[Go back]
[print friendly version]
EVA - Environmental Abstracts via Informit Online
Saving References to Import | Filter File | Importing References into EndNote using a filter file | Direct Export
Saving references to import into EndNote:
As each Informit database has its own record structure it is important that references from individual Informit databases be downloaded and imported separately using the appropriate filter file. Failure to do so may result in incomplete citations being imported into Endnote.
- Perform your database search.
- Select the references you wish to save by checking the box next to each citation.
- Click Save
- Under label format, choose Short Labels.
- Under Fields to Save, choose Complete Record.
- Under Output Format, select Plain Text.
- Click Save Records.
- Name the file and ensure it is saved as a text (.txt) file .
Importing references into EndNote using a filter file:
- Open Endnote
- File>Open
- Choose a reference library in the Select a Reference Library window.
- Click Open.
- File > Import
- At Import Data File click Choose File and browse to the downloaded text file of references you wish to import.
- At Import Option choose the appropriate database filter. If the filter does not appear on the picklist, click Other Filters....
- The Filter Manager opens.
- To locate the import filter for your database, click Find.
- A list of database providers is displayed.
- Highlight and click Informit
- The Choose an Import Filter dialog box displays the list of Informit filters.
The display will vary according to which Informit Online filter files have been downloaded to the computer. If the appropriate filter is not displayed, see the Filter File section on this page.
- Select your database filter and click Choose.
- Select the duplicates option from the Duplicates picklist.
- Click Import.
- The citations from the database should now be in your Endnote library. Check the imported references to ensure that the data has been imported correctly. References from some databases will require manual editing.
Filter File for EVA via Informit Online
Filter files for the Informit Online databases do not come pre-installed with EndNote X.
The following filter file is available for download:
Known Problems with this Filter:
- If the reference has no volume or issue number, check the Notes field to see if there is an issue date.
Direct export of references into EndNote
Informit Online databases do not support direct export.
Related pages:
Entering References > Downloading amended filters
FAQ > To convert a PC filter, style or connection to a Mac format
[Top]