Government & International Relations Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Government Guide & International Relations

Key Databases | News databases | Statistical databases | Legal & Parliamentary |
More databases for Government & International Relations


Key databases for Government & International Relations  
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text (1978 - present)
The main database for Australian politics, public affairs and economics. Bibliographic index to journal articles, major newspaper articles, conference papers and some books. Includes selected full text articles from 1994. Australian content

Terms & conditions (pdf)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - present)
Built on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts and ABC Pol Sci, this database provides abstracts of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
Terms & conditions
International Political Science Abstracts (2007 - present)
Compiled by published by the International Political Science Association in co-operation with the International Committee for Social Sciences Documentation. Volumes 1-54 (1951-2004) held in Fisher Reference 320.016 2
 
PAIS : Public Affairs Information Service via CSA (1972 - present)
Bibliographic index to journal articles, government documents, reports, books in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish on contemporary social, economic and political issues and public policy.
Terms & conditions
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on sociology and other related social science disciplines. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in the Social Sciences.
Terms & conditions

Help
ProQuest Social Science Journals
Searchable collection of full text journals covering the social sciences and political sciences.
Web of Science
Provides citation and subject searching for articles, books and reviews in the social sciences and related disciplines. Allows the identification of key articles in a discipline and to search by cited reference, that is to trace references that refer to a particular work or author.
Terms & conditions
Business Source Premier via Ebsco (1922 - present)
References research in business & economics journals and journals within the broader social science disciplines that relate to socio-economic research. Includes many full text scholarly journals.
Terms & conditions
AGIS Plus Text : Attorney General's Information Service (1975 - present)
Bibliographic database with selected full text (from 1999) covering all aspects of law including administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, environmental law, human rights, international law and trade practices. Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)
Proquest 5000 via Proquest
References research in social science and business journals. Includes many full text scholarly journals.
Terms & conditions
Legal and Parliamentary Databases for Government & International Relations  
ParlinfoWeb
Freely available Australian parliamentary documents including debates (Hansard), media releases, legislation, bills, second readings, explanatory memorandum, senate and house committee transcripts, background papers and research notes. The parliamentary website also includes links to Committee websites and Parliamentary papers index Australian content
Help
AGIS Plus Text : Attorney General's Information Service (1975 - present)
References journal articles, government documents and publications from non profit organizations and law reform commissions. Covers all aspects of the Law in Australia, New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific. Full-text for selected publications from 1999. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Help
AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute
Freely available primary legal materials: legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals); and secondary legal publications including law reform and royal commission reports and a substantial collection of law journals. Provides access to the law in other countries via AsianLII, WorldLII, NZLII, BaiLII etc. Australian content
Help
Agreements, Treaties and Negotiated Settlements Database
Online gateway linking "current information, historical detail and published material relating to agreements made between Indigenous people and others in Australia and overseas" Australian content
 
AFPD : Australian Federal Police Digest (1991 - present)
References criminology, law enforcement, law, management and policing issues in the social science. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Help
Capital Monitor's University Intranet (1990 - present)
Parliamentary and Legal information from federal and selected State Parliaments. Includes extracts from debates, press releases, case information, policy and legislative documents. Full-text available for many publications. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Content & Coverage
CINCH : Australian Criminology Database (1968 - present)
References published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime and criminal justice in Australia. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Help
Halsbury's Laws of Australia via LexisNexisAu
Statements of legal principle covering all jurisdictions in Australia. Browse categories or sub-categories or search by legal principle, keyword, phrase, case or legislation. Updated by Australian Current Law: Reporter.
Browser settings Australian content
Help
New South Wales Parliamentary & Information Resources
Freely available New South Wales parliamentary documents including debates (Hansard), media releases, legislation, bills, second readings & explanatory memorandum, senate and house committee transcripts, background papers and research papers. Australian content
Help
News databases for Government & International Relations  
Factiva
Full-text news, commentary, pictures and media transcripts from over 8,000 overseas and Australian news media sources.
Help
World News Connection
Compiled by the United States Foreign Broadcasting Information Service (FBIS) from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Material is translated and either an extract, or the full publications is available from the database.
Terms & Conditions

Help
Statistical databases useful for Government & International Relations  
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australia's official statistical organisation. Freely available data for social, health, economic and demographic research and census data for 1996 - 2006. Links to other statistical agencies via the ABS subject themes page. Australian content
 
ASSDA : Australian Social Sciences Data Archive (1977 - present)
Over 2,000 data sets from Australian and non-Australian studies. Data available for research includes census data, opinion polls, electoral studies, education, youth studies, social welfare and social attitudes. Access information is available from the ASSDA website. Australian content
 
ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICSPRI) (1977 - present)
ICPSR maintains and provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction. Access to data via ASSDA. Information on data sets aviable from ICPSR website.
 
Source OECD
Full-text for all OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) publications, useful for economic, social data and analysis.
Terms & conditions

Help
World Development Indicators (1997 - present)
Published by the World Bank this database contains 900 indicators organised in six sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links

Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.
 
More databases useful for Government & International Relations (A - Z)  
Asia-Studies Full-text Online
Full-text reports from many research institutions in the Asia-Pacific region, covering 53 countries on a a wide range of business, government, economic, and social issues.
 
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australia's official statistical organisation. Freely available data for social, health, economic and demographic research and census data for 1996-2006. Links to other statistical agencies via the ABS subject themes page. Australian content
 
Capital Monitor
Parliamentary and legal information from federal and selected state sources. Monitors Bills, Acts, High Court and Tax rulings, elections and budgets. Tracks information by selected popular topics. Australian content
 
CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online (1991 - present)
Full text database including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
 
Econlit via CSA (1969 - present)
Abstracts of journal articles, books, theses, conference proceedings, research papers, book reviews and working papers in economic theory and application.
  Terms & conditions
Expanded Academic Index ASAP via Infotrac
Abstracts journals including the full-text of 520 journals indexed (last 3 years). Topics covered include humanities, communication studies, social science, science and technology, women studies, sociology, environment, and public affairs.
Terms & conditions
Family & Society Plus (1980 - present)
Covers published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)
IFS : International Financial Statistics (1945 - present)
Time series database produced by the International Monetary Fund, providing statistics for a wide range of economic and financial indicators.
 
JSTOR
Full-text of major academic journals and scholarly literature from around the world in the Social and Political Sciences. Latest five years not available in this database.
Terms & conditions
Legaltrac
via Infotrac (1980 - present) indexing legal journals including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.
Terms & conditions
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the Social Sciences and Humanities. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Social Services Abstracts via CSA (1980 - present)
Bibliographic coverage of current research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Terms & conditions
SourceOECD
Full-text for all OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) publications, including documents, periodicals and statistical databases.
Terms & conditions (pdf)
United Nations Treaty Collection
(Scroll down to access to databases) Website providing full text access to all treaties and international agreements entered into by any Member of the United Nations.
Terms & conditions

Back to top