Using databases
Cinahl via Ovid
Saving References to Import | Filter File | Importing references into Endnote using a filter file | Direct Export
Saving references to import into EndNote:
- Perform your Ovid search
- Select the references you wish to save by checking the box next to each citation.
- Scroll down to the Results Manager:
![]() |
- In the Results column select the required option.
- In the Fields column choose Complete Reference.
- In the Result Format Column select Reprint/Medlars.
- Click Save.
- Select Linefeed style - Windows, Mac or Unix. Then Continue.
- You will be asked if you want to open or save the file.
- Click Open
- Your references will now be displayed in NotePad
- File > Save As
![]() |
- Name the file and ensure it is saved in .txt format. Close the file.
Importing references from an Ovid database into EndNote using an import filter
- Open EndNote
- File > Open
- Choose a reference library in the Select a Reference Library window.
![]() |
- Click Open.
- File > Import
- The Import dialog box opens:
- Click Choose File and browse to the downloaded .txt file of references you wish to import.
![]() |
- At Import Option choose the appropriate filter. (Use the amended filter file if one is available.)
- If the correct filter is not displayed in the picklist, click Other Filters...
- The Filter Manager opens.
![]() |
- To select the import filter for your database, click Find.
- A list of database providers/platforms is displayed.
![]() |
- Highlight and click Ovid
- The Choose an Import Filter dialog box displays the list of Ovid filters.
![]() |
- Select your database/import filter (remember to choose the amended filter file if one is available for this database. Amended filter files are easy to find in the list as may they have usyd after the name of the database.) and click Choose
- Select Duplicates Option: Import All, Discard Duplicates, or Import into Duplicates Library.
- Click Import.
The citations from the saved text file should now be in your EndNote library. Check the imported references to ensure that the data has been imported correctly. References from some databases may require manual editing.
Filter File for Cinahl via Ovid:
The following filter file is available for Cinahl via Ovid:
- Cinahl_(OVID).enf for PCs
The filter file has the following limitations:
- In CINAHL, newspaper articles are tagged as journal articles, therefore that is how they're imported into EndNote. You can manually change the reference type to Newspaper Article after importing.
- Some journal titles have commas in them. Since commas are an important delimiter between the journal title and the volume, these journal titles will not import correctly; part of the journal title will be imported into the Volume field. You can manually correct your data after importing.
- Some chapter authors are presented in parentheses at the end of the title. These may be moved to the title field manually after importing.
- Chapter source data is presented in an inconsistent manner, which may require manually corrections after importing.
Note: As this file was written for a PC, Mac users should first use the University of Maastrich EndNote conversion utility http://mac.unimaas.nl/EndNote.html to convert this to a Mac-compatible format). Follow the steps at FAQ > To convert a PC filter, style or connection to a Mac format
Direct export of references into EndNote
Direct export is not recommended for this database.
Related pages:
Entering References > Downloading amended filters








