Germanic Studies Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Germanic Studies Guide

Key databases for Germanic Studies  
Factiva (Good coverage from the mid 1990's - present)
Access to articles, recent book, film and theatre reviews from German newspapers including Die Spiegel, Taz, Berliner Zeitung, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung and news services Reuters and Passeuer Neue Presse.
 
Film Index International
References international films and provides bibliographies of particular films.
 
JSTOR
JSTOR provides full text access to the entire archive of key journals in Germanic Studies.
Terms & Conditions.
LLBA : Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts via CSA (1960's - present)
References peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, books and book review citations. An increasing number of articles are available in full text.
Terms & conditions
MLA: Modern Languages Association International Biography via Ebsco (1890's - present)
References scholarly works on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics and film in Germanic Studies. MLA contains some full text articles.
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Germanic Studies (A - Z)  
APA-FT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text via (1978-present)
Useful for German - Australian relationships, references articles for over 200 Australian social science and humanites journals. Australian content
Terms & conditions
AUSTLIT : Australian Literature Gateway
References to Australian/German authors and their works, references to criticism, correspondence and interviews as well as providing details and locations of theses dealing with Australian literature. Australian content
Help
Dissertation & Theses Full Text
Access to full text doctoral dissertations and master's theses, mainly from US universities.
Terms & conditions
FIAF : FIAF International Film Archive Database via Webspirs (1972 - present)
References over 300 academic and popular film and television journals.
Terms & conditions
German texts available via SETIS : The Sydney Electronic Text and Image Service
Online Germanic texts including Nietzsche's complete works and works by Kant and Leibniz.
 
Google Scholar
Searches academic information on the internet and may allow access to publications subscribed to by the University of Sydney Library.
 
Historical Abstracts via Ebsco (1954-present)
References research on German exploration and history.
Terms & conditions
Project Muse (Mid 1990's onwards)
Project Muse provides full text access to over 300 peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Terms & conditions
Sociological Abstracts via CSA (1950's - present)
References articles, books and web resources on German sociology and German social movements
Terms & conditions

Help
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
One of the largest Humanities and Social Sciences databases with coverage of Germanic Studies. It also provides citation analysis of authors and journals.
Terms & conditions

Help

Back to top