Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Gender and Cultural Studies Databases

Return to Gender and Cultural Studies Guide

Key databases for Gender and Cultural Studies  
Project Muse
Full-text access to humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers. Articles cover theoretical aspects of cultural studies.
Terms & conditions

Help
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text(1978 - present)
References journal articles and other published material in the social sciences and humanities. Selected full-text from 1994/1995. Australian content
Terms & Conditions (pdf)
JSTOR
Full-text for major journals in the Social Sciences & Humanities. Latest five years are not available in this database.
Terms & conditions
Social Theory
Brings together an extensive range of influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day.
Terms & conditions
Women's Studies International via Ebsco (1972 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education
Terms & conditions
Communication & Mass Media Completevia Ebsco (1915 - present)
References articles, conference papers, magazines and books in media studies, journalism, publishing, public relations and related disciplines. Useful for locating academic journals in media and communications.
Terms and Conditions
Sociological Abstracts(1952 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on sociology, contemporary culture, gender and other related disciplines in the social sciences & humanities. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in Gender & Cultural Studies.
Terms & conditions

(pdf)
Web of Sciencevia ISI Web of Knowledge
Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities citation indexes, useful for citation and subject searching for articles, books and reviews in the social sciences and related disciplines. Allows the identification of key articles in a discipline.
Terms & conditions

Help
Proquest Central (formerly Proquest 5000)
Multiple databases covering disciplines within the Social Sciences. Also includes digitised collections of key US newspapers, dissertations & theses.
Terms & conditions

Help (pdf)
Google Scholar
Searches academic information on the internet. May also allow access to publications to which the University of Sydney Library subscribes.
 
Factiva
Full-text news, commentary, pictures and media transcripts from over 8,000 overseas and Australian news media sources.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage.
Help (pdf)
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
More databases for Gender and Cultural Studies (A - Z)  
AUSTLIT : Australian Literature Gateway
References to the work Australian authors and their works, includes; criticism, correspondence and interviews as well as providing details and locations of theses dealing with Australian literature. Australian content
Help
Expanded Academic Index ASAPvia Gale Infotrac
References articles and reviews in humanities, cultural and gender studies, social science, politics and communication studies.
Results may include full text via Ingenta. Post-graduates and staff may request pay-per-view Ingenta articles from Interlibrary Loans
Terms & Conditions
Family - Australian Family & Society Abstracts Database via Informit Online (1980 - present)
Comprehensive index and abstracts database which covers research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Tutorials:
Basic
Advanced
Family & Society Plus via Informit Online (1980 - present)
References research, policy and practice issues relating to Australian families and society. Includes journal articles, government documents and publications from non profit and advocacy organisations. Selected full-text from 2000. Australian content
Terms & Conditions (pdf)
Film &amp Television Literature Index
References journals, books, magazines and reviews in the creative, cultural, social, political and historical aspects of television, films and film making.
Terms & conditions
Historical Abstracts
References articles, reviews and conference papers on world history (1450 to the present), excluding America, includes cultural & social history.
Terms & conditions
Libraries Australia
Searches the combined catalogues of Australian libraries and also includes access to other major Library catalogues and repositories. Australian content
Help
MLA : Modern Languages Association International Bibliographyvia Ebsco (1988 - present)
References to scholarly works in literature, linguistics and folklore in English, French, German, Italian and other languages on the topics of literature, literary theory and criticism, genres, linguistics and folklore.
Terms &amp Conditions
MAIS : Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studiesvia Informit Online (1988 - present)
Covers immigration and multicultural issues, including ethnicity, racism and history and culture. Compiled by the Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs Library. References articles and other published and unpublished material. Australian content
Terms & Conditions (pdf)

Help
PAIS : Public Affairs Information Servicevia Proquest (1972 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources in international policy & governance issues, political science and other disciplines within the social sciences. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in the social & political sciences.
Terms & Conditions

Sport Discusvia Ebsco
Includes references to articles in all major sports, sports physiology, sports medicine and psychology journals as well as fitness and exercise related sources.
Terms & Conditions
Trove Digitised Newspapers
Searchable, full-text Australian newspapers digitised by the National Library of Australia, including The Sydney Morning Herald 1842-1954 and many more. Australian content
 
World Wide Political Science Abstractsvia Proquest (1975 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources in cultural politic sand society and in related social science disciplines. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in cultural politics.
Terms & Conditions

Statistical databases useful for Gender and Cultural Studies  
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australia's official statistical organisation. Freely available data for social, health, economic and demographic research and census data for 1996-2006. Links to other statistical agencies via the ABS subject themes page. Australian content
 
ASSDA : Australian Social Sciences Data Archive(1977 - present)
Over 2,000 data sets from Australian and non-Australian Studies. Data available for research includes opinion polls, electoral studies, education, youth studies, social welfare and social attitudes. Access information is available from the ASSDA website. Australian content
 

Back to top