Using databases
CSA databases
(ASFA, Biological Sciences, Econlit, Georef, LLBA, PAIS, WSPA, & Zoological Record Plus)
Filter Files | Saving References to Import | Importing references into EndNote using a filter file | Direct Export
Filter Files for CSA databases:
The following amended filter files are available for CSA databases
- Biological_Sciences_(CSA)USyd2004.enf for PCs
- EconLit(CSA)USYD.enf for PCs. Note: the filter file that comes with EndNote for Econlit works well, but does not import the author affiliation into the author address field. If you want this information in the correct field then use this amended filter.
- An amended filter for LLBA is available for download at the University of Auckland Library Endnote site.
- PAIS(CSA)usyd.enf for PCs
- An amended filter for WSPA is available for download at the Monash University Library Endnote site.
- Zoological_Record_Plus_(CSA)Usyd2003.enf for PCs
Note: Use the filter supplied with Endnote 9 to import references from ASFA and Georef.
Saving references to import into EndNote:
- Perform your search
- Select the references you wish to save by checking the box next to the citation.
- Click Save Print Email (appears at top of screen)
The screen should now look something like the following
![]() |
- Choose full format from the drop down menu
- Choose the correct File Format for your computer
- Click Save
- Name the file and ensure it is saved in .txt format.
Importing references into EndNote using a filter file:
- Open EndNote
- File > Open
- Choose an existing reference library or create a new one
- Click Ok
- File > Import
- The Import dialog box opens:
- Click Choose File and browse to the downloaded .txt file of references you wish to import.
![]() |
- From Import Option choose the appropriate filter.
- If the correct filter is not displayed in the picklist, click Other Filters...
- The Filter Manager opens.
![]() |
- To select the import filter for your database, click Find.
- A list of database providers/platforms displays.
![]() |
- Highlight and click CSA
- The Choose an Import Filter dialog box displays the list of CSA filters.
![]() |
- Select your database (remember to choose the amended filter file if one is available for the database)
- Click Choose
- Select Duplicates Option: Import All
- Click Import
- The citations from the database should now be in your EndNote library. Check the imported references to ensure that the data has been imported correctly. References from some databases will require manual editing.
Direct export of references into EndNote
CSA databases do not support direct export.






