the output style manager
- Highlight the required style then click OK
![]() |
- Click Layout
![]() |
- Change the font and font size to match the font used in the active Word document (if necessary).
- Change the bibliography title to the name required by the output style (if any).
- Click Instant formatting.
- Click Turn On if instant formatting is to be used.
![]() |
- Click Libraries.
![]() |
- The Libraries tab will display the names of the libraries used in the creation of a document.
- Click OK to format the bibliography.
Check the format of the generated bibliography to ensure it conforms with the instructions to authors of the selected publication. These do change, and the changes are not always reflected in Endnote. The output styles can be edited by clicking Edit>Output Styles>Open Style Manager and browsing to the required style.
Note: Only limited citation editing is possible within Word. If information in your citations is incorrect (eg. author, title, journal), edit the citation in the EndNote Reference Window..
Footnotes or Endnotes
The output style you choose when formatting your bibliography determines how the citations in the footnotes or endnotes are formatted. EndNote can format these as brief in-text citations or complete references. EndNote can also create a special format specific to footnotes or endnotes, including "ibid".
Next:
The Travelling Library
Related pages:
Selecting output styles
FAQ >: Creating reading lists; or, How do I create a independent bibliography (ie, without having to base it on references used in a research paper)?
Editing citations in Word
The Reference Window







