French Studies Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to French Studies Guide

Key databases for French Studies  
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit Online (1978 - present)
Useful for Franco - Australian relationships, references articles for over 200 Australian social science and humanites journals. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Factiva (Good coverage from the 1990's - present)
Access to articles, recent book, film and theatre reviews from French newspapers, including Liberation, Le Monde, Le Figaro and Le Temps as well as Reuters and Agence France Presse news services.
  Help finding French articles
Frantext (13th century - 1950's)
Frantext references more than 3,700 French texts from 13th century to 20th, spanning literature, philosophy, arts and sciences.
Information in English about Frantext
JSTOR
JSTOR provides full text access to the entire archive of key journals in French Studies.
Terms & conditions.
MLA : Modern Languages Association International Biography via Ebsco (1890's - present)
References scholarly works on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics and film in French Studies. MLA contains some full text articles.
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for French Studies (A - Z)  
Atelier National de Reproduction des Theses.
Provides details of recent French theses
 
AUSTLIT : Australian Literature Gateway
References to Australian/French authors and their works, references to criticism, correspondence and interviews as well as providing details and locations of theses dealing with Australian literature. Australian content
Help
Dissertation & Theses Full Text
Access to full text doctoral dissertations and master's theses, mainly from US universities.
Terms & conditions
FIAF : FIAF International Film Archive Database via Webspirs (1972 - present)
References over 300 academic and popular Film and Television journals.
Terms & conditions
Film Index International
References international films and provides bibliographies of particluar films.
 
French texts available via SETIS : The Sydney Electronic Text and Image Service
Online French texts including Voltaire and Diderot's Encyclopedia.
 
Google Scholar
Searches academic information on the internet and may allow access to publications subscribed to by the University of Sydney Library.
 
Historical Abstracts via Ebsco (1954-present)
References research on French exploration of the Pacific region and on Franco-Australian relationships.
Terms & conditions
LLBA : Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts via CSA (1960's - present)
References Linguistic peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, books and book review. An increasing number of articles are available in full text.
Terms & conditions
Project Muse
Project Muse provides full text access to over 300 peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Terms & conditions
Sociological Abstracts via CSA (1950's - present)
References articles, books and web resources on French sociology and French social movements.
Terms & conditions

Help
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge (1990 - present)
One of the largest Humanities and Social Sciences databases with coverage of French Studies. It also provides citation analysis of authors and journals.
Terms & conditions

Help

Back to top