Engineering Databases
![]()
Return to
Engineering Guide
| Key databases for Engineering | |
|---|---|
| Compendex via Engineering Village (1884 - present)
Comprehensive database of engineering research literature, containing engineering journals and conferences. Subject coverage: all engineering disciplines, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communication. |
Search Tips User Guide (pdf) |
| SciFinder Scholar
International chemistry journal articles, conferences, books, reports, patents within the Chemical Abstracts database; Chemical Abstracts from 1907, and Medline from 1966. Subject coverage includes chemical engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacy, pharmacology, agricultural chemistry, food science and medicine. Software must be downloaded before use, or you can access it via PCs in Engineering, Fisher, Madsen, Badham or Medical libraries. |
Downloading Instructions SciFinder Scholar Help Page |
| Australian Engineering Online
A comprehensive collection of information from product catalogues: construction equipment, materials handling, instrumentation, building products, mechanical engineering, electrical equipment, safety products, process equipment.
|
|
| Australian Standards Online
Full text access to the complete collection of current Australian Standards, Draft Standards, and handbooks (excluding Standards and handbooks with joint copyright).
|
Terms & conditions |
| IEEE Xplore
Provides full text access to high quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics |
User Guide (pdf) |
| INSPEC via OvidSP (1969 - present)
Subject coverage: physics, electronics, communications, electrical engineering, control engineering, information technology, computers, control engineering, computing, environmental science, manufacturing, health and safety. |
Terms & Conditions |
| More databases useful for Engineering (A - Z) | |
| ABI Inform via ProQuest (1985 - present)
International business/management database. Subject coverage includes business, industry and management, also economics, econometrics, accounting, finance and banking, information technology, labour relations, human resource management and development, marketing, organisational behaviour. |
Password access and other problems User guide (pdf) |
| ABS : Australian Bureau of Statistics
The Australian Bureau of Statistics is Australia's official statistical organisation. The site provides access to the full range of ABS statistical and reference information, including national and state-based statistics, and census data.
|
Supertable for ABS Users Access Problems? |
| AES Online Electronic Library : Audio Engineering Society
AES journal articles and conference papers. |
|
| AIAA Online Technical Information : American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (1988 - current)
Contains author, title, paper number, and conference date and location information for papers presented at AIAA meetings. Full text access to some AIAA journals on campus. |
|
| ANSTI : Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Information via Informit Online
Contains journal articles, conference proceedings, books, technical reports, patents, legislation, standards and theses.
|
Terms & conditions (pdf) Quick Reference Guide User Guide |
| ASFA : Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts via CSA
Subject coverage: biology, ecology, fisheries, aquaculture, oceanography, limnology, resources and commerce, pollution, biotechnology, marine technology and engineering, marine meteorology and climatology and non-living resources |
|
| ASTM Library : American Society for Testing and Materials
A repository of technical content covering a wide range of materials and industries, including Special Technical Publications, manuals, technical papers and journals from the standards development organization American Society for Testing and Materials. (Does not include MyStandards). |
Terms & Conditions (pdf) |
| ATRI : Australian Transport Index (1976 - present)
Covers road safety, transport economics, transport administration, intelligent transport systems, transport and the environment, public transport, road and airfield pavements, road design and engineering, traffic engineering and control, vehicle design and safety, and soil and rock mechanics. ![]() |
Terms & conditions Quick Reference Guide Step-by-Step Guide to Searching |
| BUILD via Informit Online (1989 - 2002)
Contains material held in the Australian Building Information Resources Centre, including published and unpublished material from conference papers, journals, standards, building regulations, technical papers, reports and books.
|
Terms & conditions (pdf) Quick Reference Guide Step-by-Step Guide to Searching |
| CHERUB : CHemical Engineering Reference User Bibliography via Informit Online (1956 - present)
Covers chemical engineering; design and operation of chemical plant and equipment, chemical process information, process control, environmental considerations and mineral processing.
|
Terms & conditions (pdf) Quick Reference Guide Step-by-Step Guide to Searching |
| Civil Engineering Database (1970 - present)
Provides bibliographic access to all ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) publications since 1970. |
|
| Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge
Subject coverage includes agriculture, biology and environmental science, arts and humanities, clinical medicine, engineering, technology and applied sciences, life sciences, physical, chemical and earth sciences, social and behavioural sciences. |
Quick Reference (pdf) |
| Dissertations and Theses Full Text via Proquest
Information about doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Electronic full text available from 1997. |
|
| ENGINE : Australian Engineering Database via Informit Online (1980 - present)
Contains conference papers, journal articles, technical papers, books, discussions, news articles and unpublished papers, especially by the Institution of Engineers, Australia.
|
Terms & conditions (pdf) Quick Reference Guide User Guide |
| EVA : Environmental Abstracts via Informit Online (1987 - present)
Covers the environment and related fields including air pollution and quality environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment and pollution control. ![]() |
Terms & conditions (pdf) |
| Factiva
Current affairs and company information. |
|
| Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine. Also useful for links to references which cite other academic articles. Using this link via the library website means you can get the full-text of articles in journals to which the library subscribes. Use Scholar Preferences to enable the export of references from Google Scholar to EndNote. |
|
| INIS : International Nuclear Information System
Database operated by the Internation Atomic Energy Agency. The subject areas cover the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology: nuclear reactors, reactor safety, nuclear fusion, applications of radiation and radioisotopes in medicine, agriculture, industry and pest control as well as related fields such as nuclear chemistry, nuclear physics and materials science. |
Online Tutorial (pdf) |
| ITU Recommendations Online : International Telecommunications Union (1989 - present)
Contains the international standards developed by the Telecommunication Standardisation Sector of the ITU. |
Terms & conditions |
| Jane's Online
Online access to the following Jane's publications: All The World's Aircraft, Aircraft Upgrades, Aero-Engines. |
Jane's Help Terms and Conditions |
| Knovel Library
Online engineering reference books covering aerospace, chemical, civil, electrical, mechanical and general engineering and including information about adhesives, biochemistry, biotechnology, ceramics, electronics, environment, food science, metals, oil & gas, plastics, pharmaceuticals, power, safety, textiles and more. |
|
| Kluwer Journals Online via Springerlink
Journals in many areas of research, including engineering, chemistry, computer & information science, electrical & electronic engineering, environmental sciences, materials science. |
|
| Medline via Ovid (1966 - present)
Bibliographic references and abstracts to articles in international medical journals. Subject coverage: clinical medical information, biomedicine, including the allied health fields, biological and physical sciences. |
Search Tips |
| Proquest Computing
Computing journals in full text for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets, the internet, technology management. |
Password access and other problems Proquest user guide (pdf) |
| Proquest Science Journals (1994 - present)
Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. |
Password access and other problems Proquest user guide (pdf) |
| Proquest Telecommunications
Includes magazines, journals and newsletters |
Password access and other problems Proquest user guide (pdf) |
| SCANFILE via Informit Online (1978 - present)
Subject coverage includes all aspects of human resource management, S&T (science & technology) and R&D (research & development) management, social and economic implications of scientific innovation, science and technology policy, planning and evaluation, and technology transfer.
|
Terms & conditions (pdf) Quick Reference Guide User Guide |
| ScienceDirect
Subject coverage includes materials science, engineering & technology, environmental science, business & management science, physics, biochemistry. |
|
| SGI-Line : Swedish Geotechnical Institute (1976 - present)
Contains journal articles, conference proceedings, books, technical reports, patents and building codes. Subjects include foundation and reinforcement, soil and rock mechanics, properties of soil and rock, site investigations, environmental geotechnics, geology, energy, snow & ice mechanics and building materials. |
|
| STREAMLINE : Australia's Natural Resources Database via Informit Online (1982 - present)
Subjects cover the sustainable management of land, vegetation and water resources, including urban water and wastewater and irrigation systems.
|
Terms & conditions (pdf) Quick Reference Guide User Guide |
| Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge (1945 - present)
Includes Science Citation Index 1945 - present, Arts and Humanities Citation Index 1956 - present and Social Sciences Citation Index 1975 onwards. The unique feature is the ability to search by cited author, finding articles that refer to the work of that person. |
Web of Science Tutorial Citation Searching Tutorial Quick Reference (pdf) |
| Wiley InterScience
Search Wiley InterScience e-journals, or select Reference Works to search a number of online encyclopedias. |
Troubleshooting |
Back to top

