Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Exercise and Sports Science Databases



Return to Exercise and Sports Science Guide

Key databases for Exercise and Sports Science  
Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
A major and premier source for the medical sciences.
Provides citations and abstracts to biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. The majority are fulltext.
Terms & conditions

SPORTDiscus via EBSCO
A major resource covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education and biomechanics.
Terms & conditions

AusportMed via Informit Online
AusportMed covers all aspects of medical and health issues in Australian sport. A subset of the AUSPORT database.
Australian content
Terms & conditions
CINAHL via EBSCOhost (1981 - present)
A major resource for allied Health professionals and Nurses. Includes some full text articles with coverage of HIM related topics including allied health, management, behavioural sciences, biomedicine and education.
Terms & conditions

Cinahl Support Center

Searching CINAHL (iResearch)
AMED : Allied and Complementary Medicine via OvidSP (1985 - present)
A useful specialised database of citations and abstracts for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians covering allied health and alternative treatments to conventional medicine.
Terms & conditions

Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
One of the largest science databases. Provides access to current and retrospective information from high impact research journals. Web of Science also provides citation analysis of authors, journals and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Interactive Tutorials
BMJ Best Practice
A point of care decision-support tool. Provides access to reliable, up-to-date information structured around the patient consultation assisting students and clinicians with diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment decisions.
Terms & conditions

Video tutorial

More databases useful for Exercise and Sports Science (A - Z)  
ABS Census Datapacks
Provides access to Census 2006 Community Profile data & digital boundaries "in bulk" See also CData Online . Australian content
 
anatomy.tv
Human anatomy in 3D. Complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips. "Bad Request (Invalid Verb)" error message workaround:
Edit the URL in the address bar of your browser. Change http://www.anatomy.tv.ezproxy2.library.usyd.edu.au to http://www.anatomy.tv.ezproxy1.library.usyd.edu.au, or vice versa, then press Enter on your keyboard.

Terms & conditions
AUSPORT : Australian Sport Database via Informit Online
A useful source for sport related information in Australia. AUSPORT is produced by the National Sport Information Centre and includes both published and unpublished information on all aspects of sport.
Australian content
Terms & conditions
Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
A major source of statistical data compiled by Australia's official statistical organization. Includes Australian census data, National and State based statistics. Statistics are updated weekdays at 11:30am.
Australian content
 
CAM : Complementary and alternative medicine via Pubmed
A useful source which contains citations to journal articles related to complementary and alternative medicine (Cam). A subset of PubMed.
 
Catalyst
Important: Logout out of Catalyst and if you link through to Martindale, close its window when finished.
Catalyst provides quick, easy access to the popular AusDI Independent Drug Monographs, pharmaceutical company product information (PI), consumer medicine information (CMI) leaflets, drug product images, a product identifier module with convenient links to your choice of drug interaction system(s). The Australian independent drug monographs, originally published in the popular AusDI product, include full-text, evidence-based drug and drug-class monographs. Australian content
 
CData Online 2006
Allows you to create your own tables of Census data on a range of topics such as, age, education, housing, income, transport, religion, ethinicity, occupation and more. Australian content
 
Cochrane Library
A reliable source of up-to-date information and evidence based studies designed to support decisions taken in health care.
Terms & conditions

Introduction to Cochrane (3 mins)


Searching & MESH ( 3:40 mins)
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge
A quick and easy way of keeping up to date with material published in your subject area.
Terms & conditions
Dissertation & Theses Full Text via Proquest
Electronic full text available from 1997 - present.
Containing more than 1.6 million Phd and Masters thesis accepted by accredited educational institutions and universities. Check to see what other thesis candidates have done in your field!
(Note: Very large files; may be slow to download off-campus.)
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
All EBM Reviews: Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CLEED, CLCMR, & CLHTA via OvidSP
This multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the seven Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (CLEED), Health Technology Assessment (CLHTA), and Cochrane Methodology Register (CLMCR).
Terms & conditions
Embase
A major pharmacological, biomedical and drug information database. Contains a large number of full text articles from journals published worldwide.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
Expanded Academic Index ASAP (1980 - present)
Contains an index, abstracts and full-text. Topics covered include communication studies, social science, science and technology, women studies, sociology, environment, and public affairs.
Terms & conditions
GrantSearch
NB: No subscriber search available; free search only
Australia's most comprehensive index of grant opportunities. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Health & Society Database (H&S) via Informit Online
Local database of health policy, services and the social, psychological, legal and ethical issues associated with health which is of direct importance to Australian people and families. Aboriginal health, health administration and economic issues are a core subject area of the database. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge
Discover analytical information on journals such as impact factor and citation frequency.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials

Bookmarking the database
MIMS Online
Important: please close your browser down to end your MIMS session & enable other users to access MIMS.
Australia's most comprehensive and authoritative pharmaceutical database. Provides full information on prescription and non-prescription drugs. Full colour product identification pictures are available.

Also try Catalyst, a generic-based drug information resource. It covers a very comprehensive range of drugs including many over the counter (OTC) and hospital use only products.
Terms & conditions
NICAN
Contains sport and recreation information for people with disabilities Australian content
 
PEDro : The Physiotherapy Evidence DataBase
A useful resource developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality.
 
Proquest Central (formerly Proquest 5000)
ProQuest 5000 puts together a number of databases across a range of subject areas including business, general reference, education, science, technology and medicine. It provides both abstracts, indexing and full text.
Terms & conditions

Quickstart guide
PsycInfo via OvidSP (1806-present)
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes literature from disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Some full text.
Terms & conditions
PubMed
PubMed for handhelds
A free database offering access to the Medline database of citations and abstracts of biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, and PubMed covers fields related to medicine.
 
ScienceDirect
One of the largest online collections of published scientific research. Good coverage of medical related subjects.
Terms & conditions
Trip Database
Health and medical search engine that simultaneously searches evidence based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically appraised topics and articles. Also searches MEDLINE’s Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets
Terms & conditions
University of Sydney Theses
All university theses are listed in the library catalogue. Search by Author, Title, Subject or Keyword.
 

Back to top