[Go back]

[print friendly version]

Entering references

Importing references with Filters

Importing with Filters is the most common way of electronically entering references into EndNote.

Filters let you import references downloaded (saved) from databases into your EndNote library. You select a filter during the import process which tells EndNote how to interpret the information you want to import. A filter does this by mapping the information in each saved reference to the corresponding fields in EndNote.

Filters are specific both to the database and the information provider for which the filter was designed.

To successfully import pre-saved references into EndNote you need to:

  • save the references in the correct output format.
  • Use the import filter appropriate to the database and its provider/platform.

Filter files are provided with EndNote when you install it. The Library also provides some amended filters, and more can be downloaded from other Libraries' websites.

Refer to the Using Databases section of this tutorial for specific instructions on how to import references from individual databases.

To import references using a filter

  • Download your references from a database and save the file as a .txt file. Take note of where you have saved it on your computer.
  • File > Open your EndNote library.
  • File > Import…
  • The Import dialog box opens:
  • At Import Data File click Choose File and browse to the downloaded .txt file of references you wish to import.
  Import Box  
  • At Import Option choose the appropriate filter.
  • If the correct filter is not displayed in the picklist, click Other Filters...
  • The Filter Manager opens.
  Choose Import Filter  
  • Click Find by if you know the database platform name (eg Medline is available via the Ovid platform, PAIS is available via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA).
  • Highlight the filter, click Choose
  • Import.

The references will now appear in your library window. Check the references to verify they have been imported correctly.

Mark filters as Favourites

Mark frequently-used filters as Favourites for a shortcut. The next time you Import references, these filters will be listed in the Import Option picklist.

  • Edit > Import Filters > Open Filter Manager.
  Filter Manager  
  • Find the filter(s) you wish to mark as Favourites, eg, amended filters you have downloaded or filters for frequently-used databases. Click Find by to sort the filters by database-platform.
  • Click in the box next to any filters you want to mark, and then close the Filter Manager.

Next:
Direct exporting from databases
Related pages:
FAQ > Handling duplicate references
Related section:
Using databases

[Top]