Medical Sciences Databases (Medicine § Public Health)

Ask A Librarian

Return to Medicine Subject Guide (Includes classes and tutorials)
Return to Medical Science Subject Guide
Return to Public Health Subject Guide
Return to Dentistry Subject Guide (Includes classes and tutorials)

Key databases for Medical Sciences  
Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine´s premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the preclinical sciences, health administration, and the health care system.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
Embase.com (1966 - present)
European equivalent of Medline covering biomedicine and pharmacy.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
All EBM Reviews: Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CLEED, CLCMR, & CLHTA via OvidSP
This mutifile database allows you to search simultaneously the seven Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews;   ACP Journal ClubDatabase of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR),   NHS Economic Evaluation Database (CLEED),   Health Technology Assessment (CLHTA),   Cochrane Methodology Register (CLMCR)
Note that Mapping is not available in Multifile databases.
Terms & Conditions
Apais-Health via Informit Online (1978 - present)
Covers health and medicine in Australia, in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)
Cinahl via Ebsco (1982 - present)
The place to start for nursing and allied health research.
Terms & conditions

Searching Cinahl
Web of Science
One of the largest Science databases. Provides access to current and retrospective information from high impact research journals. Also provides citation analysis of authors, journals and subject areas.
Terms & Conditions

Tutorial
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & Conditions
MIMS Online
Important: please close your browser down to end your MIMS session.
An Australian pharmaceutical database. It offers access to information on prescription and non-prescription drugs. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Medicines Complete (2006 - present)
Access to several major resources in pharmacy and pharmacology.
Terms & conditions
AccessPharmacy via McGraw Hill (2007 - present)
A comprehensive resource for pharmacy education.
 
More databases useful for Medical Sciences (A - Z)  
ABS Census Datapacks
Provides access to Census 2006 Community Profile data & digital boundaries "in bulk" See also CData Online . Australian content
 
AgeLine (AARP AgeLine) (1978 - present)
AgeLine provides bibliographic references and original abstracts for materials related to aging and middle age, from an interdisciplinary perspective of psychology, economics, sociology, gerontology, public policy, business, health and health care services, and consumer issues.
Terms & Conditions
AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine via OvidSP (1985 - present)
Covers journal articles on allied and alternative health including acupuncture, homeopathy, hypnosis, chiropractic, osteopathy, rehabilitation, herbalism, holistic treatments, Chinese medicine, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, podiatry.
Terms & Conditions
AMH - Australian Medicines Handbook
A reliable, up-to-date, comparative, practical formulary covering most of the drugs marketed in Australia published on behalf of ASCEPT, the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia and the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners. Australian content
 
anatomy.tv
Human anatomy in 3D. Complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips.
"Bad Request (Invalid Verb)" error message workaround:
Edit the URL in the address bar of your browser. Change http://www.anatomy.tv.ezproxy2.library.usyd.edu.au to http://www.anatomy.tv.ezproxy1.library.usyd.edu.au, or vice versa, then press Enter on your keyboard.

Terms & Conditions
ATSIHealth via Informit Online (1900 - present)
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander subset of Apais which includes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous health. Australian content
Terms & Conditions (pdf)
AusportMed via Informit Online (1989 - present)
A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of medical and health issues in Australian sport. Australian content
Terms & Conditions (pdf)
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
Contains links to articles, policy documents, reports and other material on Indigenous health and wellbeing. Topics include chronic and infectious conditions, health determinants, risk factors and specific population groups. Browse by topic or search the Bibliography. Australian content
 
Biomed Central
Provides free access to more than 180 peer-reviewed open access journals.
 
BIOSIS Previews via Web of Knowledge (1926 - present)
Covers life sciences and biomedical research worldwide including: journals, meetings, patents, and books.
Terms & Conditions
BMJ Journals
Authoritative journals published by the BMJ (British Medical Journal) Group
 
Books@Ovid via OvidSP
Provides key medical, nursing, health sciences and pharmacy online textbooks. (Please Logoff when finished)
Terms & Conditions
British Pharmacopoeia 2007
The authoritative collection of standards for UK medicinal substances and the official source of all UK pharmaceutical quality standards, including 23 new monographs of national origin and 65 new monographs reproduced from Supplements 5.3, 5.4 and 5.5 of the European Pharmacopoeia.
Login required on-campus
Access help
Burger´s Medicinal Chemistry and Drug Discovery via Wiley Interscience
Offers easy access to broad coverage of medicinal chemistry and drug discovery for new, as well as experienced, medicinal chemists, biologists, pharmacologists, and molecular biologists. Burger´s offers a comprehensive, global perspective of drug design and drug development
Terms & Conditions
CareSearch (1980 - present)
A palliative care resource funded by the Department of Health and Ageing that aims to provide evidence based, quality information to the palliative care community. Australian content
Terms & Conditions
CData Online 2006
Allows you to create your own tables of Census data on a range of topics such as, age, education, housing, income, transport, religion, ethinicity, occupation and more. Australian content
 
CINCH - Health
see Health Issues in Criminal Justice
 
Clinical Evidence via BMJ (2001 - present)
BMJ Clinical Evidence reviews the current state of knowledge and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of clinical conditions, based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature and describes the best available evidence from systematic reviews, RCTs, and observational studies where appropriate.
Terms & conditions

User Guide
Cochrane Library via Wiley Interscience
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. In addition to Cochrane reviews, provides other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.
Guide
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge (1998 - present)
A quick and easy way of keeping up to date. Coverage includes clinical medicine, science, social science, arts and humanities.
Terms & Conditions
Counseling and Therapy in Video
A collection of videos for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counselling
Terms & conditions
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : text revision, DSM-IV-TR
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : text revision, DSM-IV-TR Electronic version of 2000 edition published by the American Psychiatric Association.
Terms & conditions
Drug Database (DRUG) via Informit Online (1974 - present)
Produced by the Alcohol and other Drugs Council of Australia (ADCA) in Canberra and covers material on the psychosocial aspects of drug abuse. Australian content
Terms & Conditions (pdf)
Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information
Covers information on prescriptions and medications through two drug resources: USP DI and Advice for the Patient. Information on herbs and supplements are provided by Natural Standard.
 
EBM Reviews : ACP Journal Club via OvidSP (1991 - present)
ACP Journal Club (ACP)is part of Ovid's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection, selects articles that report original studies and systematic reviews that warrant attention by physicians attempting to keep pace with important advances in internal medicine; these articles are summarized in value-added abstracts and commented on by clinical experts.
Terms & Conditions
EBM Reviews : Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews via OvidSP
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews on the effects of health care prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration.
Terms & Conditions
EBM Reviews : Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR) via OvidSP (1991 - present)
Includes all controlled trials identified by Cochrane Review Groups and other groups together with references to clinical trials identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE.
Terms & Conditions
EBM Reviews : Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE) via OvidSP (1991 - present)
Contains critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. Topics covered include diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.
Terms & Conditions
EBM Reviews : Health Technology Assessment database via OvidSP
Produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD), the Health Technology Assessment database brings together details on ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions).
 
EBM Reviews : NHS Economic Evaluation Database Guide via OvidSP
The NHS Economic Evaluation Database contains over 6000 abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations and provides cost-benefit analyses of healthcare.
Terms & Conditions
eTG Complete (Therapeutic Guidelines)
The recommendations in the Australian Therapeutic Guidelines are based on the latest international literature, interpreted by Australian experts, and aim to represent the essence of current available evidence for the management of patients with specific conditions. Australian content
 
Health & Society Database (H&S) via Informit
Covers health policy and services and the social, psychological, legal and ethical issues associated with health that are of direct importance to Australian people and families. Australian content
Terms & Conditions (pdf)
Health issues in Criminal Justice (CINCH-Health) via Informit Online (1968 - present)
Covers mental health, medical and medico-legal issues, drugs and alcohol, suicide, HIV/AIDS, corrections health, euthanasia, and occupational health and safety and is produced by the Australian Institute of Criminology. Australian content
Terms & Conditions (pdf)
History of Science, Technology and Medicine(HST) via FirstSearch (1975 - present)
Covers journal articles, conference proceedings, book reviews, and dissertations dealing with the history of science and technology.
 
HIVA- HIV/AIDS Database via Informit Online (1980 - present)
Produced by the the NSW HIV/AIDS Library Network and deals with the clinical, nutritional, medical, social and psychological aspects of HIV/AIDS. Australian content
Terms & Conditions (pdf)
images.MD
This features more than 48,000 medical images, each accompanied by explanatory text. Register to create your own image library with personal notes.
Terms & Conditions

User guide (pdf)
Index to Dental Literature
See Medline
 
International Nursing
See Medline
 
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts via OvidSP
Covers clinical and technical drug information, pharmacy practice, pharmaceutical education, legal aspects of pharmacy and drugs.
Terms & Conditions
Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge (2000 - present)
Discover analytical information on selected journals such as impact factor and citation frequency.
Terms & Conditions
Maternity and Infant Care via OvidSP (1971 to present)
This unique database contains over 120,000 references with abstracts to journal articles from over 550 international English language journals, books, and grey literature relating to pregnancy, labor, birth, postnatal care, and neonatal care and the first year of an infant$’s life.
 
MDConsult
MDConsult consists of cross searchable full text medical reference books and full text medical journals and clinics.
Terms & Conditions
Medicines Complete (2006 - present)
Access to several major resources in pharmacy and pharmacology.
Terms & conditions
Meditext via Informit Online (1968 - present)
Australian literature on all aspects of health and medicine Australian content
Terms & Conditions (pdf)
OLDMEDLINE via OvidSP (1950-1965)
Contains articles published between 1950-1965 without Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
Terms & conditions
Pre-Medline via OvidSP
Consists of the in-process journal articles that will be put into the Medline database after they have been enhanced with MeSH headings and also includes journal article records from journals found in PubMed but not selected for MEDLINE (these PubMed records will not be added to the Medline database).
Terms & conditions
ProQuest 5000
Offers a number of databases across a range of subject areas including business, general reference, education, science, technology and medicine.
Terms & Conditions
Psychiatry Online
Includes fully searchable access to DSM-IV-TR® (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. 4th ed Text Revision), DSM-IV-TR® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-IV-TR®Casebook and its Treatment Companion, the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines in both comprehensive and quick reference formats, Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry, 4th ed., and other textbooks; plus the full text of 5 The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, Academic Psychiatry, The Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences, Psychosomatics, & Psychiatric News, and the newspaper of the American Psychiatric Association.
Terms & conditions
PsycINFO via OvidSP (1806 - present)
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes literature from disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Terms & Conditions
PubMed
PubMed provides access to around 9 million records drawn primarily from the database MEDLINE and some citations to articles that are not indexed by Medline primarily some general science, general chemistry journals, and some life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral® and may not yet have been recommended for inclusion in MEDLINE and some physics journals that were part of a prototype PubMed in the early to mid-1990's. See also Medline (Ovid).
 
RURAL: Rural and Remote Health Database via Informit Online (1966 - Jan 2006)
Covers rural and remote area health issues and care, and the practice and educational needs of health providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses and is produced by the Monash University School of Rural Health. Australian content
Terms & Conditions
SciFinder Web Version
International chemistry journal articles, conferences, books, reports, patents within the Chemical Abstracts database; Chemical Abstracts from 1907, and Medline from 1966. Subject coverage includes chemical engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacy, pharmacology, agricultural chemistry, food science and medicine.

Note: New users must register before using the web version. Your UniKey login is required for registration.

This database can only be used by staff and students of the University of Sydney.
More info
SciFinder Scholar client version
SciFinder Scholar client version is no longer accessible. Please use the web version.
SPORTDiscus via Ebsco (1800 - present)
Covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education and biomechanics.
Terms & Conditions
STAT!Ref
Includes more than 20 full text resources in the areas of medicine, pharmacy, health sciences and dentistry.
find Stat!ref titles

Helpsheet
TOXNET
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas
 
Web of Knowledge via ISI Web of Knowledge
This portal hosts Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, and via the Additional Resources tab, Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators. Its CrossSearch feature enables a "quick overview" search of these databases and also searches Agricola and Pubmed.
Terms & Conditions

Tutorial

Back to top