[Go back]
[print friendly version]
ACP Journal Club via Ovid
Direct Export | Saving References to Import | Importing references into Endnote using a filter file | Filter File
Direct export of references into EndNote:
Direct Export is recommended for this database on the Ovid platform. It can only be used when Endnote is installed on the computer that is used to search an online database.
- Perform your Ovid search
- Select the references you wish to save by checking the box next to each citation.
- Scroll down to the Results Manager:
- In the Results column select the required option.
- In the Fields column choose Complete Reference.
- In the Result Format Column select Direct Export.
- Click Save.
- Endnote will automatically open.
- Choose a reference library in the Select a Reference Library window.
Saving references to import into EndNote:
- Perform your Ovid search
- Select the references you wish to save by checking the box next to each citation.
- Scroll down to the Results Manager:
- In the Results column select the required option.
- In the Fields column choose Complete Reference.
- In the Result Format Column select Reprint/Medlars.
- Click Save.
- Select Linefeed style - Windows, Mac or Unix. Then Continue.
- You will be asked if you want to open or save the file.
- Click Open
- Your references will now be displayed in NotePad
- File > Save As
- Name the file and ensure it is saved in .txt format. Close the file.
Importing references from an Ovid database into EndNote using an import filter
- Open EndNote
- File > Open
- Choose a reference library in the Select a Reference Library window.
- Click Open.
- File > Import
- The Import dialog box opens:
- Click Choose File and browse to the downloaded .txt file of references you wish to import.
- At Import Option choose the appropriate filter. (Use the amended filter file if one is available.)
- If the correct filter is not displayed in the picklist, click Other Filters...
- The Filter Manager opens.
- To select the import filter for your database, click Find.
- A list of database providers/platforms is displayed.
- Highlight and click Ovid
- The Choose an Import Filter dialog box displays the list of Ovid filters.
- Select your database/import filter (remember to choose the amended filter file if one is available for this database. Amended filter files are easy to find in the list as may they have usyd after the name of the database.) and click Choose
- Select Duplicates Option: Import All, Discard Duplicates, or Import into Duplicates Library.
- Click Import.
The citations from the saved text file should now be in your EndNote library. Check the imported references to ensure that the data has been imported correctly. References from some databases may require manual editing.
Filter file for ACP Journal club via Ovid
A filter file is available for the ACP Journal club is available for download at the University of Auckland EndNote Filter page.
Note: As this file was written for a PC, Mac users should first use the University of Maastrich EndNote conversion utility
http://mac.unimaas.nl/EndNote.html to convert this to a Mac-compatible format). Follow the steps at FAQ > To convert a PC filter, style or connection to a Mac format
Amendments to filter
- You will need to manually cut and past the date from the Journal field into the Date field.
- If you want the Commentary Author to appear in the Author field you will need to cut and paste it from the Notes Field into the Author field and edit this to have the authors surname followed by a comma, then initials/first name/s.
- The references cited by the author in the article will appear in the Research Notes field.
- The article commentary has been included into the abstract field - the abstract appears first followed by the commentary.
[Top]