Using databases
Informit Online databases
Filter File | Saving References to Import | Importing References into EndNote using a filter file | Direct Export
Filter Files for Informit Online databases:
Filter files do not come pre-installed with EndNote X for the Informit Online databases. Informit filters can be downloaded from a number of University sites, and a list can be found below.
The following Libraries provide filters for the Informit Online databases:
- Macquarie University Library: REEF
- University of Queensland Library: A+ Education, AGIS, AMI,APAIS,APAISHealth, ARCH, Ausport, AusportMed, CINCH, Drug, ENGINE, Family, MAIS.
- Australian Catholic University Library: ANR Index & Index Archive, ANR Research & Research Archive.
- University of New South Wales Library: ATRI.
- University of Sydney Library: AHB, ATSIHealth, EVA (right click to Save As).
Download the filters into the Endnote X Filters folder on your computer.
Note: If you cannot locate a filter file for the Informit database you are searching, save your references in Endnote format, then import the text-file using EndNote Import as the Import Option in the File>Import dialogue box.
Saving references to import into EndNote:
Each Informit database has a different record structure. If you wish to import records into your EndNote library, you must search one database at a time. If you select multiple databases to search simultaneously, you will not be able to import your results into EndNote.
- Perform your Informit search
- Select the references you wish to save by checking the box next to each citation.
- Click Save
- Under label format select Short Labels.
- Under fields to save select Complete Record.
- Under output format select Plain Text.
- Click Save Records.
![]() |
Note: If you cannot locate a filter file for the Informit database you are searching, save your references in Endnote format, then import the text-file using EndNote Import as the Import Option in the File>Import dialogue box.
Importing references into EndNote using a filter file:
- Open Endnote
- File>Open
- Choose a reference library in the Select a Reference Library window
![]() |
- Click Open.
- File > Import
- The Import dialog box will open.
- Click Choose File and browse to the downloaded text (.txt) file of references you wish to import.
![]() |
- At Import Option choose the appropriate filter from the drop-down pick-list.
- If the correct filter is not displayed in the picklist, click Other Filters...
- The Filter Manager opens.
![]() |
- To select the import filter for your database, click Find.
- A list of database providers/platforms displays.
![]() |
- Highlight and click Informit
- The Choose an Import Filter dialog box displays the list of Informit filters. The display will vary according to which Informit filter files you've downloaded
![]() |
- Select your database and click Choose
- Select the appopriate Duplicates option
- Click Import.
The citations from the database should now be in your Endnote library. Check the imported references to ensure that the data has been imported correctly. References from some databases will require manual editing.
Direct export of references into EndNote:
Informit Online databases do not support Direct Export.
Related pages:
Entering References > Downloading amended filters
FAQ > To convert a PC filter, style or connection to a Mac format







