Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Hebrew, Biblical and Jewish Studies Databases



Hebrew & Yiddish Studies Databases | Biblical Studies Databases | Jewish Studies Databases

Key databases for Hebrew, Biblical and Jewish Studies  
RAMBI : Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (1985-present)
References to journal articles, chapters and reviews (in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages)in the field of Judaica.
 
Brill Journals
Full text academic journals with a strong international focus, including the Middle East & Judaic Studies.
Terms & conditions
Encyclopaedia Judaica
The 2007 second edition, includes more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
Terms & conditions
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of electronic reference works which includes the Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict, the Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity, the Encyclopedia of Religion and the Encyclopedia of Terrorism.
Terms & conditions
More Databases useful for Hebrew, Biblical and Jewish Studies (A - Z)  
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit Online (1978-present)
Contains APAIS: Australian Public Affairs Information Service 1978 to present, which indexes articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. It also includes full text articles 1994/1995 to present, from the top 200 journals indexed.
Australian content
 
Cambridge Companions Online
Cambridge Companions are lively introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. They contain essays written to appeal to student readers. Together the chapters add up to a systematic critical account of, for example Plato, Luther, Tom Stoppard or Stravinsky, the French Novel or Jewish American Literature.
Access to Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics, and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture, and Companions in Music.
Terms & conditions
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection - search via Informit Online
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection - browse titles
This provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. The broad subject coverage ensures relevance to library users of all interests especially Aboriginal and indigenous studies, arts, history, law, literary studies, media, political science and sociology. Australian content
Terms & conditions
JSTOR
Full text of major Humanities journals. Does not include the current five years of issues.
Terms & conditions
Dissertation & Theses Full Text
Major source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text is available from 1997 to the present.

Note: It contains very large files; may be slow to download off-campus.

Terms & conditions

Help
Expanded Academic Index ASAP via Gale Infotrac (1980-present)
Full text and abstracts from a large number of multidisciplinary journals.
Terms & conditions
Factiva
Full text newspaper articles and pictures of over 8,000 international newspaper and newswire publications, from mid-1980s onwards.
For Australian news sources, the Fairfax publications archive includes The Sydney Morning Herald 1986+, Australian Financial Review 1987+, BRW 1989+, and the News Limited archive includes The Australian 1996+.
Note: Click Logout when finished.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage.
User Guide

Quick Search Tips

Browser Help
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine.
Google Scholar settings
 
Project Muse
Full text of peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Terms & conditions
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Web of Science
Contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Useful for subject and citation searching for any discipline.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
More databases useful for Hebrew & Yiddish Studies  
LLBA : Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts via Proquest (1973 - present)
References to journal articles, books and reviews on all aspects of lanugae and linguistics.
Terms & conditions
MLA : Modern Languages Association International Bibliography via Ebsco (1926 - present)
Contains bibliographic references to scholarly works, literature, linguistics and folklore in English, French, German, Italian and other languages on the topics of literature, literary theory and criticism, genres, linguistics and folklore.
 
More databases useful for Biblical Studies  
ATLA Religion Database via EbscoHost (1949 - present)
References to journal articles, books and reviews on religion, biblical studies and related fields, particularly in the West.
Terms & conditions
Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Reference Library
Digitized images of all the Biblical and non-Biblical Dead Sea scrolls, approx 800 works, from the caves of Khirbert Qumran.

Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.
 
Religious Periodicals via ProQuest
Full text of articles from academic and popular journals on religion.
Terms & conditions
BTL : Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina
Complete text of ancient Latin works from c. 300 BC to c.500 AD. BTL does not include prefaces or critical notes. The search functions and text are in Latin.

Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop. When prompted for a password, click on "OK"..
 
PHI : Packard Humanities Institute
PHI #5.3 contains Latin literature to AD 200, excluding later writers such as Servius, Porphyry, Zeno and Justinian. It also contains versions of the Bible - King James, RSV, Latin, Vulgate, Septuagint, Hebrew and Coptic New Testament.

PHI #7 contains Greek inscriptions from the Greek Epigraphy Project, Greek Papyri from the Duke Data Bank, and Coptic & Nag Hammadi writings.

Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.

Instructions:
  • Click on the "Musaios - TLG" icon.
  • When prompted for a password, click on "OK".
  • Click on the "File" command to select CDROM: PHI7
  • Click on the "Search" command then highlight "Create Search Specification" to begin a search.
 
Patrologia Latina
The "Works of the Latin Fathers" from about AD 200 to AD 1216. It is the complete electronic version of Migne's 1st edition.
 
Philosopher’s Index via WebSpirs (1940 - present)
References to journal articles, books and reviews on philosophy and related disciplines.
 
More databases useful for Jewish Studies  
Historical Abstracts via Ebsco (1954-present)
References to articles, books and reviews on world history (1450 to the present), excluding North America, including cultural diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics.
Terms & conditions
Index Islamicus via Brill (1906 - present)
References to journal articles, book chapters and reviews on all aspects of Islam.
Terms & conditions
PAIS : Public Affairs Information Service via Proquest (1972-present)
References to articles, government documents, reports, books, on contemporary social, economic and political issues.
Terms & conditions

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts : WPSA via Proquest (1975-present)
References to articles, books and reviews on political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Terms & conditions

Back to top