Environmental Science databases

Ask A Librarian

   
Key databases for Environmental Science  
Geobase via Engineering Village (1980-present)
Covers physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology, and development studies.
 
GeoRef via CSA
Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present.
Terms & conditions
GeoScience World
Delivers aggregated journal content of 6 leading earth science societies. You can also search GeoRef simultaneously.
 
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
One of the largest science databases with good coverage of the geosciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors, journal and subject areas.
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Environmental Science (A - Z)  
ABS : Australian Bureau of Statistics
Provides state and national statistics including census information from the 2001 and 2006 census.
Australian content
 
BOM : Bureau of Meteorology
Provides meteorological information for Australia including climate data, hydrological information as well as current weather and warnings.
Australian content
 
CSA Illumina databases
Contains a large number of databases related to the environment, marine life, oceanography, social sciences, economics and politics. Individual databases need to be opened in order to search them.
Terms & conditions 
Expanded Academic Index ASAP
A good generic database used to search for humanities, sociological and environmental information.
Terms & conditions
Informit Online
Contains over 80 Australian databases covering a wide range of subjects. Major databases include:
APA-FT: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text
EVA : Environmental Abstracts
REEF : Great Barrier Reef
Australian content
Terms & conditions
ScienceDirect
A good generic database which contains a very large amount of global scientific, medical and technical information.
Terms & conditions
SourceOECD
Full text versions of the entire Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD) collection of publications, including Economic Outlook and Economic Surveys.
Terms & conditions

Back to top