History Databases

Ask A Librarian

Go to History Guide

Australian Databases | Medieval Databases | European Databases | United States Databases

Key databases for History  
Historical Abstracts via Ebsco (1954-present)
References to articles, books and reviews on world history (1450 to the present), excluding North America, including cultural diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics.
Terms & conditions
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
A freely available collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts edited by Paul Halsall of Fordham University for educational use.
 
JSTOR
Full text of major History journals. Does not include the current five years of issues.
Terms & conditions
Empire Online
Full text primary sources and images on the art, culture, literature, racism, religion and imperialism of empire from 1492 - 2007. The creators have endeavoured to find sources from all continents.
 
Making of Modern Law Legal Treatises 1800 - 1926
Fully searchable legal treatises comprising over 21,000 works from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries on British Commonwealth and American law. These include casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches.
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for History (A - Z)  
CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online (1991-present)
References and full text of articles, books, working papers and policy briefs on source for theory and research in international affairs
Note: To view full text off-campus, click CIAO remote access button and register.



Dissertation & Theses Full Text
Major source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text is available from 1997 to the present.

Note: It contains very large files; may be slow to download off-campus.

Terms & conditions

Help
Expanded Academic Index ASAP via Gale Infotrac (1980-present)
Full text and abstracts from a large number of multidisciplinary journals.
Terms & conditions
Factiva
Full text newspaper articles and pictures of over 8,000 international newspaper and newswire publications, from mid-1980s onwards.

Note: Click Logout when finished.
User Guide

Search Tips

Browser Help
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full text of academic encyclopedias. It includes the Dictionary of American History, Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict, Encyclopedia of Black Studies, Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society, Encyclopedia of Russian History, Encyclopedia of Terrorism and Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World.
Terms & conditions
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine.
 
Oxford Reference Online
Contains over 130 dictionaries, including bilingual dictionaries and the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages and the Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment.
Terms & conditions
PAIS : Public Affairs Information Service via CSA (1972-present)
References to articles, government documents, reports, books, on contemporary social, economic and political issues.
Terms & conditions

Help
Project Muse
Full text of peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Terms & conditions
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Useful for subject and citation searching for any discipline.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts : WPSA via CSA (1975-present)
References to articles, books and reviews on political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Terms & conditions
Databases useful for Australian History  
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit Online (1978-present)
Contains APAIS: Australian Public Affairs Information Service 1978 to present, which indexes articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. It also includes full text articles 1994/1995 to present, from the top 200 journals indexed.
Journals available in Full Text
Journals indexed
Australian content

Help
ADB : Australian Dictionary of Biography
Australia's pre-eminent dictionary of national biography. There are over 10,000 scholarly biographies of significant Australians who died before 1980. Australian content
Help
AHB : Australia's Heritage Bibliography via Informit Online (1987-present)
References to published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment.
Australian content
Terms & conditions

Help
Australian Newspapers
Freely available resource that is part of the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program. The full text of a small number of newspapers is available. Australian content
Help
Australian Studies Resources via SETIS
Full text of Australian literary and historical texts such as: Australian Literary and Historical Texts; Australian Federation Full Text Database; Journals of Inland Exploration, and First Fleet and Early Settlement. There are also links to resources like: Australian Key Journals: Periodicals Contents Index

Australian content
 
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection via Informit e-Library (1998-present)
Informit e-Library is an e-press for Australian and Asia-Pacific information and provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. Links to individual titles will be made available from the Library online catalogue.
Australian content

Terms & conditions
MacquarieNet: Australia's Online Reference Library
Includes interactive maps of Indigenous Australia and census data. Although primarily aimed at school students, it contains numerous Australian Studies resources. Australian content
 
MIHILIST : Australasian Military History Database via Informit Online (1987 - August 1999)
References to articles and books on pre-1980 Australian, New Zealand and Papua-New Guinean military history and related topics.
Australian content

Terms & conditions

Help
Libraries Australia
The national database of material held in Australian libraries. You can search for a publication and locate which libraries have copies.
Australian content

Help
Picture Australia
Hosted by the National Library of Australia, this is a searchable site of photographs of Australian people, places and events.
Australian content

Terms & conditions

Help
AHRR : Australian Historic Records Registry via Informit Online (1788-1988)
A list of paper-based records (letters, diaries, photographs, financial records, posters, sketches, recipe books, catalogues, minute books, registers and other material) held in private hands in Australia.

Australian content
Help
RAAM : Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts
A guide to collections of personal papers and non-governmental organisational records held by Australian libraries and archives.
Australian content
Help
Australia's Oral History Collections : a national directory
Maintained by the National Library of Australia, this site is a searchable database of Australian oral history recordings. The collections document Australian life, customs, politics and traditions. Australian content
Help
Pandora
Maintained by the National Library of Australia, Pandora is an archive of networked documentary resources and websites relating to Australia.
Australian content

Help
Sydney Morning Herald Archive (1955-1990)
Freely available index to the newspaper. click on the "Browse and search the 1955-1990 archive for FREE" link. To obtain the text of the articles, it is essential to pay, so use the microfilm copy of the SMH (1842-present) in Fisher Audiovisual MIC 079.9941 11 or Factiva (1986-present) to obtain the full text.
Australian content
 
Australian Women's Weekly Index (1946-1971)
A database created by researchers at Flinders University that indexes the years 1946, 1951, 1956, 1961, 1966 and 1971 of this magazine.
Australian content
 
Pioneers Indices
Records of births, deaths and marriages registered in these states: New South Wales, 1788-1918; Tasmania, 1803-1899; Victoria, 1837-1888; Western Australia, 1841-1905. There is also New South Wales Between the Wars, 1919-1945.

Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.
Australian content
 
AUSCHRON : Chronology of Australian Historic and Current Events via Informit Online (1992-present)
Provides a listing of significant events in Australian history with emphasis on current happenings, and covering all topics from politics and law to the arts and sport.

Australian content
Terms & conditions

Help
40 years of the National Trust Journals, 1961-2001
The full text of: National Trust Bulletin, May 1961-July 1979; National Trust Magazine, September 1979-February 1991; National Trust Quarterly, April 1991-October 1997; Reflections, February 1998-October 2001, and out of print material from: conference proceedings, technical bulletins , education kits, Trust alerts and selected images.

Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.

Australian content
 
Chronicles
This is an index to sources of Australian biography in a wide variety of sources, including Who's Whos, biographical dictionaries, topical and local histories, and published family histories.

Australian content



Help
Databases useful for Medieval History  
IMB : International Medieval Bibliography(1967-present)
References to articles, books and reviews on all aspects of the European Middle Ages; also the Middle East and North Africa during 400-1500.
 
Medieval Travel Writing
The full-text and images of European travel writing manuscripts from the later medieval period, with a focus on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia.
Terms & conditions
ARTstor
A searchable repository of digital images and related data, drawn from different sources

Technical requirements:
Flash Player: Version 6 or above; Java: Sun Version 1.3 or above; Pop-up blocking software: Must be disabled or set to allow pop-up windows from www.artstor.org; Cookies: Must be enabled. More...
Terms & conditions
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Freely available, full text primary sources hosted by the Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies.
 
Databases useful for European History  
EEBO : Early English Books Online
Access to the full text of over 125,000 titles published in English between 1473-1700.
Terms & conditions
ECCO : Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Access to the full text of over 150,000 titles published in England or in English between 1701-1800. It is based on the English Short Title Catalogue and contains works reproduced up to 2002. The State Library of NSW holds the microfilm set, including reproductions that have been made since 2002+.
Terms & conditions
Defining Gender
Full text primary sources and images on Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity & the Family, Consumption & Leisure, Education & Sensibility and The Body from 1450 - 1910. Documents are derived from British and European archives
 
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography : ODNB
An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the people who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC onwards. Articles include detailed bibliographies.
 
Terms & conditions

Times Digital Archive via Gale Infotrac, 1785-1985
Full text of every page published by The Times (London) from 1785-1985. You may view an image of the original article or the full page upon which it appeared.
Terms & conditions

Help
BOPCRIS : British Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information Service
Freely available index to approximately 39,000 selected British official publications from 1688-1995. To obtain the text of these documents, use the British Government Publications Guide to see if it is held by the Library. Please contact the History Librarian if you need assistance.
 
Nineteenth Century
Freely available index to the collection of over 25,000 nineteenth-century works available on microfiche. The Library has the Women Writers segment in Fisher Audiovisual MIC 820.8 327.
Help
Iter Italicum
Contains information on Humanistic Latin Renaissance manuscripts and their location in libraries.

Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.
 
More databases useful for United States History  
America : History and Life via EBSCO (1990-present)
References to the articles, books and reviews on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
 
Early American Imprints Series 1, Digital Evans (1639-1800)
Full text of 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides published in America between 1639-1800.
 
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Contains the full text and full image articles from major American newspapers: Chicago Tribune (April 23, 1849-Dec. 31, 1985); The New York Times (Sept 18, 1851-Dec. 31, 2002); The Wall Street Journal (July 8, 1889-Dec. 31, 1988).

Note: Cannot be searched in combination with other Proquest databases.

Terms & conditions
American Memory : Historical collections for the National Digital Library
Freely available, full text primary source materials on American history and culture in the Library of Congress.
 
Nineteenth Century in Print : Books and Periodicals
Freely available; a selection of full text books and magazines published in the United States during the nineteenth century, primarily during the second half of the century.
 

Back to top