Film Studies Databases
![]()
Return to
Film Studies Guide
| Key databases for Film Studies | |
|---|---|
| Australianscreen
View clips from Australian film and television produced over the last 100 years, with curators notes and other information about each title. ![]() |
|
| FIAF : FIAF International Film Archive Database
via Webspirs (1972 - present)
Search the International Index to Film Periodicals, the International Index to Television Periodicals, the List of Periodicals indexed. The main index, International Index to Film Periodicals contains over 230 000 article references from more than 300 periodicals. It offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present. |
Terms & Conditions |
| Film and Television Literature Index via Ebsco (1990 - present)
This is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed foruse by film scholars, students and general viewers. |
Terms & conditions |
| Film Index International
Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment, films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. |
Terms & conditions |
| MLA : Modern Languages Association International Biography via Ebsco (1890's - present)
References scholarly works on Film and literature and criticism. MLA contains some full text articles. |
Terms & conditions |
| More databases useful for Film Studies (A - Z) | |
| APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit
Contains the journal indexing of the APAIS bibliographic database 1978-, with the addition of scanned images of the top 200 journals indexed from 1994/95.
|
Terms & conditions |
| Dissertation & Theses Full Text
Access to full text doctoral dissertations and master's theses, mainly from US universities. |
Terms & conditions |
| Expanded Academic Index ASAP via Gale
Access to abstracts from more than 1500 journals and to the full-text of over 500 journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences. |
Terms & Conditions. |
| Factiva (Good coverage from the mid 1980's - present)
Full text access to news, recent book, film and theatre reviews from International and Australian news papers and new media sources. |
|
| Google Scholar
Searches academic information on the internet and may allow access to publicatins subscribed to by the University of Sydney Library. |
|
| JSTOR
JSTOR provides full text access to the entire archive of key journals in the Humanities. |
Terms & Conditions. |
|
TVNews via Informit Online (September 2007 - present) TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs programs, and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks and links to the video files. (Local nightly news programmes currently included are Melbourne broadcasts.) Access problem? Delete your browser cookies and temporary internet files. (For Internet Explorer 7: Tools > Internet Options > Browsing History) Provided access is restricted to University of Sydney staff and students, the material is used for educational purposes and the Copyright Part VA Warning Notice is displayed, possible uses of TVNews items include:
|
Terms & conditions Access help |
Back to top


