Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

History & Philosophy of Science Databases



Go to History & Philosophy of Science Guide

History Databases | Philosophy Databases | Science Databases

Key databases for History & Philosophy of Science  
HSTM : History of Science, Technology and Medicine via OCLC FirstSearch (1975-present)
References to journal articles, chapters and reviews. It covers the influence of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present.
 
BISS : Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza
This database is incorporated into HSTM. It contains references to articles on European history of science and technology.
 
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of electronic reference works which includes the Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics, the Encyclopedia of Bioethics and the New Dictionary of the History of Ideas.
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for History & Philosophy of Science (A - Z)  
Dissertation & Theses Full Text via Proquest (1637 - present)
Major source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text is available for most theses from 1997 onwards.

Note: theses may be slow to download off-campus, as some of the files are large.
Terms & conditions

Help (pdf)
Expanded Academic Index ASAP via Gale Infotrac
Full text and abstracts to over 1500 multidisciplinary journals.
Terms & conditions
Factiva
Full text newspaper articles and pictures from over 8,000 international newspaper and newswire publications.

Note: Click Logout when finished.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage.
User Guide (pdf)

Quick Search Tips (pdf)

Browser Help
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine.
 
JSTOR
Full text of major Classics and Ancient History journals. Does not include the current five years of issues.
Terms & conditions
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Useful for subject and citation searching for any discipline.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials
Databases useful for Science (A - Z)  
BIOSIS Previews via Web of Knowledge (1926 - present)
References to articles on biology, botany, zoology, microbiology, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, instrumentation and methods.
Terms & conditions
Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
Reference to articles on all aspects of medicine.

Index Medicus 1879 - 1965, the print precursor to Medline is located in the Medical Library.
Terms & conditions
PsycInfo via OvidSP (1806 - present)
References to articles on all aspects of psychology.
Terms & conditions

Scirus (1806 - present)
Freely available guide to science sites and publications on the Internet. If relevant articles are found, use the Library Catalogue to locate the journal and download the text.
 

Back to top